We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lodging near the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oceano
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Lodging near the Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We flew into Oceano airport for Airport day and stayed at the PPR. Easy walk from airport and a nice place to stay. Staff was friendly,,room was clean and we had a nice two night stay. The only negative thing was the shower head had such a low flow it was hard to rinse off and wash hair.
Nice full size kitchen that we didn't use. Resort was full but very quiet.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellow Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulock, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just recently returned from a trip to the Pismo Dunes and stayed 2 nights at the Pacific Plaza Resort. Our stay was not adequate at all. The room we were in (405) needs some major maintenence. There were curtains missing in the bedroom, the shutters were broken so no matter how hard you tried to close them they just would not stay closed. The shower in the bathroom had to be aimed at the wall otherwise the water would leak out all over the floor making it very dangerous. The main issue were the ants. They were invading the kitchen. The room just was not maintained. They used to also have a continental breakfast, one of the reasons we decided to stay again. Come to find out they stopped the breakfast.

For the price we paid in an off-peak time of the year, this hotel was not worth it. I will not be recommending this place to friends or family in fact I will be telling everyone to never stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daffodilht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have been staying at the Pacific Plaza Resort for over eight years now. The location is perfect. The staff is even better. Although this is the first time we were not able to get the rooms we requested, Joe the manager, did everything in his power to help compensate us. The rest of the staff is awesome as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The jaquuzzi is hot and clean. It also boarders a great lagoon to walk around. Resturants are within walking distance. And it is one block from the entrance to the dunes/beach. What more could you ask for? Thanks again Pacific Plaza!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldtosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We flew into the Oceano Airport, walked a block to this resort, just a few blocks from Pismo State Beach. Great 1 bedroom unit, with fireplace, full kitchen, super clean and peek a boo view of the ocean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a great fly in destination, as the airport has free bikes to use, and you really don't even need them as everything is so close. The room prices are very reasonable and includes free wireless internet. We will be back, again, and again and again.

Room Tip: We liked room 205, quiet, and peek a boo view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starrynight0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

All the homey comforts + steps from the beach. And what a beach! If you love ATV's, dune buggies, starry nights, dirt bikes, camping, ocean waves, waterbirds......well, I could go on and on. I understand that the Pacific Plaza is quite popular during the summer and holiday weekends but it was very quiet for us. Oceano is a mecca for off-road vehicles owners who want to ride the dunes. There are many vehicle rental opportunities also. Pacific Plaza Hotel room was large, clean and we enjoyed the kitchen facilities - and the fireplace. Each condo is privately owned. The few negatives were not enough to spoil our vacation or this review.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SHADDACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We only had 1 night booked here and really expected to get more out of our day in Oceano, but delays kept us from checking in before nightfall, leaving us with not much time other then to grab a bite to eat and go to sleep
The hotel looks and feels like an apartment or condo complex, with different buildings and entrances.
The room was bright and clean, although small. It was comfortable and a good value for the money and location. I paid about $125 for the night including taxes, which wasn't bad for a single night reservation on labor day weekend

It's about a block or 2 from the beach and the dunes, and If I ever get a chance to go back I would try to spend a few days, not just 1 night

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanny2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Needed a overnight stay between Santa Cruz and Los Angeles and choosed Oceano Pasific Plaza. What a great place, got a 1 bedroom suite with kitchen for approx usd 100 a night. The hotel hade a landry room and pool, walking distance to the beach. Of cource the beach is the one you should visit in a car.... My son, 16 years, rented a ATV and had fun at the dunes. Would love to stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oceano
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
3.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Plaza Hotel

Property: Pacific Plaza Hotel
Address: 444 Pier Ave, Oceano, CA 93445-9602
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Oceano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oceano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Pacific Plaza Hotel is an invitation to discover Oceano Beach Dunes. The hotel sits comfortably between the land and sea with a protected natural park as its neighbor. There is 5 1/2 miles of open beach for vehicle use and ATV riding. We are just minutes away from award-winning golf courses, the best wine tasting, and great local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Plaza Hotel Oceano
Pacific Plaza Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing