We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Coast Village, Condo F 312”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Coast Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was our first trip to Oceanside which we took with friends. It was in all respects delightful. North Coast Village is an attractive, well maintained, and beautiful complex. We enjoyed just walking around the grounds which are extensive. The unit we stayed in was clean, tastefully decorated, and filled with extras. Beach balls, ping pong paddles and balls, water boards for surfing, were some of the extras. Towels and other linens were plentiful. We enjoyed just relaxing on the balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The upstairs bedroom has a wonderful wrap-around balcony giving us a view which includes the ocean where we could watch the sun go down.
We saw an earlier review of this unit done in 2010 which was less complimentary. I think the owners must have renovated since then because the furnishing were clean and new looking, the beds very comfortable, and the kitchen was well stocked. All in all, this was a delightful experience, one which we would enjoy repeating.
Problems: the elevator from the parking garage gave us a problem when we arrived, but was fine thereafter. The unit F 312 had a problem with the door separating the living area from the bedroom area in that the door knob does not pull the latch in sufficiently leaving one "locked in" if that door is closed. A few of the vertical blind panels need fixing. These were the only problems that we saw, but they were minor and caused us no inconvenience.

Room Tip: Check most recent reviews, because bad reviews will undoubtedly cause immediate correction of stated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have stayed at NCV 7 times since 2003 in units owned by 4 different owners.

D-29 rented by On-the-sand.com was by far the best experience. The manager Scott Warr was very kind. The furnishings and decor are a little dated, but the view is spectactular, the sheets, dishes, cutlery etc were all very nice. Scott was professional, timely and very helpful. In all a delightful experience which we hope to repeat again.

On another occasion, we had another good experience in C-102 (I believe) for a weekend.

The units by Steven Caudill are exquisitely furnished, and worth the extra $, although the one we stayed in was not ocean-front which we prefer.

The guards (mostly veterans) are wonderful people, and are generally very polite about enforcing the numerous rules. While some people complain about the rules, it is a tight community, and our experience is the rules did help everyone to share the common facilities better.

The community itself is heaven, with a mixture of quiet Servicemen's families, and the California hot rod/surf culture. The beach is clean and the pier is wonderful. It truly is my second home.

Unfortunately, one has to be careful about other owners: we stayed at B-324 in a prior year and found it unsatisfactory. While the unit was decently-furnished, the location was noisy (trains) and the owner obnoxious. She insisted on charging us a second cleaning fee in between weeks, in addition to the move-out cleaning fee. When we left, she sent us a nasty email complaining about the premises being dirty (we paid two cleaning fees to her for this....). She also refused to return our damage deposit, threatened us with litigation for alleged damages (there weren't any) and accused us of having left menstrual blood in the bed in the downstairs room; quite a feat since only a little boy had slept there.

It was a un-classy experience: The condo was filled with religious videos and books (we are not Christian); she dropped by unannounced to share her life story; she peppered us with folksy emails telling all about herself; she implied we would incur some wrath of god or something for having left plastic bags under the sink.. As well, patriotism is fine, but during her email rant to us, the owner disparaged our country of origin.

Overall, it was like dealing with a used car salesman, as every communication was about money ("I'll charge you this", "I can rent you that", "You can buy that"). We recommend avoiding her units like the plague.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We checked into our UNIT G104 at North Coat Village. It was set up by our Vacation Network. I had read some of the prevoius reviews on Trip Advisor and was a little hesitent but thought we'd' give it a try. My misgivings were very true. Tho the actual grounds and amenities at North Coast Village, were VERY nice - it is a lush tropical setting, with a maize of walkiing paths that take you from one area to another. There is very little signage telling you which direction is where, so it is VERY confusing when you are first coming in - once you can actually FIND the check in area. They do have secured gated underground parking for each of the MANY buildings but no signage again, to tell you where the elevator up to the units is and very few signs to tell you what units are where..... VERY CONFUSING !! These are INDIVIDUALLY OWNED units and each unit's upkeep is up to the owner, as to what they do or DON'T do. In the case of G104, it is DIRE NEED of a major overhaul. Vertical blinds (ICK!) were all broken, letting the 6am sun come blasting into the bedroom. Screen door at the slider was off the track and inoperable. Pots and pans FILTHY and just heaped into the cabinets, as were the worn out linens. Bed pillows were flat and lumpy. And old used bottles of toiletries left in the bathroom and vanities. Also old, used spices and seasonings in the kitchen - who knows HOW LONG they had been there!!!When we go on vacation, we might use the little sample bottles of bath products but pretty much bring our own. We expect to find a CLEAN minimal amount of pots, pans, small kitchen appliances, dishes and silverware and stemware. We DON'T expect to have to paw thru old, used containers of cleaning supplies and open boxes of old toilerties, to just find the iron, crammed under a vanity. Closet doors were all chipped and the tracks were dirty and rusted and everything inside was just heaped in there. The cleaning staff(whom we'd spoke to) was doing the best they could to try and keep this worn out place neat and clean but it needs to be PURGED of about 80% of the [--] in it and DE CLUTTERED and ORGANIZED. With a minimal amount of $$ and refurbishing, it could be a very nice unit...but DEFINATELY not worth even 1/4 of the weeks rental fee, as it is now!!! It might be okay for a FRAT PARTY but not what we would be looking for, in a rental for a vacation getaway!! Stay away from UNIT G104!!!!!!!!!!! On the good side - we got a FULL REFUND from our Vacation network,as we checked out as early as we could after the Labor Day weekend and were able to appy the refund to stay at another resort in Carlsbad, we had used before. So the vacation was salvaged!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank patriciab48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our first stay at NCV was great. Very nice condo owners. The condo had all we needed for a wonderful beach vacation. The condo was very clean and the grounds at NCV exceptional. We hope to be able to vacation there again in the future. I would be glad to recomend A-210 condo to anyone needing a one bedroom cottage.

Room Tip: A-210 was a nice condo with helpful owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank graymace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I spent the first week of July 2012 at North Coast Village in unit D300. This is a top floor end unit with a view of the beach and pier. It has been recently re-done and has many luxurious features and is very pretty. There is no air so you need to open and close windows properly to get some cooling and not too much street noise. There is a nearby train line and some of the trains give a quick blast of the horn, which can be startling. They don't run too late at night though. Rented through makemyvacation.com, which gave us a good price and I have no complaints about them. Advertised for 2-4 but I wouldn't want more than 2 in there.
People have mentioned that there are too many rules. In my opinion, you are staying in someone else's house so you follow their rules. Nothing was unreasonable.
Weather was surprisingly cool at the beach, 74 the highest all week. We also went 5 days without even seeing the sun so check out other times of year. AM clouds and PM sun did not pan out. Ocean temperature was 66° so forget it, although some did go in.
I would go back to this unit but I would research the weather a bit more next time.

Room Tip: End unit should be quieter. Third floor is top floor but penthouses will have a fourth floor that m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I've stayed at NCV for 7 years. This is my first bad experience using a realtor I'd not used before. Noone had cleaned from previous guests. Tim at Winchester wouldn't respond to my calls. Told him I'd clean my own room if he refunded my $100.00 cleaning deposit. He came himself to clean but not until 8pm. So first day wasted and didn't offer compensation. No Internet service. Took 2 days of calling to get this fixed. No frying pan, paper towels, dish or hand soap, coffee pot moldy coffee grounds, sgd screen propped up on door, again 2 days to get fixed after I went to insure homeowners prop mgr. Today electricity was turned off as they didn't pay bill so all day can't open fridge, heat up bottle for baby. Have to sit in room all day to wait for it to get turned back on. Jerk won't return calls. Tell everyone you know not to ever use Winchester real estate. I'll come back to north coast village but going thru my old realtor.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Dkd1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a great family vacation spot. Every year we come back to North Coast Village for our annual summer family vacation and we've been doing it for 10 years. The complex is on the beach between the Oceanside Pier to the south and the Oceanside Harbor, all within close walking distance. The complex is well maintained and very secure with gated entry and guards walking the grounds 24/7. There is a heated pool and spa, workout room (which needs updating), and direct access to the beach. You can walk to the train station and travel to San Diego without having to drive in the heavy traffic. We've seen the city of Oceanside continue to improve over the past 10 years.

Room Tip: The only units I'd avoid are those that face east because they are closer to the train tracks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oceanside
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.8 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1.6 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#8 of 27 in Oceanside
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#13 of 27 in Oceanside
480 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Village

Address: 999 N Pacific Street, Oceanside, CA 92054-2005
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Oceanside
Price Range: £127 - £873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Coast Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation rental condominiums located at North Coast Village in Oceanside, California. Choose from 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos in a 24 hour secured, exclusive beachfront complex with direct access to wide, white, sandy beaches. Enjoy fully furnished beach condo rentals with reserved parking, 2 pools/Jacuzzis, conveniently located between San Diego and Newport Beach, close to Legoland, San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Sea World, Disneyland and Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your North Coast Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Coast Village Hotel Oceanside
North Coast Village Oceanside, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing