We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BREAKFAST”
Review of Bessie's 1929 Cafe - CLOSED

Bessie's 1929 Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I read about this restaurant in one of the local papers at the rental I stayed over the 4th of July Weekend; I was staying in Valley Center and we traveled to Oceanside to try this place and we were not disappointed; we were 3 in our group and we all tried something different and they were all excellent choices and service is top of the line; your coffee mug is always full and they are always checking on you and asking if there is anything else that you need. We'll be returning once in the area!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My friend and I ate lunch here yesterday. We had heard and read about the breakfast that is served until 3 P.M. They came out with a couple of slices of warm cinnamon bread with butter. It was very good. I had the corned beef and egg breakfast. The corned beef was very good and obviously home made. I did not care for the "biscuits" which are really just slices of bread that are battered and baked. The gravy that came with it was good, but I didn't eat it. The food is very rich and plentiful. The decor is interesting with the black and white silent film running on the wall and the old photos of the early 20th century.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauralovesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Huge portions, comfort food done right”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had Sunday brunch here with a group of friends and like always the food was great. I had a chicken fried steak and eggs with incredible gravy with sausages chopped in. Another of the group had the blueberry pancakes that were loaded with blueberries. Used to frequent this place when I used to ride Amtrak regularly and it was owned by an older Latino couple, but the new owners have even stepped up the pace even more. They still serve menudo and Mexican food, too.
The decor is pretty cool with antiques and they even show silent movies on one of the back walls:, this Sunday it was a Buster Keaton two reeler. I think they close up at 2PM though, so you need to get here early on Sunday.
If you like a "stick to your ribs" breakfast with no pretense and great taste this is a good start.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank houstontosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oh bacon”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We wanted to eat breakfast at a place within walking distance from our hotel and found this one. Very cute, fairly small place. We were served complimentary lemon poppyseed pound cake with a side of butter. I could have just eaten this and left happy. But I did order eggs, hash browns , and maple thyme bacon. The eggs were good, hash browns ok, And the bacon. Oh my. This bacon lover was in heaven. My husband got the French toast - very pretty plate presentation with fruit, and he said it was very good. I recommend Bessie's for breakfast!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maverick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“transported in time”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

delightfully decorated, Owner's pride. Good service, excellent food and the best carrot bread ever.
Not a big place so service is personal

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eroth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing