We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A road to Sonoma”
Review of Oakville Grade

Oakville Grade
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A road to Sonoma”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were going from Napa to Sonoma so we took this route. We did not do it as an attraction but simply the road from point a to be. It takes about 30 minutes to get across. It is not like driving through the mountains in Colorado but it is certainly one step down. You don't get that high and there are few hairpin turns but it is a fun drive. It is a pretty drive, especially if you never drove in hills/mountains. There is a vineyard in the middle. We did see a few bikers and admired them for their effort. You better be in great shape and experienced to bike across.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOTT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“And for the cyclist.....”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A flat ride along the Silverado Trail with one climb, he said. The climb was the Oakville Grade. At a gradient of more then 12% for a couple of kms, and with temperatures in the late 20's C it isn't for the faint hearted. At the one third mark I gave up but even then it was worth the walk to the crest. The husband made it and then came back to check on me a couple of times so it is doable for the intermediate/advanced cyclist but it is off the seat stuff the whole way.The descent was a terrific combination of sweeping curves, smooth paved road, wild deer on the road verge and stretching vistas. We cycled late Sunday afternoon and traffic was light but it is tricky sharing the narrow road so take care. The traffic we struck was tolerant and careful of us - perhaps we were lucky. The Dry River road is likewise blissful and fast. I recommend the Oakville Grade for the very fit cyclist.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traceyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great sports car drive!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

With that being said I will caution you on two points; first don't even try this road if you're driving anything bigger than a full-size pickup truck. Secondly if you suffer from motion sickness you'll have to drive.

This road is a lot of fun for thrill seekers. Bring your camera.

I would advise against driving this road at night: it is very narrow in spots and the woodland creatures come out at night. It would be a real bummer to crash into a tree because you swerved to avoid a skunk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing for the scary driver!!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is a challenge for any passenger. The winding road over Mount Veeder is great both for a fast car as well as a motorbike. I have done both! Please be careful with fellow traffic...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kurtinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thrilling with beautiful views”
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We heard about this through TripAdvisor and discovered it is a great off-the-beaten-path way to get from Napa to Sonoma. A short cut! It is a twisty-turny road that is a true adventure. It winds up the mountain with a great view of the Napa Valley. Through dense trees you can catch beautiful glimpses of the valley below. My husband thought it was a great road for the driving enthusiast and I closed my eyes for portions of it. It was thrill after the calm, relaxed atmosphere at wine tastings. We loved it so much we had to drive it twice!

Helpful?
4 Thank ambarclift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oakville Grade also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Oakville Grade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing