We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Executive Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Executive Inn and Suites on a Saturday and Sunday night. We had a wonderful room (we had the waterview deluxe king room). We took advantage of the free shuttle to Jack London Square several times - it was easy to take the shuttle there and we just called when we were ready to come back to the hotel. We also loved the hot tub - which we had to ourselves both nights. The employees were friendly and helpful. They also have a morning continental breakfast that is included. and they have a late check out time - noon, which was nice since we had a late night and didn't want to have to wake up early and rush to get packed etc.
We were there for the A's vs Giants exhibition game - which got rained out but we still had a great time in Oakland (we typically seem to got to San Francisco or Monterey so it was nice to do something different).

Room Tip: If you don't get a waterview room you will be on the freeway side - spring the little extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda95060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your review and we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Too bad about the rain out but there will be many more opportunities to visit the Bay Area and watch a few game.
I wonder if you were going to take the ferry from Jack London Square to AT&T Park. It's a great way to go, no parking or traffic hassels. And then if it's the A's you follow they're only a BART ride away.

Thanks again for the nice review. We appreicate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    248
    73
    35
    30
See reviews for
221
194
75
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After traveling nearly 3,000 miles from Maryland to California, both my husband and I were exhausted after the 5 day trip. Upon walking into your establishment, a young lady name Nina assisted us as if we were family. Not only was she helpful and polite but, serviced use with a smile the entire time. We were so please with how she represented your organization and just wish all of our other hotel visits were the same. You truly have taught your employees the importance of customer service so we thank you and Ms. Nina. God Bless

Alan and Almanda Randle

Green Features: We could not have selected a better place. This was minutes away from my new employer at Coast Guard Island
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweedy2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Alan and Almanda,

Thank you for your kind words and for calling out Nina. I know that she'll be very excited that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you'll be soon be able to enjoy all that Oakland has to offer not only visitors but area residence.

Nina along with the entire team work very hard to make our hotel your home while visiting. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the next time you walk through our doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Very dated, but clean. Old beat up chair. Shower was old but efficient, coffee was decent. Very quiet, Beds were firm. We slept good. So all in all a good stay. A bit pricey considering how dated it is.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Suzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I will definitely be spending more time here when I'm in the Bay area. The staff here were a big part of my stay being superb.Wish I had time to try the steak but me and my cousin had an event to attend but nextime.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I wanted to like this hotel more because of the friendly staff, the decent breakfast and cleanliness of the rooms, but... The hotel needs an update. The room we stayed in was clean, as I stated before, but the carpet was worn and the fixtures and fittings were a little dated. The bed was OK, but somewhat soft. The water pressure for the shower was weak and the tile work in the bathroom a little dingy. The location is good for those traveling out of Oakland Airport and the shuttle was very handy. We also used it to go to Jack London Square and the BART station. Not sure I would stay here again. One of the downsides was the lack of restaurants in the immediate area, within walking distance. We went to Quinn's Lighthouse for dinner and that was fine, but it seems to be the only place for a decent meal without going into Oakland proper. One last thing - while we were at breakfast, there was a group of men that apparently stay at the hotel on a regular basis that work on the railroad sitting at the next table. There were five of them and they were talking very loudly and dropping f-bombs and other curse words. Not the nicest thing to have to listen to over breakfast. My husband mentioned it to the front desk when we checked out but I'm not sure if it resonated with the clerk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smacthayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Mixed
We agree on many things but most of all we need a renovation, and guess what it's right around the corner. Within a very short period of time we will have all new furniture, wallpaper, bathrooms...Everything. We're very excitied and we know our loyal guests are very excited too.

Again, we agree there are several restaurants within walking distance from the hotel and, BEST OF ALL, we offer a shuttle service that will quickly wisk you over to Jack London Square where there are many many restaurants to select from. Best of all, you won't have to sleep at Jack London Square with the train whistles blowing throughout the night, our shuttles will pick you back up and deliver you back home.

And, we agree again in that foul language isn't acceptible to us or for use in our hotel. Our staff steps in when and where we can, however we encourage everyone to help point out where some of us fall short.

Next time you're in the area, stop by and see how beautiful our new furnishings are.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The rooms at this hotel are average: clean, firm but comfortable beds, desk, microwave and a mini-refrigerator are included. The location of the hotel is interesting since it is on the port waterfront but next to a major freeway. See more on the views below.

While it is nice to be on the waterfront, it is somewhat off the beaten track especially if you don't have a car (yes, I know, it's California, but I didn't want the expense of a rental car for an overnight stay).

Here's where the exceptional service comes in. The hotel offers a shuttle service to and from the airport AND within a 3-mile radius of the hotel. Better yet, their drivers -- Doris and Amy -- are knowledgeable and friendly. Doris made me laugh several times on the way to the airport and I was almost sorry to be going home.

The rooms are a good value, but the people and service are the reason to stay. If you do decide to stay there, be sure to say 'hi' to Doris for me.

Views
I had a view of the parking lot and freeway from my room -- which could get noisy if you are a light sleeper -- so I cannot offer my thoughts on the water view rooms. The combined dining room offered a view of the waterfront which is idyllic but industrial. I was there on a sunny day, so the water view was very nice.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity, the water view rooms would be a better value. Overall, the non-water v...
See more room tips
Green Features: They compost and recycle their paper plates and plastic ware used at their complimentary breakfast in the morning. Easily sortable, I appreciated the effort to improve the environment.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We normally do a park and fly every year for 3 weeks. This year we decided to try Executive Inn and Suites because of their high ratings and it was a fabulous experience. Cameron Ameigh was very accommodating and placed us in a beautiful room overlooking the water. It was quiet, clean, and they provided a great breakfast. Josh checked us in and he was so friendly and helpful. The shuttle was on time and took us to the airport without delay. The hotel staff makes you feel that they will do anything to please you...and they do! Also, the bed was very comfortable, We will definitely stay here next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the estuary..much quieter and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauivacation2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mauivacation2014

Thank you for your comments and we will make sure to pass on your words to Cameron and Josh. Those two really pride themselves in Practicing the Art of Hospitality. It's really a team effort here and we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Just in case your cars is a Electric Vehicle you'll be glad to know we just installed a charger!
We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn & Suites

Property: Executive Inn & Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing