We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goood place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somis, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Goood place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I have a great room I always sing here often was able to get a corporate rate so I know what it's going to cost me each time I stay the rooms are clean and well done good restaurant in the bar very nice the staff was very helpful and very friendly look forward to my next visit

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Jim K,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. Our goal is to be a GREAT hotel guests LOVE and we are happy to hear that we hit the mark. We hope that your travel bring you back to our area and we have the chance to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    106
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
129
86
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rural England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We ended up in this hotel after appalling customer service from Hotels.com. We were not overly impressed to be staying in a Holiday Inn. The one plus on the horizon was that the reviews on Tripadvisor were very positive.
Overall, the hotel itself is very comfortable and clean.

Parking: ample and free.

Breakfast: it is a buffet with a reasonable selection, the fruit is all fresh there is a large selection of breads and pastries, the hot section has bacon, sausage, ham, scrambled egg, omelettes, and pancakes.

The bar: it has a reasonable stock of beers and wines but don't bother with a gin and tonic as the soft drinks come from a soda gun which did not provide the best flavour.

The rooms: they had enough space for the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 children aged 17, 15 & 10) and we found the beds to be comfortable. The air conditioning was very good if not a little loud. It did, however, reduce the temperature to 68F very quickly. All the rooms have electronic safes.

The pool: it is tiny and can probably be best described as being an oversized jacuzzi without the water jets. Do not come here to spend time by the pool, go to the beach which is a five minute pedestrian friendly walk.

Extras: beach towels are provided and the is a small shopping area in the lobby selling snacks and beach toys. Coffee and chilled water is available and free throughout the day from the lobby. The are a couple of ice machines by the lifts on 2 of the floors.

The staff: exceptional. As a business traveller, I stay in different hotels around the world every week. I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world. However, I cannot recollect a hotel in which the staff have been so superb and so focused on customer care. I would find it very difficult to single out one member of staff as they were all so attentive. We did have a small problem on the first night with noisy neighbours. This was resolved impressively quickly and with no fuss.

There are some negatives but overall if you stay at this hotel you will have exceptional customer care in a nice clean comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_McCracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Rob_McCracken,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit with us! We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit. We have since contacted Coca Cola to come in and test the quality of our soda gun at the bar to ensure the taste is up to standards. I have also shared your positive feedback with my front office team and we are happy we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Please come and visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel, and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were large enough to fit a roll-away bed, and have plenty of room to move around. We also enjoyed the microwave, fridge, and sink to prep snacks and quick breakfasts before journeying out for the day. Rooms were very quiet, and bedding was extra comfy. The harbor and beach are a short walk, but it is down a dirt path. This was not an issue for anyone in my party, and we enjoyed being slightly "away" from the restaurants and businesses. All staff members that I encountered were professional, courteous, and friendly. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Largenoggin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Largenoggin69,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. Our goal is to be a GREAT hotel guests LOVE and we are happy to hear that we hit the mark. We hope that your travel bring you back to our area and we have the chance to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My kids and I stayed for 3 nights and had a great stay. Every member of the staff that we encountered was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very large and roomy and the bedding was comfy. The hotel is located near the harbor and beach and was an easy walk for us but if you have mobility issues it may be a problem as the trail leads down a slightly steep hill, and requires a two block walk to the beach. All in all it was a good value for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear sisholm,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a chance to spend time at the Oceanside harbor! We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit. Please come and visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn and have been positively surprised. The rooms are average, I would say, but very clean. The bathroom could have been bigger.
The staff at checkin was very friendly and helpful and they would even allow us to have a late check-out at 2pm which we really appreciated.
The location is in short walking distance to the beach and harbor and they have free parking, a lot of the parking space even being sheltered, which was very nice during the hot summer time!
The only bad thing to mention was the very bad internet connection, kinda felt like old analog modem times, which means stable, but really, really slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micha-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I read all the reviews before booking the hotel and had high expectations. Unfortunately it wasn't what we would normally stay in but couldn't cancel as it was prepaid. Proximity to the beach is great but Oceanside is a small village so we ended up driving into Carlsbad every day. The walk to the beach is down a trail, through a parking lot, through the wharf and marina - just a bit longer than we preferred so we ended up driving to a beach a bit further away. The beach is amazing though!
Good points: friendly service, free coffee, tea and water at lobby daily, happy hour, kids eat free in the restaurant, free internet, free parking. Rooms are fairly large with fridge, microwave, cabinets, closet, sofa, desk. Great water pressure in the shower. Close to marina and wharf and near a fabulous beach.
Bad points (my own opinion!): rooms are dingy and old. Dark wood doors and poor lighting. Bathroom has shower and toilet only and is dark with no mirror or sink. Sink is in main area and acts as kitchen and bathroom sink so there is no privacy getting ready (shaving, putting on makeup, etc). Our room faced the parking lot and has only sheer curtains that do not block bright lights from condo building behind. There were lots of kids in the hotel when we were there. Pool in back parking lot was small and crowded so we did not use it.
I am sure that this hotel offers excellent value being so close to the beach but it was not at a standard that we expect and therefore would not stay here again. It reminded me of Hawaii - you have to pay a lot to get something nice in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbpalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear cbpalla,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service you have received during your stay and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. On the other hand, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is no doubt one of the most awesome places we have ever stayed. The rooms are spacious, immaculate, quiet and well equipped with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and safe.

They have a small onsite restaurant which serves breakfast and dinner up until 10PM. It is a very personalized service because of it's size and the dinner meals are somewhat on the home cooked side. Don't be surprised if the Chef personally brings your food to the table. The breakfast is buffet style with hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and potatoes. In addition, you can make your own waffles. The remainder is breads, muffins, fruits, cereals, juices, milk, yogurt, etc.,etc.. The breakfast is somewhat pricy, but not to fear! If you have kids, no matter how many, "Kids Eat Free", breakfast and dinner as long as an adult meal is purchased.

The staff on ALL LEVELS are extremely friendly, careing, helpful and totally dedicated to making your stay as perfect as they can. I can not say enough about the staff. They all were awesome!

The location is ideal. close to I-5, restaurants and gas stations. The beach is well within walking distance but I wouldn't recommend walking for the elderly, people with physical limitations such as bad knees, back etc. The pathway is uneven dirt, traversing a moderate hillside slope.

We would stay here again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Request room with Marina view on level 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Timeseeker,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. Our goal is to be a GREAT hotel guests LOVE and we are happy to hear that we hit the mark. Our team here is like a family so the chefs love to come out once in a while to meet the guests who they are cooking for! I have shared your amazing feedback with the front office team and we are all happy we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable!
We hope that your travel bring you back to our area and we have the chance to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#14 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing