We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable bed, clean quiet room and Dorothy & J.D. we're wonderful with Reservations & Customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable bed, clean quiet room and Dorothy & J.D. we're wonderful with Reservations & Customer service.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Was looking for a good place to stay regularly, business travel, one night, at the airport. The Hilton was not what I expected so although my Company usually books the Hilton on our Corp rate, they said they couldn't put me in a room in the main building for that rate so I started shopping around. For $10 more I get the Holiday Inn Express with Breakfast and I am in the main building. Easy switch and so glad I did. J.D. booked me at a great rate, and Dorothy had my room key waiting for me when my meeting ran late. Excellent Customer service. Clean,quiet room with a really soft comfortable bed. Right at the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRunnegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed the service, the complimentary breakfast and the accommodations. I will share your compliments with our staff. They will be pleased, especially Dorothy and J.D.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Oakland for your visit to the Bay Area. We hope you to see you again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    161
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
123
103
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Friendly staff, we were greeted by front desk employee, Ben, with a warm smile and great service after 10 pm on a Friday night, So pleased with service, upon our return, we booked our room next month when we travel again. When we booked our return stay Ben remembered where we would be traveling and made me feel valued because he remembered our first conversation.
The location is great. The shuttle stays at the hotel until you need it. If it just left it will be right back. Friendly driver drove us and another family to the airport. Hotel to Southwest drop off about 5 min. total time. Same great service when picked up. We called and shuttle there in about 7 min.
Rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Happy to see comforter between sheets rather than bedspread. Temperature of room very comfortable. Stayed for Friday night before departure and stayed Sunday night upon return flight. Both rooms equally clean and temperature good. Plenty of hot water for bath or shower. Very quiet hotel for being so close to the airport.
Breakfast overall was nice, Good variety. Biscuits and gravy and eggs kept warm. Nice touch to have little cartons of milk and yoguarts in little fridge. they also had english muffins and bagles. we would have preferred a waffle maker over the unique pancake maker and the cinnimon rolls were too doughy for my husband but I liked them. Staff was friendly and asked if you needed anything before the breakfast time was up.
Both my husband and I recommend this hotel. We stayed on the 3rd floor both nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a thorough and favorable review of our hotel. With our convenient shuttle, tasty complimentary breakfast and clean rooms, we intend to provide an enjoyable, no-hassle hotel stay for people traveling on short layovers or extended stays in the Bay Area. Judging from your comments, we have succeeded.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here during our trip in May this year. We had a great stay, special thanks to Jay at the front desk who was very friendly andhelpful. A nice & safe place and not too far from the SF city centre!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Denise,

I am so glad to hear that you felt safe and secure at our hotel and that you enjoyed the service and location. Your praise for Jay at the front desk was very much appreciated, I will pass on your compliments to him.

Thank you for being such a loyal guest. We look forward to being of service to you again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Clarence picked me up at the airport back to the Holiday Inn Hotel. He was such a positive, delightful gentleman during the drive back. On top of that, when I had returned to my car at the hotel my car battery died, Clarence helped me out with. He went out of his way to get his jumper cables and jump my car. Without his help, I would of been sitting there by my car for AAA to show up. Clarence definitely deserves some sort of recognition (i.e. a raise, promotion, gift certificate) for going out of his way that day. We need more selfless people like him in this world. Thank you Holiday Express Inn at Oakland!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaylaMarie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Kayla Marie,

You shared such a wonderful story about Clarence’s assistance in dealing with your dead car battery. This is just one example of Clarence's caring nature. I agree with you that there should be more people like him in the world! I will be sure to recognize him for his efforts.

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to tell us about your great experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great hotel for buisness or pleasure with friendly staff. I will definately stay there again when I return to town. Very convienent wether you fly into Oakland or San Fransisco. Many good places to eat within a mile and just a short 15min. Drive to Fishermans warf in San Fransisco for lots of good food, shopping, tours, Alcatraz, and some great ambiance. Love those cinimon rolls at breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForceGoemaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review of our hotel! I am so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and the easy access to the airport, nice dining options and fun sightseeing on both sides of the Bay. Many of our guests appreciate our complimentary shuttle service which operates within a 3 mile radius for business and leisure transportation.

Thank you for being our guest, we hope you will visit us again!

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We used the "Park and Fly" Package which was a good value and the hotel is very convenient to the Oakland Airport. We got a quiet room away from the street which was clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. The only negative thing was the parking lot. DO NOT PARK UNDER ANY OF THE TREES IN THE LOT! When we returned to pick up our car, it was completely coated with a sticky substance that dripped off a nearby tree. It was so bad that we could not see out of the windshield. The shuttle driver (Clarence) helped us clean off the windshield, but I had to spend the next day cleaning off the hood, the roof and the trunk lid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such good feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am so happy that you found our location convenient, the rooms comfortable and our staff so helpful.

I regret that you had a problem with the sap dripping on your car. Now that you have brought this to my attention, I will take appropriate action.

We appreciate your business very much!

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel has everything you need: great rooms, awesome jacuzzi, a nice gym and most importantly, superb service. Tiffany at the front desk helped my fellow stayers and me with everything we needed. Bombarding with faxes, copies, questions and small talk, she kept a very distinguished and congenial attitude and personality. All of the staff were great and helpful, the hotel was clean and well kept, and I have to say I believe it was one ofmy best hotel stays I've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Jay,

Thank you for such a glowing and sincere review of our hotel. We are so proud of our team and the effort that they put into taking care of our guests. I will share your comments with the staff. They will be pleased to hear your comments, especially Tiffany.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Bay Area.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
883 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 66 Airport Access Rd, Oakland, CA 94603-1078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#6 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the closest hotel to the Oakland International Airport and centrally located between San Francisco and Silicon Valley.We welcome all guests either for work or play. Less than half a mile from the Oakland International Airport and just 2.5 miles from the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum & Oracle Arena- home to the Oakland Raiders, the Oakland Athletics and the Golden State Warriors, you can really enjoy the home field advantage. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave, wet bar, refrigerator & high-speed Internet access wired and wireless connections.We also serve daily a delicious hot buffet breakfast every morning. We are 100% non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Hotel Oakland
Oakland Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing