We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room, nice view of trees, cute town”
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Occidental Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

King bed, spacious room with fridge and microwave. Town is cute-restaurants, grocery stores, bar and shops all within a couple of blocks. Nice place to stay for a romantic getaway and it was a pretty drive getting out to this little town.

Room Tip: 36 is upstairs, most private since no one walks by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Occidental Lodge for three nights at the end of August. We were impressed right away about how clean this hotel is kept. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. Thumbs up to the lady that cleaned our room. It was always spotless when we returned from our day trips.
The hotel is in a nice location in the small quaint town of Occidental. There are many restaurants within this small town as well as a grocery store for those who prefer to eat in. There is a microwave and small refrigerator in each room. It is an easy drive to Bodega Bay or to Guerneville and Armstrong Redwoods which is a great location for a lovely picnic.
Keep in mind this is not necessarily a fancy hotel but it is clean and well kept. You can stay at fancier hotels along the coast but you will pay double if not more and there will be no microwave in the room. And you will miss out on this quaint little town.
And if you do decide to stay here, don't miss out on taking Coleman Valley Road to the coast. You will have a spectacular view from high above overlooking the coast and the road will take you down to highway 1 just beyond Bodega Bay.
Give it a try, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klb529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel staff has done a fabulous job keeping this old hotel up-to-date, clean and comfortable. Our family loves the charm of Occidental and surrounding areas for exploring. It's a great getaway spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We used this as a jumping off spot for wine country, Bodega bay and coast, and Russian river area. We stayed in the upstairs LARGE double queen room. Absolutely fantastic. The staff was friendly and really helpful. Very quiet and beautiful property. Less than an hour away from everything. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend this to all. Two big Italian restaurants, and a great breakfast place are all a two minute walk. It was a great trip, made better by this wonderful little property.

Room Tip: Try the upstairs large queen.... fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrywaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I thought this hotel (really more of a motel) was a great choice for our weekend overnight while we visited the Osmosis Day Spa in Freestone. The room was very clean and quiet - and the location was great with the Friday night Farmer's Market right across the street.

Highly recommended - good location, clean rooms and good value!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATerrapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Right in the heart of it all. Very friendly hotel staff, clean rooms, good room amenities. If you have reason to be in Occidental, this is the place to stay!

Within walking distance of a great little Mexican restaurant, fantastic breakfast joint, and two Italian places. There are also several bars close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkinCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We arrived and felt very welcome. Then we found out that wifi did not work in our bedroom. We've been told that the owner does not want to fix it because it is free (after paying £90 for a room, internet is part of the price it is not free!!) We then went to the swimming pool which was covered, we've had to ask to open it. The pool was dirty! Worse comes, we had to leave very early to catch our plane in San Francisco. We both did not have a drop of hot water to shower!! Very nice when you are about to fly for 12 hours... It was nobody at the desk to check out!! Even a one star hotel in Fresno had a staff and we did not spent this amount. I called from the airport to inform the hotel that we left the keys in the room. I explained that hot water was not working. I just got an arrogant answer that we were the first to use and we should have waited for the water to heat! We did open the tap and nothing but cold water came up for 10 min. Not an apology! Where is the sens of Hospitality that we felt everywhere else we've been visiting over California? They charge the price of a very decent hotel in any town for one in the middle of nowhere taking advantage on the fact there is no competition.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancoisLondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hello Francois,

We have just had the opportunity to read your review and want to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your less than satisfactory experience.

This is the first we have heard about the problems you encountered and on behalf of myself and ownership we want to extend our sincere apologies. Your stay was not up to the standards we set for ourselves or our staff and we will take action to find out why you encountered the problems you did.

Until then, I wanted to make our dedicated Trip Advisor readers and reviewers aware of the following hotel services and policies:

1. Weather permitting, our pool is open everyday 8am to nightfall on a seasonal basis. Due to our cooler coastal evenings the pool is covered at night and into some early heavier fog/cloudy mornings.

2. Our Office opens at 8am everyday and closes in the late evening. When the office is closed we have a 24 hour onsite manager available by telephone to handle guest's needs. The manager's office phone number is located on the in-room telephone, in the In Room Guest Directory, and on a sign on the front door of the office.

3. Every one of our rooms has WiFi. To keep up with changing technology and the needs of our guests, two weeks ago we invested in a significant upgrade to our WiFi system increasing the strength of signal in all rooms and speed of its performance.

We work tirelessly everyday to provide a nice experience for every guest and in this instance we clearly did not meet your expectations. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience you encountered and hope your overall travel experience to the Wine Country was a good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,724 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
534 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
142 reviews
6.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
121 reviews
6.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range: £93 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Occidental Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this multi star rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing