We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
South Island, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Only downside was not so friendly staff. Room great with all the needed amenities. Great location and lovely town. Not cheap but no more expensive than the nearest chain motels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
25
57
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Clean, pleasant, and very standard motel-type lodging. Price seemed way too high for the quality of the room and the hotel' severe few amenities. We figured that the price point was because this is a fairly out-of-the-way town and there's no competition.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DfromCville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi Dorrit G,

Thank you for your stay and feedback. We value every guest and all the comments we receive. We are more than a bit concerned about the impression you came away with of our Hotel. We reviewed the pricing of our rooms on the nights of your stay and found our rates were below those of competing, similar properties. Our only conclusion is we may have been compared us to lesser quality properties in worse locations or something to that effect.
Another possibility is you may not have booked directly with us and booked through a third party booking site like Expedia, Hotels.com etc. The rates when booking through sites like those will be higher than booking direct with us. We want you, and all our guests, to get the best rate possible. Like our website says "book directly with us for the best rates". We want every guest experience to be great -- and that includes the online or telephone booking experience.
We are sorry that your experience and impression of us was lacking but hope you will look us up in the future when comparing properties in the Wine Country/Pacific Ocean region of Sonoma County.

Sincerely,

Occidental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great hospitality, comfortable well-appointed rooms at a reasonable rate! Paid TWICE as much for a room of inferior quality in Healdsburg the prior night. Nestled in a cute town in the saddle of the coastal range, a fun place from which to explore and enjoy either (or BOTH) the wine country or the beautiful north coast Bodega/Tomales Bay area. Delicious oysters from Hog Island Oyster Company (Marshall, CA) and fine wines from Sonoma County made our Dillon Beach picnic a mouth-watering experience! A zip-line adventure the following day at Sonoma Canopy Tours added more fun and excitement just 5 minutes from the Occidental Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem well situated! Pleasant swimming pool area is easily accessible to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiwhenucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Way off the beaten path but clean! Very nice staff and the town, as the highway name states, is very bohemian! The town is only a few blocks but it has character. Bohemian Market reminds me of Trader Joes years ago.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMVACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

King bed, spacious room with fridge and microwave. Town is cute-restaurants, grocery stores, bar and shops all within a couple of blocks. Nice place to stay for a romantic getaway and it was a pretty drive getting out to this little town.

Room Tip: 36 is upstairs, most private since no one walks by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Occidental Lodge for three nights at the end of August. We were impressed right away about how clean this hotel is kept. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. Thumbs up to the lady that cleaned our room. It was always spotless when we returned from our day trips.
The hotel is in a nice location in the small quaint town of Occidental. There are many restaurants within this small town as well as a grocery store for those who prefer to eat in. There is a microwave and small refrigerator in each room. It is an easy drive to Bodega Bay or to Guerneville and Armstrong Redwoods which is a great location for a lovely picnic.
Keep in mind this is not necessarily a fancy hotel but it is clean and well kept. You can stay at fancier hotels along the coast but you will pay double if not more and there will be no microwave in the room. And you will miss out on this quaint little town.
And if you do decide to stay here, don't miss out on taking Coleman Valley Road to the coast. You will have a spectacular view from high above overlooking the coast and the road will take you down to highway 1 just beyond Bodega Bay.
Give it a try, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klb529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel staff has done a fabulous job keeping this old hotel up-to-date, clean and comfortable. Our family loves the charm of Occidental and surrounding areas for exploring. It's a great getaway spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,364 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
495 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
6.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
686 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Property: Occidental Hotel
Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Occidental Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this multi star rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing