We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, fun times”

Arnie's ATV Rentals
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Oceano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We rent ATV's (All Terrain Vehicles i.e.: quads) for riding on the former Pismo Dunes (Oceano Dunes State Vehicle Recreation Area today.) At Arnie's visitors will find a rare opportunity to tour one of the largest coastal sand dune ranges in the world. Arnie's ATV Rentals is located on the Central Coast of California - and provides you with a way to see the dunes up close and personal!
Colton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fun times”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I have driven ATV's before, but never on sand dunes. So we took our kids ( 6 & 8; never even ridden on an ATV...) to try it out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The employee who set us up on our ATV's was perfect with the kids, a very lively jokester. It was a little weird driving out Corolla on the beach, but we had no problem getting stuck in the sand. Our 6 year old kept getting stuck in the sand... turns out I'm a lot stronger than I thought b/c I somehow pulled that ATV up a hill.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArniesATV, Manager at Arnie's ATV Rentals, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are happy you and your family had a good time. We don’t suggest taking that little guy bike out into the Dunes – for that very reason you mentioned it gets stuck too much. It just does not have the power/strength to go out there and act "nicely.". Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please come see us again. -Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun times very friendly”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We rented 4 ATV's from Arnies, took the test, waited by the beach, and rode the dunes for 2 hours. The helmets and ATV's were clean and in good condition. We took the sand highway out into the dues and as Noobs, got stuck a few times going up hills, etc. Do take care a watch the hills carefully. I hit a razorback ridge and got some unanticipated air time. Sort of takes your breath away. For first times, take your time, learn to ride, and as your skill get better try new things. Cowboys flying at full speed tend to get hurt. Otherwise, it was a fun family adventure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank K_Neutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArniesATV, Manager at Arnie's ATV Rentals, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We can not express often enough that you need dto prceed slowly until you have laid down your own tracks. Those "razorbacks" can get you if you don't creep up on them. We are pleased you were happy with our service, our units and our personnel. Thank you for riding with us and we will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The girl wanted to do it!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Connie was very friendly and helpful. Not sure everyone should drive on the beach as would be easy to get stuck if they weren't cautious. Mike and Rob were great on the beach and very patient with the whole family (11 years to old). Definitely a fun experience for the family - nothing like it in my experience.

Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArniesATV, Manager at Arnie's ATV Rentals, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are happy your family was able to enjoy what our Dunes have to offer. It is a good place for family fun. We do offer transports down to the beach for those "squeamish" about driving their cars down onto the sand (this is the last remaining beach area that is for off road traffic.) Next time let us know you want a transport and we will be happy to provide one for your. Thank you again for visiting Arnie's ATV Rentals. - Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Check the ATVs and insist on getting a ride if you don't drive a 4WD”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Super friendly staff at the front desk, and at the kiosk (except that the kiosk guy reeked of cigarette smoke).
The ATVs weren't exactly in the best of shape, but they worked and didn't break down.
They were also hesitant to give a ride to the location on the beach and insisted I drive my vehicle down to it. That decision almost cost me $500 as my vehicle almost got stuck in the sand! Driving the car on the wet sand is fine but you have to park in the dry sand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArniesATV, Manager at Arnie's ATV Rentals, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
You are right rental ATV’s sure do look different than ATV’s stored in the garage and brought out a few time of the year for use. Ours are used multiple times a day everyday of the year. We strive to keep our fleet in good working condition.
This is an off road beach – and our trucks are not four-wheel drive and we transport them everyday hauling the trailers full of ATV’s down onto the beach and sometimes we forget that customers are not as confident in their skills while driving on the sand. Please next time just let us know that you need a transport and we will be happy to arrange that for you. -Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude receptionist”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We saw the reviews in tripadvisor and visited the place...the lady at the desk was very confrontational and especially rude to customers who were calling up on the phone.
We wanted to ask if along with the ATV rental, they would take us to the beach but she kept demanding "Why cant you drive out there?My boss does it all the time"..We couldn't take our car out there..She could have just said we don't have such a service..
We ran away and went next door ..
I get that Arnie's gets a lot of customers but service should be pleasant..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank argees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArniesATV, Manager at Arnie's ATV Rentals, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
While you did not ride with Arnie’s ATV Rentals back in December 2013 I wanted to let you know we strive for customer service. We know first impressions are so important – I am sorry yours was not good. I cannot talk about the conversation you over heard – I can apologize for it making you ill at ease. We do offer the service of transports for our customers daily down to our trailer on the beach. Should you decide to actually try Arnie’s ATV Rentals – then please let us know you need a transport and we will arrange one for you. Thank you for your informational review. -Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arnie's ATV Rentals also viewed

Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
 
Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Arnie's ATV Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing