We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
US$155
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Oceanside Inn(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$134
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
US$106
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
281
177
54
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
177
54
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolan ocean view roomvalet stafffish housevalet parking isper dayempty lottrain noisetop gunsliding doorwafflesocean frontsmall balconyfree breakfastloved this hotellounge areapool towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel definitely has a very "modern" feel to it. Valet parking only ($24/night) so you are greeted right away by friendly, eager staff. Once inside, the lobby is quite large with plenty of seating. There is also a game area with foosball table.

Beds are very comfortable and the free wi-fi worked great.

Stayed in a "Studio, 2 Queen, Sofabed, City View" room. Avoid this if you are a light sleeper as it is right on the tracks with Amtrak blaring its horn as it passes by. As noted by the previous review, this tends to stop later only to begin again in the middle of the night. This did not bother me as I am a heavy sleeper, but did bother others.

The pool and fitness center are on the roof with amazing views of the ocean and coast. They claim that the pool is temperature regulated but seemed a lot cooler. The hot tub is nice. The second floor has an open terrace with a lot of seats for lounging and a great view.

Location is great. Literally across the street from the beach and pier. It is also located within walking distance of the downtown area and access to a lot of restaurants. The atmosphere is quite lively.

The breakfast buffet is adequate and offers a variety of items. The seating area is large so even though it was busy, there is plenty of room. I was not a fan of the eggs as they seemed to be made from a bottle and not fresh.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the east side (side facing the tracks) if you are a light sleeper or are bothered by trains.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmak79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHS_Oceanside_GM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your feedback.

I am glad that you had a chance to experience our amazing roof top swimming pool! The 180 degree views of the coastline are truly awesome. Our engineering team keeps the pool heated to 82 degrees but I will have them double check to make sure the heater is functioning properly.

Thanks again for staying with us! We appreciate your business and hope to see you back in O'side soon!

Kathleen Maola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

DO NOT STAY IN A ROOM THAT FACES THE TRAIN TRACKS
Trains run by until at least 10pm (that's 1am for me trying to stay on east coast time while traveling here).

So finally the trains stopped around 10...only to start agin at 3:30AM and keep coming every 30 minutes.

It's not the trains so much as it is the blasting of their horns that make this outrageously bothersome. The hotel sits at a crosswalk intersection.

Adding insult to injury, when checking in we heard a train passing...we were assured that these trains do not run all night long, and it's just a commuter train that will stop soon (not) and not start until morning rush hour.

Other than the miserable night of sleep, the hotel is lovely.

In all seriousness, the hotel is brand new (I think it was the soft opening last night). So I can forgive the room that was not prepared for my associate - he had to switch rooms as the original room was completely unmade. I can also forgive that my TV was not programmed (tech had to come up and program the tv to work with the hotel service - that was swift and easy).

The location is great - very pretty area lots of restaurant choices - the beach is in view and a very short walk (literally across the street).

So unless they replace the windows with soundproof glass (ask your NYC hotel owners how they do it) you need to be sure that you DO NOT get a room facing the tracks!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank kengbmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHS_Oceanside_GM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and the feedback. I apologize for the mix-up with your associate’s room and also the TV. I appreciate your understanding regarding these issues as we opened our doors to our first guests on 2/11/14. I also apologize that our front desk miscommunicated with you regarding the hours of the train. You are correct – the train does indeed run throughout the late evening and in the early morning hours. I’ve ensured our entire team is aware of this so that we don’t misinform another guest.

As you mentioned, we have a fabulous location in downtown Oceanside, just a block from the beach and within walking distance to tons of restaurants and shopping. We are also within walking distance to the Oceanside Transit Center offering our guests great transportation options including the train.

For our future guests who are light sleepers, we recommend booking an Ocean View category room as these rooms experience the least amount of noise from the train. We currently have white noise/sound conditioners available upon request. Guest feedback so far is that these devices do a great job in helping our light sleepers get a good night sleep. Based on this feedback, we plan to roll these out to all of our City View and Partial Ocean View rooms. We hope to have the units in house within the next month or so.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again the next time travels bring you to the Oceanside area.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne prenez surtout pas une chambre située à l'arrière de l'hôtel, vous aurez à supporter le bruit des trains et leurs sirènes
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stormi P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2FはテラスがPartyテラスと続いているので、カーテンを開けると外から除かれる。Privacy確保のためには上階が良い。
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Find et andet hotel
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stormi P, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews