We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn @ Occidental Was So So”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2006

We were disappointed with our stay and the service at the Inn @ Occidental.

First the positive...

The room was very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. We especially liked star gazing from the deck in the evenings.

We also enjoyed the evening wine and cheese reception. The porch and garden areas were all very inviting.

Kudos also goes out to the server who packed us up some leftover cookies and scones to take with us during our day trips.

Now the so so. Generally speaking, all comments fall in the service and communication category.

Directions - we called for directions from Napa and were put on hold for sometime. When the Innkeeper came back on the line, he said it was hard for him to read the map backward. In any event, we wound up getting very lost. We tried to call the Inn back for help 2x and were just put on hold again. I hung up out of frustration.

Check In - no one was there to greet us at checkin even though we were right on time. I used the house phone to call and someone came shortly afterward but we were already tired adn cranky at that point.

Openness About Inn Layout and Town - I called the Inn directly after looking on their website for more detail about the rooms and town. The person I spoke with said every room was equally beautiful and I should choose based on the website. They also shared that the town was an ideal homebase for exploring Sonoma.

What the Innkeeper failed to share was that the Inn is built into a mountain and the 'third floor' is much, much higher than you would expect a third floor to be. There were ALOT of steps and no one offered to help us with our bags. In addition, our room was located next to the septic tank - my husband teased me about this during our stay. Had we known about the septic tank or all the stairs, we would have cchosen a different room. It was an easly avoidable situation.

The town of Occidental was much smaller and more remote than I had anticipated. We were in the middle of the woods and had a far drive to pretty much everywhere we went (Armstrong State Forest, ccoast, wineries, etc) There wasn't much to do or see in town when we were at the Inn either. I think there were 3 or 4? stores in total. Occidental is off the Bohemian HIghway and we ran into some of the more colorful locals while in town. I was not comfortable walking around without my husband.

Generally speaking, we found the Innkeepers a bit cold and felt as if we were bothering them if we had questions or requests. Actually, we couldn't find anyone a few times either.

We stayed at three different Inns during our California trip and the Inn at Occidental was the most expensive and the place we liked the least. We paid over $300 per night and the service was not in line with the price.

We would not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shellbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2006

We loved the small town of Occidental the minute we saw it. It is unpretentious in a beautiful setting. The Inn at Occidental is much the same. Large enough so that you don't feel the B&B "closeness", and small enough to be intimate and warm. The owners are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Our room was lovely and offered all of the amenities of a 4 star hotel. Located up the hill, it offered great views of the town and surrounding hillside from the spacious and secluded patio. The 2 person jacuzzi tub, which stands in view of the fireplace is a romantic add. Breakfast was a treat and served in a lovely setting. You can't go wrong with the wineries in this area. They are reasonably priced (most offer complimentary tastings) and we found the wine produced in the Russian River to be every bit as good as its higher priced Napa rival. We also thought the tasting rooms were more fun and a bit more relaxed. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lovettsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

From the minute we arrived, we felt like we were among old friends. Our rooms were so comfy, the food delightful, and the overall ambience very soothing. The staff is always accessible for even your smallest request. We relied on their expertise as we planned our days and were never disappointed.
After a dinner out to celebrate my birthday, we arrived in our room with a fabulous chocolate cake waiting for us with special birthday wishes. So sweet!
Occidental is a small town with a wonderful aura. After touring around the Napa area, we feel that the Russian River vineyards are so much more personable and fun. I know we'll be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VirginiaCabinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Inn at Occidental at the end of August and were enchanted from the first moment we arrived. The Inn is located in a tiny ( and we mean tiny) town by the name of Occidental. It is truly peacefull. There is the main house, where there are some rooms, as well as the dining room and the Living room. There is a seperate building in which our room, Le Cirque de Sonoma. was located. I booked this vacation on luxurylink.com, and chose this room because it looked bright, cheerfull and cozy. We were not dissapointed! It is fun, bright and REALLY big with a nice balcony facing the town.

It also has a large jacuzzi tub and seperate shower. the amenities are first rate: Frette towels, lush bathrobes, Aveda products, on and on and on. The bed was incredibly comfortable and sheets were sooooo soft. It also has a gas fireplace with sitting area...we played one of the inn's board games there.

The breakfasts were good, with homemade granola and fruit and yogurt served every morning followed by a special hot entree that changed daily ( the orange pancakes with bacon were the BEST i have EVER had) . The house coffee is also very good.

At 5:30, the Innkeepers, Jerry and Tina . host a wine and cheese reception. And they really do host it. They get upset if they forget to fill your glass ( which never happens) and really seem to be interrested to know what adventures we were on that day or what was planned for the next day....

We went to the ocean one day which was georgeous. ( Goat rock beach) The Inn packed a pic nic for us which was great. (the sandwhiches were made to order and HUGE)

The next day we did the wine tasting thang. we visited Ferrari Corano ( spelling) and it was very beautifull; you feel as though you are in Tuscani. This area is beautifull and we wandered through various wineries for the rest of the day...a very romantic day!

Jerry and Tina recommended the Bistro des Copains for dinner on our first night. it is a 2 minuted walk and it is very good. we are from Montreal, so we eat alot of french Bistro fare, and i can honnestly say the chicken I had there was some of the best! the Scallops were also outstanding . Their prices for their wine tastings are also VERY reasonable as is the rest of their wine list. Felicitation Michel! we ended up eating there 2 out of 3 nights.

All in all, we had a magical time there....we cannot wait to go back to the Inn at Occidental!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank montrealitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

This is an absolutely enchanting inn. It almost feels like time stopped in the town of Occidental, a very beautiful town. We loved the orange pancakes for breakfast and the dinner recommendation by one of the innkeepers was perfect. Everything met or exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

So many positive reviews of the Inn that we expected perfection and were disappointed. It's very expensive, especially on a summer weekend, so we thought we'd be getting the best of everything. Specific complaints:

- Uninspired breakfast. Bowl of granola, couple of tiny scones and a single egg benedict with scraps of potatoes. Other B&Bs have served delicious and hearty helpings of tasty pancakes or french toast, lots of pastry options, eggs done different ways. We were hungry by 11 am.

- Poor response to complaints. We had a couple of complaints about noisy neighbors & plumbing problems, that received a shrug and a non-committal response. Others have said that the innkeepers bent over backwards. I could understand if my complaints were voiced nastily but we were very polite.

- Poor quality towels. OK, so this is a pet peeve, but when you're spending over $300 a night you want the best.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Richard_in_Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

Planned our first wine country trip for our first wedding anniversary and found a great package for the Inn at Occidental via an auction website (three nights - June 26-29)... From the first moment, eveything was first class. We were personally greeted by one of the innkeepers and shown around the entire property - breathtaking accomodations (we stayed in the Cirque de Sonoma Room, highly recommended) complete with luxury linens, private outdoor deck, shower and jacuzzi tub (for two). We had honeymooners next door and didn't hear a peep. Evening wine & cheese and internet access were great touches... so what if we missed our regular TV shows (no TV in the rooms). Have I mentioned the breakfast? Simply put, we gained 5 lbs each - best waffles ever! Our favorite wineries were 30-45 minutes away driving, but the roads are stunningly beautiful and the innkeepers' directions were spot-on. If you value service, quiet and a touch of romance, stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAG&JSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
124 reviews
7.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
697 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
126 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range: £221 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing