We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, neat and tidy - a very cute place.”
Review of Blue Whale Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oceanside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Whale Resort
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, neat and tidy - a very cute place.”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I looked and looked for a reasonably price place right on the beach. I didn't want four star luxury, I just wanted a clean quiet comfortable place on the beach. The Blue Whale was great. Marcia was gracious on the phone and in person. Our studio with a Murphy bed was plenty spacious for the two of us. The kitchenette was perfect for our limited meal prep. The free movies were a bonus that we appreciated. The only thing I could suggest would be an upgraded mattress on the Murphy bed. It was a little firmer than I'd prefer. But, overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LeftCoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We spent a weekend here with family. This is a little jewel. They take really great care of this place. Everything is spotless clean. Good size rooms with everything you need. Beach is just across a small one way street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AllHallowsEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I searched online for a long time to find just the right little spot to take a three-night trip with my high school senior. I knew we wouldn't spend much time in the room because we would be visiting area colleges, so the amenities weren't as important to me.

That said, it was pleasant to find that they had a lending library of movies and books had we planned to stay in at all. The accomodations were comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed having the full kitchen and took advantage of it by buying breakfast things to eat in. We walked to the pier for dinner one night (yummy), and it was a real treat to have the ocean just steps away from our room.

I would definitely come back here with our whole family and know we would enjoy ourselves in this low-key, pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoanDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I would love to go back and stay a week at this place. Adjacent to the beach - beautiful rooms - perfect parking - couldn't ask for anything more!

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank spambooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

I found this condo in our timeshares. We took our 2 girls and 18 month old grandson. The 2 bedroom condo was HUGE. We had plenty of room for all of us it was newly remodled, clean and the location was the best. We could see the dolfins and surfers from our balcony or the windows that lined the front. We also saw a 1 bedroom and it was nice too. The only thing that would have been nice was to have a pool. They don't have room for it, but that would be the only thing I would have changed, because the water is so cold there. We all wanted to stay forever it was so nice, there needs to be more pics online.

  • Liked — Huge and great location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank cindikevin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Resort

Property: Blue Whale Resort
Address: 904 N the Strand, Oceanside, CA 92054-1932
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Oceanside
Blue Whale Resort Oceanside, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing