We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is my 2nd stay w/in the last 3 months. The 1st time we had an executive room and were really pleased with the size. The shower in the bathroom was very spacious. we had a nice separate bar area to make our drinks. Our view was the trailer park across the street but that was ok as I wasn't vacationing to look out the window all day. The day we checked out the maids were cleaning other rooms and we noticed a room similar to ours but with a couch.That was the only thing extra we would of wanted, as we like to sit on a couch to have our cocktails, rather than a bed. (So we knew our 2nd visit we would upgrade). Our 2nd visit we did get the jr suite that came with the sofa and a view of the ocean. in my opinion the room seemed more cramped because there was not much space at the foot of the bed. However the sofa area was roomy. The shower was not as big as our first room and while the other room had a sink in the bathroom and separate sink/bar area this room had a sink in the room where u have to use the space for your wet bar, coffee maker, and bathroom toiletries. For that reason alone I would not request this particular room. The air did not seem to be working too well in the elevator and the hallway. I didn't get the chance to check with staff about this problem. Another nice feature of hotel was the roof top deck. I only learned of it while checking online rates for our 2nd trip and looking at pics of the hotel. If I did not see the pics I would of never known about it as there are no signs and the staff did not inform us they had a roof top deck on our first visit. The hotels proximity to the harbor is a definite plus! It is a short 5-10 min walk to the harbor and the beach. The hotel has a nice little bar area, w/happy hour and a small dining area. To me this is a very good hotel for the price and location. I look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel is best value for location. 2nd time staying. 1st time in a executive king was very nice. 2nd stay was in a junior suite king. Room was spacious with a great view of the water. The problem was there was not a sink in the bathroom. Our wet bar sink was also our bathroom sink. Wife was not happy. We will still go back but no need for the suite as the executive is just as nice if not nicer. Still great place for value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here Labor day weekend and from start to finish it was perfect. Geoffrey checked us in and he was so delightful! Our room was on the top floor and was extremely clean and nice. The TV was huge, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a ton of counter space. We went down to the jacuzzi, the pool isn't very big, but you're a 5 minute walk from the ocean so...
We got dinner from the restaurant and the girl who helped us was very nice and helpful. The food was absolutely delicious and I got a lava cake with a candle for my birthday! :)
The hotel was quiet, clean and everyone was so pleasant. I will be staying here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The staff wa very friendly and helpful. Tylr at the restaurant was very friendly and always had a smile on her face. The front desk employees always greeted us and asked if we needed anything. Great hotel and very delightful stay. Great access to lots of fun and exciting spots like the beach and downtown Oceanside. Thank you Oceanside Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCareyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This outing was a group stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina hotel. I reserved a "junior suite" room for 3 persons. The accommodation was very clean, well appointed, and suited our needs to a tee. The space was roomy, had enough closet space, a larger-than-average fridge, microwave, a sink in the room, and toilet and shower/bath in separate bathroom, so two persons could get ready at the same time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is about 2 blocks from the water. View (we were on the top floor) was a bit less than desirable, but that was a minor issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Pros: It's not near the train tracks like the Wyndham, it's also NOT a timeshare so no gimmicks, we felt very safe (let's be real, Oside isn't known for being safe), insanely short drive to the harbor & beach (you could potentially walk, but it's dangerous the way the roads are laid out), room was very clean & huge (king size bed. I had 6 people meet up in my room and we had plenty of room to get ready), the customer service was absolutely outstanding, room service was de-lish.
Cons: Small pool, you have to walk through the dining room to get to the pool/gym area. Also I had a room next to the housekeeping closet. I was trying to nap after an overnight flight & the banging & crashing that came from housekeeping both days around 11am was ridiculously loud. I think any other room would be fine, I just happened to share a wall with that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Christie,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay wish us during your recent visit to Oceanside! We hope that your travels bring you back again soon so that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back. We will be sure to get you into a room away from our staff areas so that noise will be to a minimum.
See you soon,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

One of the better Holiday Inns, the rooms are comfortable, clean, and well appointed with a separate little kitchen area. This property is walking distance to the Marina, and a bit further to a nice beach. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were much better than expected.

The downside: we asked for a room with a separate area for a crib for our son and his wife, and were told the Jr Suite would accommodate that. The little guy won't go to sleep if he hears and sees mom and dad. The Jr Suite was larger than a regular room but there was no separation from the main room. The hotel was fully booked so they couldn't change rooms. Consequently my son and DIL spent each evening sitting on the floor in the hallway with the baby monitor until the baby went to sleep. If we had known that we would have booked something different.

This hotel is great for families, but it is also full of kids, and families are catered to. Expect a bit of noise. If you want peace and quiet, you might want to look elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
1.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Address: 1401 Carmelo Dr, Oceanside, CA 92054-1012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: £103 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing