We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic "retro" motel that could use tons of refreshing. Just not for me! (Rodeway Inn)”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basic "retro" motel that could use tons of refreshing. Just not for me! (Rodeway Inn)”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This is now the Rodeway Inn. Slept there 2 nights and pretty much a minute after setting foot in my room I just wanted to yell "Yes, but I am NOT a prostitute... why oh why?!". As one reviewer put it, it is one of those establishments that few would confuse with the Ritz. I didn't expect Ritz or even Holiday Inn quality and was still sourly disappointed. Room looked very damp and dark (dark carpets, dark green metal entrance doors) with cheap Dollar store quality sheets, old lamps and one of the oldest telephones I've ever seen. I'm pretty sure the microwave and phone could be sold as antiques. A vague smel of cigarette and urine.
I stayed in a few hotels in my life, I'm not usually very difficuly but this is definitely the worst place I slept at. Not that it had any one terrible thing about it; overall it just looked run down, old, dirty and disgusting; a place you could spend an hour in if you had to, but a whole night, ouch! So much so that I was really ashamed to have a friend over in my room for fear of them questioning my moral reputation.
I had room 109 which is the leftmost unit of the rooms that overlooks the bikepath. It is extremely close to the highway, bridge and train tracks which make sleeping at night very difficult. Windows definitely let in all the traffic noise. Waking up in the morning, I felt disgusting (damp, dark room) almost as if I was waking up from a bad hungover.
Room has a balcony which is fenced but shared with other guests (no privacy). The views of the ocean (sunsets) are wonderful.
Breakfast is a joke so please don't factor this in in your choice: orange juice, coffee, a few small muffins, commercial cereal. That's IT! I didn't even bother going there the second day for I would probably spend more energy walking to the meal area than I would get from their junk food. I chose this place over the Motel 6 (which had good reviews) just for their breakfast. Big mistake... orange juice and muffins, seriously?
Overall, a very poor value. Paid the same nightly rate for this dump as my downtown San Diego hotel (long stay rate)... yes, same rate for Oceanside motel as San Diego downtown hotel!
Room service was done by Mexican ladies who could not speak English. On my last days, hours before my check out time, maid knocked on my door and started to ask something in Spanish. 5 minutes into her jebrish I realized she wanted me to give her my used towels, so I did.

PROS: Nice sunset views, reliable complimentary high speed internet, relatively close to the beach and downtown Oceanside.

CONS: Sleazy, run down and noisy room, need some serious refreshing and upgrading, no breakfast. This is really a motel you should never pay more than 30$ for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAW-YMX-YUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    25
    18
    20
See reviews for
27
23
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The best part of this hotel was the location, and even that is not worth the stay. I thought it was a great deal but jeez I was wrong. I recommend ANY other motel in the area, and there are plenty of them. I pre paid for 2 nights, and when I got there the room was seriously disgusting. It smelled like urine. There were sketchy people walking around the building. I tried to get my money back but they wouldn’t give it back. I thought the staff was rude, and I was being as polite as possible about how disappointed I was in the room. They were unwilling to make any adjustments, I asked them to give me another room and they refused. I didn’t even stay there; I went to another place down the road paid extra for another room. I should have called my credit card company and complained but regardless, too much time has passed now but I will never forget how terrible the service and the room was. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oceanside hotels

Oceanside, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Upon our check-in the staff was very accommodating. While this is an older hotel, our room was clean and spacious as well as reasonably priced. They offered a complimentary breakfast, however it was sparse offering little more than cereal and juice. This is a decent place to stay but be aware it is a no frills motel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I was looking for an inexpensive motel in Oceanside, and found that many of the budget motels were charging about $100 in August 2010. I was able to secure a much, much lower rate for Guesthouse Inn & Suites. It is one of those establishments that few would confuse with the Ritz, but it was acceptable for three nights. This motel is somewhat down at the heels; the bathroom definitely was in dire need of a remodel as the wallpaper was starting to peel off and the tub needed refinishing. There is a restaurant on site and a small pool but no hot tub. It is located in an area of cheap motels though some of the others are overpriced. There is a Carrow's across the street. I was surprised there was no free internet computer in the lobby, however, and the free breakfast was extremely basic.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pequannock, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I live in New Jersey and needed a place to stay last minute to see my fiance who's stationed at Pendleton. The only good thing about this hotel was its location and that is IT! I am not the high maintenance type but this place was wretched. I did not see bugs or anything like that but there was mold in the shower and on the ceiling of the bathroom. There was also hair in the shower from the person before. The closet door was broken off, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall, and it just reeked off mold. I hated it there. Thankfully I only had to endure that place for 2 nights. Don't waste your money. It's gross.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinewife1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa maria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel for a bowling tournament. First night our room had a giant cockroach crawling on the wall. Husband tried to kill it twice but unable to catch the bug. Called front office and got our room switch at 10 at night. Hotel management, after some negotiating, gave us the room for free that night. All and all would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonzomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

At first the hallway is kinda gross. The wallpaper is stained, it's dark, it smells damp, kinda dumpy. We stayed in rm 136, which had the great advantage of access via the pool area versus walking thru the hallway. Also the view of the ocean and harbor is pretty cool. When we would leave the rm in the morning we would make sure to leave the curtains open and the room would be nice and warm when we returned and we would be greeted by the sun setting at the ocean's horizon. Very nice. The room is also very big and the windows create almost a wall of glass. The not so nice aspects are that the details are ignored. The blankets have seen better days, the apholstery on chairs is dusty as is the carpet, the bathroom shower tile is cracked as is the wallpaper covered plaster in the bathroom, the ceiling in bathroom at shower is water damaged, the tub has nonslip stickers that have turned brown with use, the curtains in room are really dirty. But the really good includes the size of room, the view, the shower head is awesome (lots of water pressure with adjustable spray, its a Niagra Massage shower head, I'm getting one!), towels are clean and you get alot of them, NO bedbugs, NO roaches, free coffee and some breakfast goodies in the morning, great location (ideal location if travel plans include visits to L.A. and San Diego). Overall I would definitely stay again and wear my flip flops while I shower.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#12 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
1.6 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1103 N Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-2138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn Oceanside Ca
Rodeway Inn Oceanside, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing