We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the price!”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth the price!”
Reviewed 16 March 2007

The Inn at Occidental was the most unique accommodation that I have ever stayed in. We were in a courtyard room, which was very spacious (and included a giant jacuzzi). The guest living room in the main house was so cozy that we all felt right at home - they offered wine tasting and appetizers there every evening. It was great to have wireless internet access as well. Breakfast was out of this world - always two courses plus granola and juice. The town of Occidental is completey charming, out of the way but close to everything. The innkeepers and staff were so nice and were able to recommend a lot of different places: restaurants, wineries, even things to do in San Francisco. They even made reservations for us at one local winery that is very popular. We got a lot of individual attention and felt like valued guests. We had so much fun that we didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — The unique decor and the comfort of the rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 407Briana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
226
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2007

We visited this Inn the week of 2/19/07. I was VERY pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous surroundings, the well-appointed rooms, and the most customer service oriented management and staff that I have experienced in a very long time!! I arrived very stressed, as I just realized I had left my purse in a restroom in Sonoma. The staff immediately "swung into action" - they assisted in calling a local store we had shopped at on our way; helped contact the Chevron station where I'd left my purse (who had found it & given it to the police); notified the Sonoma Police by e-mail; contacted the police again by phone the next morning. The literally calmed me down, gave us a complimentary glass of wine, and reassured us that "all was well". The room was very comfortable, and literally felt like it was home. Breakfasts were substantial, with excellent flavor. They anticipate the needs & wants of guests, and are extremely responsive to assisting with arranging spa appointments, dinner recommendations etc. If you want a wonderful, relaxing vacation - I HIGHLY recommend this Inn!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank KAYWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2007

We spent one night at the Inn at Occidental during a visit to San Francisco. It was lovely. Just as good as it looks on the web site. Our room, the Leaf and Umbrella, was very quirky and comfortable. We were quite sorry that it was so unseasonably warm in February that we didn't need to light the stove! We enjoyed the early evening cheese and wine and breakfast was great. The breakfast room in particular was very attractive. It was very useful to have free internet access - and free hot drinks and biscuits. We'd asked the hosts in advance to book us somewhere for dinner and the French-style restaurant about 5 mins walk from the inn was an excellent choice. The hosts and other staff we met were all very helpful and attentive

Occidental is a pretty little town with some interesting gift shops and galleries and the area around is beautiful and peaceful. So all in all, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Liked — The amazing quirky antiques everywhere
  • Disliked — Ameicans don't make a good cup of tea!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Macmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

We just returned from a four night stay at the Inn at Occidental, and we loved it. The inn, itself, is quaint and welcoming with a lovely courtyard, large fireplaces, a wrap around porch, and unique antiques. Our room overlooked the court yard and the small village of Occidental with redwoods in the background. The innkeepers, Tina and Jerry, were very friendly, helpful, and devoted to making our entire experience a good one. They went out of their way to make certain that we had reservations at wonderful local restaurants and that we took in the best experiences of the area, including a trip to a winery north of Healdsburg that was absolutely beautiful, and a trip to the coast on a small rural highway that gave us unbelievable views of the countryside and the ocean. The breakfasts each day at the inn were divine. We loved them all, but the cinnamon brioche french toast and orange pancakes were our favorites. The evening hors d`oeuvres and wine receptions were relaxing opportunities to visit with the innkeepers and get tips on local attractions, etc. We found this entire experience very refreshing and relaxing; just what we needed. Now, you should know that we did not have cell phone reception in and around Occidental, and there are no TVs in the rooms. Also, this is a very rural community with small towns scattered all around and a mix of forests and rolling farms, many of which are planted into vineyards. So, if you are looking for constant excitement and prefab entertainment, you probably should go somewhere else, but if you are looking for a truly relaxing get-away, this is the place to go. Also, if you are a foodie, this entire area is a must. Every single meal that we had was wonderful.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

Given the raving reviews we had read about the Inn, we purposely scheduled our 2-night stay at the end of our 10-day trip through Napa and Sonoma Valley; sort of as the highlight. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. Not by the place itself - which is truly amazing, beautifully decorated, very well maintained and spotlessly clean - but by the attitude we encountered.
Here are some examples: The day of our first breakfast, the warm menu item was Eggs Benedict (note the plural). Instead of the regular two eggs one receives anywhere in the world when eating this dish, each one of us was presented with one egg. This in itself was not so disturbing, but when we asked if we could have a second one, the waitress told us she had to ask the cook for permission. 30 seconds later, the cook came out of the kitchen with the waitress (who was whispering to him) and it was obvious that he was checking us out. The waitress then told us that she was sorry but the cook had told her that each person was to get one egg, and O-N-E egg only. Although this seems too ridiculous to write about, when you spend over $300 a night, this is not the kind of treatment you'd expect. During that same breakfast, the innkeeper stopped at each of the breakfast tables to chat with the guests she already knew from previous days. Instead of presenting herself to us, she made it a point to avoid our table, which we found to be terribly rude. In fact, during our two days at the Inn, neither her now her husband had the courtesy to ever acknowledge us; the only time they really talked to us was when we had to present ourselves at the kitchen door during wine & cheese happy hour to get our wineglasses filled by them (in every other B&B / Inn we had stayed during our trip, the wine bottles were "unsupervised" and guests could just serve themselves, but here they made sure that you were monitored) and when we paid.
Although the place is gorgeous, the attitudes we encountered made this a very disappointing experience. This place is not worth the money - we will definitely never return.

  • Liked — The Inn itself
  • Disliked — Service, attitude
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Travelgirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2006

This charming and delightful spot was recommended to me from a local vintner. Having never been to the area before I wasn't sure what to expect from such a small town. The staff simply couldn't have been nicer. From our late arrival to my locking the keys in the car (can you believe it?!) the staff was incredibly hospitable. The dining recommendations were right on and just when I thought we were not going to get into an extremely popular restaurant (American Express had us wait listed for 2 weeks) Tina pulled it off!

You will not be disappointed by this little gem!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Tips/Secrets — The breakfasts are great! Don't be in too much of a hurry to start your day!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Beachroamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We had a marvelous stay at the Inn at Occidental Oct. 10-13. We had excellent directions "customized" for rush hour and non- rush hour and arrived in good time. The innkeeper greeted us cheerfully and gave a quick tour of the Inn. Plans for the next day were addressed and we had a quick and restful "settle in".

The town was absolutely charming, small, quaint, in the middle of the Redwood Forest and full of California history. It reminded us of a small town abience in VT. Absolute safe, walking, shopping and walking to and from dinner at a late hour.

Hospitlity was first-class! Attention was paid to every detail. There was a cordial wine and cheese hour at 5:30 every day withe hosts and other guests. Fascinating conversations. The breakfasts were delicious.

NB: The "septic tank" mentioned in the Oct. 9 review was actually the water tank for the property. (It is located on the side of a mountain.)

We would definitely go back for another visit. We were delighted.
John & Joanne, Westfield NJ

  • Liked — scenery & warm hotpitality
  • Tips/Secrets — go and enjoy
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
121 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing