We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cuban Fare!”
Review of Azafran - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Azafran
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Cuban Fare!”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We were visiting Oceanside, and chose this restaurant for my husband's birthday dinner. It was amazing! The meals we had at this restaurant were sooo delicious! My daughter had the combination platter which included the shredded beef, pork and chicken. Each item was perfectly prepared--tender, flavorful, and a pleasure to eat. (This was a great value, as the portions are big--we had enough to take away and eat for lunch the next day!) Even the black beans had the extra touch of cilantro that made them just that much more delicious. I had a chicken and sausage dish--it was wonderfully prepared. The chicken was moist and with the sausage, the flavor was mouth-watering. My husband had the slow cooked pork. We each loved, and shared our dishes. I cannot applaud enough the taste, texture and presentation of the meals. We just loved it. Our server was very dear, (attentive, accommodating and patient with our questions...) and the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. They have several Mexican beers on tap including Negro Modelo. We loved the cuban music videos. We went to the website first and was able to get an electronic discount coupon. I would return to Oceanside just to eat at this restaurant--a definite delicious indulgence!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nice2visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
YUMA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Lovely little place along the PCH with welcoming staff and ambiance. Try the appetizer sampler for a bunch of tastes--empanadas, croquettes, plaintains, papillas. Also perfect for our two kids to share.
I had a divine arroz con pollo, super tender chicken and rice. Husband did the lechon, marinated pork, that was flavorful but a bit dry. The congi--rice with black beans--was also good.
A nice variety of latin american beverages as well.
No parking lot, just street, which can be a challenge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a great family restaurent with a very Cuban atmostphere. They frequently have music on weekends. I love the feeling being in such a Cuban space.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharptpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor, poor, poor”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Food was less than acceptable. Price was too much for the quality. The place needs a serious facelift.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fernando g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still thinking about the meal!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Azafran is a gem of a restaurant in an less than ideal location. Although the neighborhood along this stretch of South Pacific Coast Highway is on the depressed side, this charming reaturant clearly attracts a loyal and authentic clientele. The venue is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful for those not familiar with cuban cuisine. Our large party was able to try the majority of their specialty dishes and none were disappointing. Their pork dishes, in particular, were memorable. Although traditional cuban cuisine is basic in ingredients, Azafran does each very well - the rice is well cooked and fragrant, the beans were tasty and the plantains were difficult not to eat in one sitting. While we don't often have a reason to go to this neighborhood of Oceanside, having discovered Azafran, we do now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeSleepEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azafran also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing