We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 31/05
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites(Oakland)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland(Oakland)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
466
333
173
53
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
333
173
53
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack london squarenautical themethe penthousesan franciscoferry dockwine and cheesetrain noisefarmers marketjazz clubmovie theaterrestaurants and barslight sleepercity viewbusiness tripwater viewamtrak stationthe east bay
Filter
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Was here for 2 days, we were a group of 7 in Oakland for a few days, hotel is well located and felt safe, but from the time we arrived none of the door cards worked. The hotel front desk staff gave us static and finally got out special door cards that worked -- but this was after we yelled at the staff to fix the problem -- they don't care. Any would stay there again even if the location is great. So maybe by now they have fixed the problem, so you can't say you have been warned.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank next50years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just completed a week-long stay at this lovely hotel. The location can't be beat. Right on the marina, steps from the ferry and wonderful restaurants. On Sundays you can enjoy the Farmer's Market right outside your door.
The hotel is undergoing a bit of a renovation. New carpets are being installed and we were told they also had plans on replacing the draperies in the rooms. Our room was immaculate - I recommend a marina view, preferably with a deck. The front desk personnel were very accommodating and helpful. We used the $25/day valet parking (required) and never had to wait long for our vehicle.
The wine & cheese hour was nice, but a bit sparse on the offerings. The outdoor salt water pool was heated. Lovely.
Although there are many, many pros to staying at this hotel, there is one con for light sleepers. Trains (with blaring horns) run all day long just a block from this hotel. The first couple of nights were rough, but by the end of our week stay, we were getting used to the noise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPBTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Please you must read this before staying.

The hotel is right next to a railway line with trains running day and night about every twenty mins. They have to sound their horns constantly so you will get no sleep. We changed hotels after one night. I will try and attached a video so you can listen to how loud this noise is, trust me its loud in your room especially as there is no sound proofing.

Next EXPEDIA who we book through told us this hotel is in sanfrancisco it is not! It is in Oakland which is a 20 min drive and 80 -100 dollar cost from the airport SFO by taxi. We won't trust Expedia again.

The walls are very thin and you can hear the conversation from the room next door.

We were given a bay view room which had a very restricted view of a tiny bit of the bay if you lent out of the balcony and a good view of the container port and industrial area in which the hotel is situated.

In fairness the hotel staff were very nice I get the feeling they are used to people complaining. They were quite happy to refund our remaining nights and we are now trying to take up the terrible nights stay with EXPEDIA . The hotel did offer us another room which was said to be quieter but it smelt very musty and damp. The hotel itself downstairs in the public rooms seem quite nice but we left after one night and I would strongly advise you not to stay here. Look out for the video I posted on here it shows our view of the bay ...ish and you can hear but not see the very loud train.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 days, and they were absolutely terrific. The room overlooked the bay which was beautiful to view in the evening. Got the ferry to San Francisco right outside the hotel which was so great. We were greeted by a wonderful young man who took care of our bags and car, and was so pleasant and helpful. The area around the hotel was nice but walking into town frankly was a little unsettling for us, although no issues, just did not feel comfortable. Would not walk downtown in the evening. But that is not the hotel so back to that. We had a lovely deck and were in a corner room. Bed was comfortable and with the exception of the coffee maker which really needed to be cleaned, the room was spotless. I want to thank them for making our stay so pleasant. The staff was kind and very helpful to two older folks from out of town and I thank them very much for going out of their way on some things. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aizelleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The front desk staff were so helpful and accommodating. I had accidentally made my reservations for the wrong weekend and they not only worked with me to make a room available, they actually upgraded my room.
They are fabulous!

Room Tip: The bay front rooms are great!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews