We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good (no frills) value for a single traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Oakland Airport
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I arrived on a Saturday night and departed on Thursday morning. I stayed in room 1205, which was in the wing farthest away from the office.

The facility was packed on Saturday night and could be a bit intimidating. I would probably not take the chance to stay there again on Saturday, although my stay was uneventful. Sunday through Wednesday were quiet. Security was high profile. Door locks were solid and secure.

The room and furnishings were plain, but clean and adequate for a single traveler. At $60/night, the price was 1/2 to 2/3 of other Oakland motels.

I would stay there again, but might investigate the Embarcidero Motel 6.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest away from the office might be quieter. Sunday through Wednesday (I was not there Thu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun_N_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Security patrol everywhere , rooms are surpringly decent other than the walls are VERY thin & you can hear everything !!! Absolutely ghetto !! Do not stay here unless you have no other choice !! Paid $70 and it was probably worth $30 people coming in & out all night slept like crap cause the bed sucks !! We were passing through & were tired no choice ! Never again !!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChellyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My first impression was that the hotel looked a bit scary from the outside, complete with a guard checking each guest in at the street and bulletproof glass in the lobby/reception area. But, the room was exceptionally clean and pretty comfortable (though admittedly a bit spartan, it is a basic room after all). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The airport is about 2 miles away and there is a bus (the 73) that runs along Hegenberger Ave, which is only a short walk from the hotel. Admittedly, it is a very basic accommodation: no shampoo, no conditioner, no iron, no hair dryer, and no shuttle, but it was very clean very convenient to the airport (and an in n out burger!), so I would say it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bahamadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Again, my companion (Stella..my dog) and I are staying in Motel 6. Almost every Motel 6 we have stayed in is clean and consistent. Sometimes there will be cigarette holes in clean bed spreads and really that should be addressed!!! Carpets are okay, but bathroom is very clean here and have been in most I have been staying in. This property has 2 security officers. One is at the entrance checking cars in and the other walks around the property. It could be that crime in this area may be higher, but I feel safer with someone keeping watch.

Rooms are usually quiet and every now and then you will hear someone talking outside. Again, I get to drive up to my room and there is no pet fee!!

Room Tip: They have room service! However, there is a $15 service fee for the delivery. Many items available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed one night here on our way into San Francisco from Yosemite. The motel is a little intimidating upon arrival, with a security guard on the gate and glass between you and the receptionists. But for $60-something we got a clean room with two comfortable double beds, parking, cheap wifi ($3.25 for 24 hours, pretty fast) and a pool. And coffee at breakfast time. We used the laundry too, although there was only one washing machine working (of two) - but four dryers! The pool was a cold but refreshing and welcome.

So - not a luxury stay by an means, but ok for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I know and I stay in many Accor hotels around the world. I really like the brand but this is my first time in USA and I never use again this hotel. To pay what I pay here, I use any guesthouse in San Francisco. Is better.

Dirty, bad painting and very very simple. The same hotel's level in Brazil are cheapest with more services and goods. Ok, is cheap but cheap is not equal terrible! Pay few dollars more and go on the next door. They're a very nice hotel with breakfast, free wi-fi, parking, etc. Everything works, everything ok.

Room Tip: High floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pmichelazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Again, it's Motel 6 in East Oakland, but hey, we were fine with it. Clean room, fast WiFi at a good price. We'd come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissesJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#15 of 49 in Oakland
376 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
0.2 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#28 of 49 in Oakland
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Address: 8480 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621-1306
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oakland Airport is located 3 miles from Oakland Intl Airport and walking distance to area dining. Visit the Port of Oakland Marinas, within 6 miles. Relax in our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Motel Six
Oakland Motel 6
Motel Six Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing