We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”
Review of Silver Oak Cellars

Silver Oak Cellars
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Oakville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We pride ourselves on making one varietal that is food-friendly and deliciously drinkable upon release. Our story begins in the early 1970's when Ray Duncan befriended winegrower Justin Meyer. The two formed a partnership and co-founded Silver Oak Cellars in 1972 with the bold vision of producing only Cabernet Sauvignon. Come experience the Silver Oak Cellars Napa Valley winery in Oakville, CA to enjoy exceptional Cabernet Sauvignon wine tasting tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We love Silver Oak Cabernet so we had high hopes for this visit. We popped in on a Sunday around 4:00 after a lengthy late lunch at Mustards. The staff were incredibly gracious. We did not have a reservation but they helped us right away and we had such a nice time and learned so much. The building is barn like but lets in great light because it is so open. All is it was perfect and we shared a tasting......nice big pours!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    72
    30
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Wine on Our Trip”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

IF you are a lover of reds...this is your place. The chardonay is absolutely the best I have ever had.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

If you like cabs then you must visit to enjoy their wonderful wine, welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. This is one of our favorite wines and we enjoyed our tastings. We will revisit the next time we are in Napa. We had ordered wine to be shipped, then changed our minds as it was already 100 degrees in our home town. We called two days later to ask if we could pick up and they were very helpful. They stopped the shipment and had the bottles ready for us at the specified time. Very curtious service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis TN
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Expensive wines, nice tastings”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We had a great host and learned a lot about their wines. The wines are very expensive (start at $70 and go up from there), but they are good. Nice wine cellar and grounds. The wine is very good - just too pricey!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuziandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King City, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Cab's at a beautiful vineyard.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Silver Oak concentrates is production on Cabs and are one of the Kings of Cabs. This is a must stop on your Napa tour, it does not disappoint. A beautiful store area stocked full of product. Their Cabs are very reasonable in price $25 to $45 per bottle.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Oak Cellars also viewed

 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Silver Oak Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing