We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star Sherell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great location by water. Big clean room. Comfortable bed. Jack London square fun location. What made the stay was Sherell at the front desk. Extremely helpful and friendly. We travel a lot and the people we encounter are as important as the rooms we stay in. We will be back to see Sherell.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Staff was great, hotel is clean and service was exceptional. Valet parking went out of there way to be helpful. Room was clean, quite and bed wax very comfortable. Amtrak goes by during the about a block away, but not at night. Will be going back

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location right along the Oakland waterfront/Jack London Square and 1/2 block to the ferry station. The king room is large, Keurig coffee station, sofa, desk and table. The room is nicely decorated and has good linens and bedding. The bath soaps and shampoos are nice and there is a recycling bin so travelers can be environmental-minded. Internet access didn't work at first, but a call the the tech support fixed that for the entire time we were at the hotel. Front lobby staff are fantastic, including the valets and van drivers. Coffee/tea is always available in the lobby next to the fireplace, and the evenings offer wine and cheese. Although the pool is heated, we didn't see many people taking advantage of the facility. Every half hour, the minivan will take you anywhere in the city within a certain sector, and will pick you up with a phone call.

Amtrak runs through Jack London Square and is just 5 minutes walk to the station. We plan another visit using the Waterfront as a base and will head up to Seattle on Amtrak for a side trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing view of the waterfront. Our first "water view" room was on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MNtravelbugs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The title says it all. From the gracious welcome provided by the front desk to the personalized service offered by the valet staff, the Waterfront is as close to a home away from home as I have experienced when in Oakland. The proximity to many fine restaurants and entertainment venues are added features.

Room Tip: I prefer the westside waterfront balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is in the Jack London Square on the waterfront of Oakland. It is about 10 blocks (15 minutes on foot) from the 12th Street/Oakland City Center BART station. My room is on the 5th floor (the highest) and has a nice view of the marina. The room is quite large, and it has a shared, long balcony facing the marina. I had problems connecting to the internet through the free wi-fi, but they were resolved after talking to a tech support, who guided me to fetch the IP address and other information. The fitness center is on the small size with one elliptical machine and one treadmill and a couple of weight stations. The hotel probably has a long history because its outside appearance has character and the corridors seem kind of old-fashioned. I'd give this hotel a 3.5 overall rating, if there is such a choice.

Room Tip: The hotel has two sections, one three-story high and another one 5-story high. Some rooms are facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really pleasant and comfortable hotel by the Marina in Oakland. Staff was friendly from the initial greeting. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room with a super view of the harbour and Marina .Nice little touches with lemonade in the lobby and fruit. Good location near restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and the surrounding city. I had never stayed in
Oakland so this trip felt like a new adventure. My room was a corner suite that had a spectacular view of the harbor which was very relaxing. This hotel has a special, old world and maritime charm to it. The staff is extremely friendly and professional here. I found the bed very comfortable and getting some fresh air in the room is a plus - the windows actually open! The amtrak is right out front and two BART locations are a quick walk or Uber away.

I walked around the dock where they have cute boutiques and some restaurant/bars that feel like you've stepped back into the 1940s. At night and on the weekends, there are special events including dancing and farmers markets. Oakland has been given a renovation in recent years so you'll find plenty of cool hangouts, bars and chef-focused eateries nearby. Just explore - it is a great place to be. The Jack London movie theater is immediately across the street if you're in a mood for some cinema.

Don't miss Blue Bottle Coffee Company a couple blocks away, but be prepared to stand in line and don't worry, you'll be very glad you carved out the time to do so. A more authentic Chinatown is a few short blocks up -take Broadway and pass by the Starbucks housed in one of the oldest buildings in Oakland. Try some Chinese dumplings or gluten free noodles (yes, even this Chinatown has jumped on the healthy eating train!) at a yummy restaurant. Enjoy the X-style cross walks in Chinatown and roam around looking at the architecture, you'll feel like you've meandered through a Hollywood set because time seems to have stood still here while the city has buffed to a new shine.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite facing the water - great view and a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: £122 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing