We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, clean and excellent service!”
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Daly City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, clean and excellent service!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just left the hotel. We spent two nights there. It was a fantastic, clean room. The pool was wonderful. The staff in the office and cleaning gang were fabulous. We plan to go back as soon as we can. We recommend the Occidental Hotel to everyone! The area is beautiful and peaceful. The stores and restaurants are wonderful and the people so friendly. I have been to the restaurants since I was a baby. (55 yrs.) You can do many things or just relax. Again excellent rating is truly the truth and comes from our hearts. Paul and Barbara Loughrey

Room Tip: Ask for the Queen Deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    46
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
25
58
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Checked in here Fourth of July Weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Be sure to ask for one of the remodeled rooms as they are decorated nicely, very clean and spacious. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again when returning to the area. All the wonderful Occidental restaurants are just a very short walk from the "Hotel". This really is a motel but a very nice one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We generally stay at the Inn at Occidental, a charming and very expensive B&B nearby. But we were with a group this time, so opted for the Occidental Hotel. It wasn't a "special occasion" place (Stay at the Inn at Occidental for that special celebration), but a totally acceptable hotel with very good rates. It was off the main road, clean and attractive, comfortable bed, and a pool. Easy walking distance to all the good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: They have a family suite at a very good rate -- we opted for a quiet single room at the end away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend and we found this lovely hotel in Occidental, CA - The Occidental Hotel. We were charmed from the moment we spotted it. Upon checking in, Christy greeted us with a warm, inviting smile and was very friendly. She asked us if we wanted any recommendations for dining and to let her know immediately if we needed anything for our room. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised to find a spacious, clean, lovely sanctuary for our getaway. We had a small table by the window, a large, amazing vanity area with a mini-fridge and several other amenities that one could need/want, a VERY comfortable bed, a flat screen tv, and a sparkling clean bathroom. Even though we were starving, we were so charmed that we wanted to just stay and enjoy our room. We eventually made our way to the Union Hotel for dinner (which was fabulous!) and it was so convenient to have the min-fridge to store our leftovers in. The town of Occidental is so cute and quaint and has its own unique charm. We enjoyed walking around and taking it all in. On the day of check out, we did not want to leave quite yet, so we called for a late checkout, which the front desk staff was more than happy to allow us to do. When we came down to check out, Christy recommended Howard Station Cafe for breakfast (another delicious eatery). My honey and I were so impressed with every aspect of this hotel! We will DEFINITELY be coming back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed an upstairs room upon the recommendation of the front desk staff when we called to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyPescetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My boyfriend and I drove to Occidental to enjoy a weekend away....I really enjoy the general vibe of Occidental...."granola", chill, and unique. We stayed at the Occidental Hotel....for two nights and loved the cozy and welcoming ambiance. Very clean, spacious, awesome vanity area for the women. The front desk guy was funny, and welcoming.......and also helped me track down a knife to cut limes up. The rate was great...more than reasonable. Occidental is one of those towns that brings a smile to my face, and this hotel echos that relaxing, small town feel. If you are staying in Occidental, or if you need to just get away from the city and unwind.....you wont be sorry! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasbelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed in quite a few places and this was probably our least favorite. We had a large group of people staying here for my nephew's wedding that was going to be at the Union Hotel's Bocce Ballroom (which was fabulous). We booked our rooms way in advance because there are not many options for this town. The price was HIGH....too high. We paid over $1300 for three rooms, for three nights, with outdated mattresses, pillows that were horrible, and amenities that were minimal. We tried to get some kind of discount but to no avail. We were stuck in a hard place since we needed accommodations. My nephews friends were also staying here and not happy with their rooms. While here we did learn of private properties in the area for rentals that would of been much better for our tastes. The grounds and rooms were clean and front desk workers friendly. This place is old and reminded me of what a Motel 6 would probably be like. I would NOT stay here again. Sorry Occidental Hotel....you are way overpriced and taking advantage of people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello Charlene,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel and for being a contributor to the Trip Advisor community.

We are sorry we could not accommodate your request for a discount. We reviewed the request and the rates in place at the time of the request and found the rates you were paying to be below that of Hotels in the area. In fairness to all our paying guests we did not feel it appropriate to grant the discount. One of the room rates your party was paying was that of our Deluxe room. These rates are higher than our standard room rate. We always suggest that if price is a main concern guests should not book one of our higher priced deluxe rooms.

Paying $1300.00 for nine room nights as your party did equates to an average room rate of approximately $145.00 per night including tax. Before local area taxes the room rate you paid was approximately $130.00 a night. A telephone survey of Hotels in the area found rates between $159.00 and $259.00 before taxes for a standard room on a late Spring/early summer weekend.

$130.00 a night for a room in Sonoma County Wine Country on a spring/summer stay that includes a weekend is very reasonable and competitive with similar properties.

Once again, we are sorry we could not accommodate your request for a discount and that this refusal resulted in a negative impression of our property.

As evidenced by our four star rating and 2014 Trip Advisor Award of Excellence we work very hard at making every stay a positive one. We hope you will give us another try in the future we would love to have you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here on April 17-19 2014. It's a nice hotel, decent price we got a rate for $118 for those stays. friendly staff, it's not bad at all unless you wanna drive all the way to Santa Rosa (med size town) and get a Marriott / courtyard. This is only for someone who appreciates the small town experience and drive the coast. It's convenient that there are cafés walking distance, small shops, and a small market. It's a little pricey... But hey they're a small town and they have bills to pay as well. I like the area a lot it's romantic and cozy. People there are laid back and friendly. We came here to visit our friend and go for kayak fishing or clamming on bodega bay. We come here 3x a month but this is our first time staying at the hotel. Beats the driving from Santa Rosa to Bodega... Also Sebastopol is close by as well. Definitely will return here for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cambria8085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,379 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
102 reviews
6.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Property: Occidental Hotel
Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Occidental Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this multi star rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing