We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Secure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Oakland Airport
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Mount Shasta, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and Secure”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Again, my companion (Stella..my dog) and I are staying in Motel 6. Almost every Motel 6 we have stayed in is clean and consistent. Sometimes there will be cigarette holes in clean bed spreads and really that should be addressed!!! Carpets are okay, but bathroom is very clean here and have been in most I have been staying in. This property has 2 security officers. One is at the entrance checking cars in and the other walks around the property. It could be that crime in this area may be higher, but I feel safer with someone keeping watch.

Rooms are usually quiet and every now and then you will hear someone talking outside. Again, I get to drive up to my room and there is no pet fee!!

Room Tip: They have room service! However, there is a $15 service fee for the delivery. Many items available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    24
    19
    31
See reviews for
23
16
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed one night here on our way into San Francisco from Yosemite. The motel is a little intimidating upon arrival, with a security guard on the gate and glass between you and the receptionists. But for $60-something we got a clean room with two comfortable double beds, parking, cheap wifi ($3.25 for 24 hours, pretty fast) and a pool. And coffee at breakfast time. We used the laundry too, although there was only one washing machine working (of two) - but four dryers! The pool was a cold but refreshing and welcome.

So - not a luxury stay by an means, but ok for one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I know and I stay in many Accor hotels around the world. I really like the brand but this is my first time in USA and I never use again this hotel. To pay what I pay here, I use any guesthouse in San Francisco. Is better.

Dirty, bad painting and very very simple. The same hotel's level in Brazil are cheapest with more services and goods. Ok, is cheap but cheap is not equal terrible! Pay few dollars more and go on the next door. They're a very nice hotel with breakfast, free wi-fi, parking, etc. Everything works, everything ok.

Room Tip: High floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pmichelazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Again, it's Motel 6 in East Oakland, but hey, we were fine with it. Clean room, fast WiFi at a good price. We'd come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissesJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

In choosing Motel 6, we watched the video and the motel appeared to offer a good balance of value and amenities while being in close proximity to San Francisco.

From the moment you enter the security checkpoint at the entrance of the motel and once you check in with the staff who stand behind two inches of bullet resistant glass, anyone with a clue will realize that they have issues with crime. After watching the pedestrian and vehicle traffic for a period of time in the immediate area, it is apparent that the staff does not decline service to prostitutes w/ their protection (pimps) and drug dealers.

During the evening they had a minimum of two security personnel walking the grounds and the traffic (people not residing there) was constant throughout the night. While the affordable rates are the draw, once your there, you'll realize that Corporate hasn't paid attention to what occurs there or doesn't care as long as the money keeps coming in.

The area appears to have fallen on hard times and the motels adjacent to Motel 6 appear to have suffered the same fate. Restauraunts are limited in the immediate and personal safety is an issue if your not aware of your surroundings.

If you can afford better accomodations, do so.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheepdog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed here the day before taking a flight from the Oakland Airport. Thanks to the location I was able to go to San Francisco in less than 15 min. and enjoy some food in Downtown SF... watch the Golden Gate etc. Sadly when it was time too sleep we could hear people walking in front of the room and talking. Room was clean and the place has good security.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank noblehalogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Our non-smoking rooms reeked of cigarette smoke. We found dried chinese food on our desk chair, silly string and suspicious crumbs on the bathroom floor. The security at the entrance was a nice feature, but didn't help me feel any safer. There were people drinking on the shared balconies and stairs and the single pane windows let us enjoy their drunken banter through the night. When we came back for our second night our rooms had not been cleaned during the day. When we called to ask for more towels (they didn't give us enough for each person) we had to walk back through the drunk people to the office to pick them up. Positives include the fact that the electricity, hot water, and ac all worked, but overall Motel 6 should be ashamed to have their name on this location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lishonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#16 of 49 in Oakland
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#31 of 49 in Oakland
223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
0.2 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Property: Motel 6 Oakland Airport
Address: 8480 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621-1306
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oakland Airport is located 3 miles from Oakland Intl Airport and walking distance to area dining. Visit the Port of Oakland Marinas, within 6 miles. Relax in our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Motel Six
Oakland Motel 6
Motel Six Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing