We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, great staff, large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really pleasant and comfortable hotel by the Marina in Oakland. Staff was friendly from the initial greeting. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room with a super view of the harbour and Marina .Nice little touches with lemonade in the lobby and fruit. Good location near restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Marina
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
There are newer reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and the surrounding city. I had never stayed in
Oakland so this trip felt like a new adventure. My room was a corner suite that had a spectacular view of the harbor which was very relaxing. This hotel has a special, old world and maritime charm to it. The staff is extremely friendly and professional here. I found the bed very comfortable and getting some fresh air in the room is a plus - the windows actually open! The amtrak is right out front and two BART locations are a quick walk or Uber away.

I walked around the dock where they have cute boutiques and some restaurant/bars that feel like you've stepped back into the 1940s. At night and on the weekends, there are special events including dancing and farmers markets. Oakland has been given a renovation in recent years so you'll find plenty of cool hangouts, bars and chef-focused eateries nearby. Just explore - it is a great place to be. The Jack London movie theater is immediately across the street if you're in a mood for some cinema.

Don't miss Blue Bottle Coffee Company a couple blocks away, but be prepared to stand in line and don't worry, you'll be very glad you carved out the time to do so. A more authentic Chinatown is a few short blocks up -take Broadway and pass by the Starbucks housed in one of the oldest buildings in Oakland. Try some Chinese dumplings or gluten free noodles (yes, even this Chinatown has jumped on the healthy eating train!) at a yummy restaurant. Enjoy the X-style cross walks in Chinatown and roam around looking at the architecture, you'll feel like you've meandered through a Hollywood set because time seems to have stood still here while the city has buffed to a new shine.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite facing the water - great view and a spacious room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a review for people who are interested in booking the hotel for bar exam purposes (at the Oakland Convention Center).

Pros:
1. You are a little removed from the center of the madness, and it's nice to come back to a peaceful and fun room without a lot of other bar examinees around.
2. Cocktail hour was timed perfectly with the end of the bar exam for the day.
3. There is a pool and a workout room on the premises.
4. It's a short (10-15 min walk) to the Oakland Convention Center.
5. There are lots of great places to eat around the Jack London Square area
6. If you are too tired to think, the attached restaurant is pretty good and moderately priced for a hotel restaurant.
7. The hotel gave us a little care package when I checked in that had some goodies for getting through the bar exam.
8. There's an in-room Keurig for coffee/tea, as well as a fridge and a microwave.

Cons:

1. Can be noisy with the train nearby, so ask specifically for a waterfront room. The walls are still a little thin, so if you have noisy neighbors, bring earplugs.
2. Not really close enough to go home for lunch, which may be a good thing since I probably would have been tempted to lie down for naps.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room on the top floor and it should be pretty nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hokiegirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I checked in to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary last week. Upon arrival I engaged in a conversation with another guest about what brought us to the Bay Area. The front desk had a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates sent to our room ythe next day! It was so kind of them and much appreciated. We've stayed here several times before and every time to staff has been wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Waterfront Hotel for one night on the 4th of July, 2014. Easy check in and valet parking. The walk to the room was a long way but we had a nice view of the bay and Jack London Square. The room was very clean and spacious, 2 comfortable beds and a big bathroom. Nicely furnished. The hotel loaned us a wheelchair without charge. There are several restaurants in Jack London Square so you have your choice, and we took a night cruise on the USS Potomac to view the fireworks over San Francisco Bay. The hotel is convenient to all of this. I would recommend the hotel, especially if you are attending any festival or cruising from Jack London Square.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank C5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Loved this place. We had a great stay. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. Wonderful down pillows. The check in was a breeze. Imee at the front desk was kind and efficient. She treated us like old friends, we felt very welcome.
The weather was fantastic and the swimming pool was clean and heated. The view from the room looked out on the water. We came o business and had so many things to accomplish and yet whenever we went back to the hotel we felt comfortable and our needs were met with satisfaction. We will definitely be back again. The location is close to some of our favorite restaurants and very close to BART, and the ferry into SF.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room with a waterfront view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Akibomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend this year. The location of this hotel is outstanding. It is at the north end of Jack London Square, right next to the fairy to San Francisco. If you are directionally challenged, the halls can be a bit intimidating. The room we stayed in was with a waterfront view and balcony. The view was stunning; however, I do not recommend paying extra for a balcony. They are not private balconies. It was one large balcony with potted plants separating each rooms "balcony". My mother-in-law stayed on the South end of the hotel near the conference rooms and said it was a bit noisy. We didn't have a problem towards the North end of the hotel though. Also a worthy note, the valet parking is worth the extra money. They are very friendly, took good care of our car and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jcromero27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: £140 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing