We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff and the shuttle service made our stay successful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Executive Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
LA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hotel staff and the shuttle service made our stay successful!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Executive Inn for 4 nights, as it was recommended by our friend who was hosting a number of events over an extended weekend. There was a mix-up (or a misstep) upon our arrival - the room we booked was not available even though I had booked it way in advance, given a deposit, reconfirmed the night before, and alerted them that we'd be arriving from the airport late. There was no indication that we wouldn't be getting the Deluxe King Waterview room. In any case, the staff remained professional and did everything they could to get us to the correct room the next day. (The other King room they gave us for the first night was still water view but it was smaller and didn't have a solid wall between the bedroom and bathroom vanity area - not ideal.)

After that minor glitch, our stay went very well. All the staff, including manager Miguel T and various other employees, were welcoming, very accommodating and gracious. (By the way, when we called down to the front desk to get the internet code that first night, personnel who answered the phone seemed to know about our situation and apologized again, assuring us that things would be taken care of first thing when the manager arrived. Nice touch.) I'd read TA reviews about the staff and I was very glad that those glowing reviews were true!

We used the hotel shuttle several times (e.g., Jack London Square, Chinatown, BART station), which was great and I have to say, one of the reasons we'd chosen this hotel because we didn't have a car for the weekend. The free hotel shuttle is definitely a wonderful service - a great value and an opportunity to see parts of Oakland that we typically overlook.

Since the property is in the middle of renovations, I do hope they consider upgrading their so-called gym. It was a very small room with a treadmill, I think a bike, and multi-purpose machine. I couldn't imagine trying to work out with another person in the room - it was just too small with limited equipment and would get stuffy quickly.

Otherwise, the hotel was a good choice due to its courteous staff, fine breakfast, great shuttle service, free internet, and pretty water view. I would stay here again when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cosmotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    243
    72
    35
    28
See reviews for
212
194
75
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by the hotel and staff. Staying in Oakland because our granddaughter is in the children's hospital. First stay was at another hotel but it was very poorly kept up. Moved to this hotel after the recommendation of hospital staff. Very clean rooms, nice breakfast in the mornings. Very nice staff. Walking along the water with a nice view. Definitely would stay again hopefully for a fun situation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank dbkeybrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Depending on why you are staying at this hotel makes the difference. If you need to be in the city, they have a shuttle to the local BART and it can be quite easy to get into the city. Unfortunately, there is nothing very close to this hotel worth noting. You need to either taxi or get a shuttle. If you work in this particular area of Oakland then this may be OK

There are two sides to this property and a sister property. We stayed on the non-renovated side as we didn't know any better. The renovated side is a world of difference from the old tired side we stayed at but I understand they are beginning to renovate this side too.

The water view is very nice in the evening although they charged extra for it. It should've been comped based on the poor shape of the rooms.

The lounge staff were quite good each and every evening. They also have a Steak and a Salmon BBQ dinner evening that is excellent.

I'm sure the reviews next year will be better for those staying after they finish the upgrades.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ageller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Besides the large clean rooms, excellent staff at the front desk namely Basihir, Enrique and Cameron this was an awesome stay. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Jack London Square and within 3 mile radius. Continental breakfast with nice strong coffee and eggs and sausage etc. We had a family gathering and this made the trip perfect. There is nice walkway along the water that you can ride a bike into nearby town Alameda or in the opposite direction to Jack London Square.
The view from our room was of the Oakland Inner waterway. Just perfect. I'll be back next time if there are any room available now that the secret is out.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view. We never used the AC as it cools down at night and we slept with the slider op...
See more room tips
Green Features: We saw recycling barrels everywhere. The grounds had beautiful flowers with butterflies and humming birds. Pool was heated with a wind guard for added warmth.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed here a few times as I visit Oakland for work. Rooms are good, staff is friendly, always clean and you really dont get the noise from the freeway as you would expect. Everytime I go, you can see that they are always making ways to improve the place. Shuttle is great too! Its nice to go to a place that have a nice breakfast spread! And this one is on the house!! Do it yourself waffles, eggs, cereal, muffins, fruit... really can't beat it!!

Room Tip: If you can choose a room facing the water! Very tranquile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is my third time staying with Executive Inn and Suites within the past two months. It was originally recommended by a colleague but the convenient of the shuttle service from the time I get picked up at the airport to the time i get dropped off to my office downtown keeps me coming back to this hotel. The facility, although a bit dated, is clean and currently going through a renovation. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

One staff that truly shined throughout my stay is Dorris. Her friendly and warm personality is very comforting and she always greet customers with a smile. She operated the shuttle majority of the time during my stay and she truly practice safe driving all the time.

Overall, this hotel is a great value for the money. The location is fairly quiet and safe. There's a German beer house that serves food about 1/2 mile and there's also a starbucks within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent a week here and wanted to let the readers know that this is a very nice place. I have passed up this hotel for a number of reasons. Freeway noise (never heard any) Bad location (couldn't tell) not near anything (not true either). As it turns out, this place has its own little dinner thing going on. A small bar. Food right down the street or near by at the very least. Had everything. Nice big TV, leg room comfy bed, I was pleased and it was calm and relaxing. and I wasn't on the bay side either, I had a freeway view. The place was just what I needed after working all day in the area. I'm scheduled to stay here again next week. Pool, spa, walking bay front... this place has everything, proving once again you can't judge a book by its cover. Or a hotel by looks alone. By the way... the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SlammyLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn & Suites

Property: Executive Inn & Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing