We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway!”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We decided to escape the heat of the valley and bypass Napa and head towards Sonoma for a weekend. It was a last minute deal and we stumbled upon the Inn and were abel to secure a last minute reservation. Upon our arrival, we were very pleased to get a view of the grounds - they were lovely. Our checkin was conducted by Jerry and right from the get go, he was so warm and welcoming and this gave us such a feeling of welcome.
We were in the general area for a dinner reservations in Forestville, and Jerry was very kind to offer us directions and whatever we needed for the night. Our room was very clean and spacious. It was very well thought out and I believe it was called the "kitchen cupboard", hence a themed room based around items found in a kitchen. My wife was very impressed by the large cooper popcorn and waffle makers. She couldn't locate the marshmallow toaster. The bathrooms are very clean and loaded with amenities. The Victorian building and the adjacent structures were well built and the place flows well.
Our morning breakfast was so good that we ended up buying a cookbook on the way out.
This is only the 2nd B&B that i have stayed at and I was so impressed with all this place has to offer that i feel compelled to come here again and again.
The town of Occidental has this really cool charm to it. It has its artsy and farming coolness to it. The local hotel bar (just down the street) is very lively on weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
226
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The inn was really great and the inn keepers warm and cordial. Two couples rented the Sonoma Cottage and it was perfect. The rooms were spacious, well decorated and very clean. The breakfasts were delicious and the blueberry corn muffins were worth going off my diet for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our second time at the Inn, the first being ten years ago. It was just as nice as we remembered it: quiet, relaxing, with a comfortable ambiance and friendly hosts. The town is tiny but charming, with several restaurants within walking distance. The surrounding mountains and redwood forests are beautiful. There is nothing to compare to sitting on the spacious wraparound front porch with a glass of wine on a beautiful afternoon or evening. Breakfasts are outstanding. Truly a gem of a place.

Room Tip: The website has a complete description of each room. If there is a "bad" one, I'm not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a fun hotel. Each room has a different theme. Ours was a circus. Creatively decorated. If you can, look in other guest rooms. Very interesting. Deer three feet off our deck munching leaves. Breakfast is decent, but not exceptional. We loved this place, and I'd stay there again in a minute.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Every room looked unique. I had a late check in so directions were provided for me inside a lock box and they left the light on for me. My room was quaint with a fireplace. Although I saw what appeared to be a Direct TV/Cable box behind a chair, there was no TV in my room which I thought was Odd. I loved how they included a CD playing relaxing piano music when I walked in but my favorite part of the stay was their breakfast the next morning. I would go back just for the food alone.

Room Tip: If you require a TV, be sure to request a room with one. I could hear sounds of a TV coming from ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiitala318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We value all of the reviews we receive from our guests who have stayed with us. After being in operation for over 25 years we had started the process of puting Direct TV's in all of our 18 guest rooms. Unfortunately not all of the TV sets had arrived and four of our rooms were without TV's yet the Direct TV receiver boxes were in the room. Additionally we have the ability to control the volume on each set to prevent higher levels of audio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband & daughter & I just ended a whirlwind trip through wine country with a two night stay at this beautiful Inn .... From the moment we arrived,Tina delighted us with an upgrade to a much larger " cottage" than we had booked!!! It was stellar. Beds were King and linens first class... Just to mention a couple amenities ! The Grounds are wonderful & Location makes it so easy to navigate the wine country, and walk into town for wonderful meals!!! Breakfast was artfully prepared & served with a smile!!! We will be back without question! The wine social hour was a nice start to fab evenings....Thank you so much

Room Tip: The Cottage is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherilou2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent our wedding night at the Inn at Occidental, and then for our 11th Anniversary. Little has changed in all of those years. The place is still beautiful, the staff is still friendly and helpful, and breakfast is wonderful. We even had the same room and it looked the same, although they now have Wi-Fi and a television. But since it was a romantic anniversary getaway, we didn't bother with either. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and a very comfy bed. The Inn presented us with a bottle of champagne since it was our anniversary. We hope to go back for more special occasions. Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cphym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
121 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing