We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great weekend”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Occidental is such a great place to relax! The best part is always our stays at The Inn at Occidental!
This is our "go to" when we need to escape The City... Nothing like snuggling up in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine! We always request a different room...all are great! Our last room had French doors off the garden....absolutely magical!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designtraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed at the inn three times now. Each time the owners great me as an old friend, ask about my family and help to organize the perfect trip. It is a little expensive but fully worth the cost. I will keep returning and bringing my friends with me. Recommend the leaf room:)

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RicaR1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Inn at Occidental, run by innkeepers Tina and Jerry Wolsborn, is one of the best B & B's I've ever stayed in. The Inn itself is beautiful and beautifully decorated, in a beautiful setting surrounded by redwoods. All the rooms are private, and each has its own designer theme. The rooms are spacious and well-equipped; the beds are comfortable; and the inn is very quiet. And yet the entire town of Occidental is in walking distance, and that includes several excellent restaurants, various shops and at least two grocers.

The "breakfast" part of the B & B at the Inn at Occidentalis really wonderful, with a different gourmet breakfast every day. Cookies and coffee are available throughout the day, and there is a wine and cheese happy hour every afternoon.

Jerry and Tina are experienced and thoughtful innkeepers. You will feel welcome, at home and coddled throughout your stay. If you have any special requirements, they will make every effort to accommodate them. When I first stayed with them two years ago, there was a brief power outage. Even though the rooms are equipped with plenty of lanterns for emergencies, Jerry and Tina were out distributing extra lanterns all around the outside of the inn when I arrived home that evening, making sure that all the walkways and stairways were well lit for late returning guests.

When I stayed with Jerry and Tina this last summer, I found they had installed TVs in every room. For those who can't bear to be separated from their favorite shows, this will be a plus. But I attend a nearby music workshop every summer, and I personally look forward to the wonderful peace and quiet the Inn provides after a long day of making wonderful music in the redwoods.

I can't recommend the Inn at Occidental, and innkeepers Tina and Jerry, highly enough. My stays have been worth every penny. I will be returning in the summer of 2014. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have stayed here several time. We like it because they have a package deal with the Osmosis spa. We have also take family here for their anniversary. The theme rooms are fun and the breakfast is always very good. The staff is also very friendly.

Room Tip: We really like the theme rooms. Be sure to look online to see what is available because certain room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigereyes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thanks to the proprietors for providing everything needed for a wonderful stay. Welcome wine reception, hot breakfast, cookies at midnight and comfortable beds, linens, rooms - for a romantic evening away from the Bay! Birthday cake and dog friendly, we will be back to enjoy another wonderful night sometime soon!

Room Tip: request a quiet room if you like to sleep in. Ours shared a wall with the washer and dryer - woke t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamMama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I have been coming to the Inn at Occidental for nearly three decades. We have our favorite rooms and yet all the rooms are lovely! We love the spaciousness and the oversized tubs. The Breakfasts and the breakfast room are the loveliest way to begin your day! The cookies, coffee tea service and wine reception are lovely touches. The owner's and staff are gracious and helpful. Each time we return there is a new restaurant to try and always tasty!
Osmosis and the Redwood Zipline experience down the road are "must do's"! The hardware store is classic and worth a visit! Both spiritual and historical the town of Occidental is a small piece of heaven for a night or two when paired with a stay at The Inn at Occidental. Put it on your "bucket list"! S&D, Santa Barbara, CA

Room Tip: Our Favorite is Sonoma Lodge, Wine Country and Folk Art rooms in that order!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhiBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest bed and breakfasts I have stayed in. Excellent service and detail oriented from the personalized letter on the bed to the bottle of champagne for our anniversary. My girlfriend and I stayed in Room 7 and it was perfect. The extra large spa tub was simply amazing. We didn't want to leave the room! The praline french toast was by far the best breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rcookerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
124 reviews
7.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
698 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
127 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range: £222 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing