We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of the South” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of That Boy Good

That Boy Good
Ranked #8 of 385 Restaurants in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to That Boy Good a Southern BBQ Joint in the heart of downtown Oceanside! We pride ourselves on fresh food made daily from scratch. No MSG's or can products in our kitchen! Chicken and Waffles and Fried Delta Catfish are some of our specialty items, but our BBQ is the best you will find West of the Mississippi! Come in and check us out and see why the locals crave our BBQ! Hope to see ya soon!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Piece of the South”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was craving some souther grub and came to the perfect place. I ordered the briscuit and my husband ordered the chicken and waffles. Root beer float was perfect to wash down the yumminess. The greens IMO were comparable to those traditionally made in the south. The mac n cheese was just okay for me. I did enjoy the big macaronni though. Will be back to fulfill my cravings.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paigeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    75
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Puts the South into Southern California”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Authentic southern fare with a distinct Louisiana tint is the strength of this restaurant. The food is very good and the service was excellent. If you are a Saints fan and a re willing to show up in team colors, all kinds of specials are available. Check out the website to know what to wear or bring to qualify.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Techkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We found this place after a bartender at another place in Oceanside recommended it. It was great! Great BBQ and very generous portion sizes. We sat at the bar and enjoyed visiting with the bartender who made us feel very welcome. We were fortunate to meet the owners - who also both work at their restaurant - we wish them well and when in the area we will definitely return for some more BBQ!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jblackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver. CO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We just stopped by because the cornmeal catfish sounded good & it was good! The sides were tasty too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karlruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
441 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Louisiana BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

First off, the decor and set up of this restaurant is awesome. Everything is wood and has a real authentic BBQ feel. You can sit at one of the many tables or at the cool long wooden bar. The service was great, they were fast and helpful. TBG has a pretty good beer list, including some beers from Louisiana breweries which is perfect considering this is a Louisiana BBQ place. I had the fried chicken and loved it, it was boneless and had amazing spices in the batter. My sides were mac and cheese and bean, both were really good. My favorite was the beans, very flavorful with big chunks of garlic in it. Not super impressed with the cornbread. My husband really liked the ribs and pulled pork he ordered as well. The prices are really good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Boy Good also viewed

 

Been to That Boy Good? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing