We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Thumbs Up for Basic Hotel”
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up for Basic Hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I give the Occidental Hotel a solid recommendation for a comfortable stay in a basic hotel with no frills. I think it is better described as a motel, complete with a swimming pool. Our room was clean and big enough with a very comfortable bed that would rival a Westin Heavenly Bed. The hotel is located on the main drag and an easy walk to all of the Occidental restaurants - Main Street is only a couple of blocks long - a very quaint setting. The desk clerk was very friendly and provided good advice for dining and directions for wine tasting. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    44
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
25
55
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It was a cold rainy evening after a lovely spa experience at Osmosis. I checked into a single room, asked for wifi but was given a room that didn't actually have any. I turned on heat and went out to dinner. When I returned the room was still very cold and the internet didn't work at all. I was told I could use my computer at the reception area, which I did for one hour. The receptionist watched a loud movie the entire time right next to me which was very irritating. I found it to be quite rude that he didn't offer to turn it down.
When I returned to the room I discovered that it was still freezing cold because the window had been left open all day by housekeeping. At that point I closed the window and attempted to watch a show on television, but I couldn't hear anything as the heater was so loud that it drowned out the sound on the TV.
Then I tried to use the space heater in the bathroom, which did not function at all. Later I was told that it had been disconnected because it was not child safe.
There is nothing that I would recommend about this hotel. In fact when I raised the issues at check out the next morning I was offered a discount at my next visit. Why would I ever want to stay there again? It was the most unacceptable room I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Hello Susan,

As I mentioned in my written apology letter to you, we are sorry you had such a poor experience during your visit to our hotel. We welcome your comments and feedback.

As evidenced by the other reviews on this site we do try very hard to make every stay by every guest a comfortable one. While we may not have reached perfection yet, we certainly are trying!

To make sure there is no confusion for our many satisfied return visitors and those seeing us for the first time I wanted to clarify a few items:

1. All our rooms have wi-fi and wi-fi is always free.

2. One window in each room is left open approximately 1 inches prior to a guest checking-in with us. We have some of the best air quality in all of California here in Occidental and have found that entering a room to fresh outside air is preferable to recirculated air. After check-in housekeeping does not open/close/or adjust the guest's windows.

3. If you stay with us and find a heater to be too noisy for your liking, not throwing off enough heat, or if you would just like to have multiple heaters in the room please ask at the front desk and they will provide you with a portable heater at no cost. Or, based on availability, we would be happy to switch your room. In fact, if you would like extra pillows, extras blankets, more towels, soap, etc. please ask us we are happy to help.

Once again, we are sorry your experience at our property was so disappointing and hope you will give us another chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We have been coming to occidental for 15 years. We always stayed at the Occidental hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff is excellent. There are very good restaurants in this small quaint town. It is beautiful here. The Italian restaurant is good, karaoke on Saturday nights, Howard's is a must for breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel isn't fancy, but totally functional for the price. As stated in other reviews, walls are thin so bring ear plugs. The rooms were spotless and we are very particular about this as we always bring Clorox wipes to clean everything! We asked for and received an upstairs room. The rooms were roomy and had microwaves and refrigerators in them. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room for more quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kndrdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I love where this hotel is located - beautiful! But other than the location, I was rather disappionted in our stay at Occidental Hotel. The bed was extremely firm (very uncomfortable, they need to invest in pillow top beds), and the walls were thin (we could hear the people next to us talking and laughing). We did not sleep well.

We had purposely asked for a quiet room, so we were lucky and got one at the end of the building (on the pool side). The man on the phone mentioned they had added sound-proofing. Unfortuntely, this didn't help, even when we stayed on a Sunday night....

The towels needed a good dose of laundry softener, and the heater in our room was hard to get just right....it got either too hot or too cold, and we wanted it "on" to help drown-out the people next door.

This place was about 15-20 minutes from Bodega Bay which worked well for us. Their rates were also reasonable, which is why we checked them out to begin with. The staff were friendly and helpful. Over-all, I have mixed feeling about this hotel because I feel the owners should invest in better beds and wall insulation. It would have been perfect, and I would have been willing to pay a little more for the room had it provided what we needed!

Room Tip: For a good breakfast, eat at Howard's across the street - it's a quick walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PakehaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Spent a hot afternoon ziplining through the redwoods and were anxious to get cleaned up. Selected the Occidental Hotel because it was close to the ziplining. A very sweet lady behind the desk got us registered quickly and told us to always call the Hotel first before signing up through other internet sites to possibly get a better deal. Good thing to know. The room was clean and nicely decored. We had an upstairs King bedroom. There are about 20 or so total rooms, so it's a small hotel. The only things kind of negative were that the upstairs rooms took a long time to get hot water up to the showers and the towels were not very soft. But a great loufa!
The setting was beautiful right along the Bohemian Highway nestled among the trees. I would recommend this hotel to those who want to use it as a jump-off based for the loads of other activities in this area. Also on the place side, we were not put right next to other guests, but the manager spread us out so there wasn't any noise from other guests.

Wifi is kind of sketchy and slow loading. But you didn't come there to be on your computer did you?
We paid $129 + taxes for 1 night. A little expensive, but par for the area. Just take your own towels and be patient with getting hot water if you're upstairs.

Room Tip: The only cafe in town was located right across the street and had an excellent breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

There's no getting away from it, the walls here are really thin so invest a few pennies in some earplugs for an undisturbed night. And, yes, it's a motel not a hotel so if you want a business centre, or valet, concierge and room services then you're probably better off on Highway 101. Other than that, for budget accommodation, it's fine. You won't hear the thrum of the ocean here, but it's only a short hop to the pricier Bodega Bay places and the town of Occidental is a delight. The little Mexican diner, La Mariachi, is cheap and cheerful, the Italian restaurant, Negri's, is unpretentious and good and the Bohemian Market is on hand if you get tired of eating out and want to make your own snacks: decent bread, wine, cheese and salami - what else do you need? There are a couple of artsy shops close by and if you pop into Such Fine Things you might get really lucky and hear a live performance by songstress Teresa Tudbury.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Newshound123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
19.0 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Property: Occidental Hotel
Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Occidental Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this multi star rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing