We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fabulous Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

It's amazing how much Oceanside has grown and changed in the past years. It has always been one of my favorite vacation spots--mostly I love the beaches. I was very happy to get a reservation at this Marriott- which is brand new. What a find! The Marriott is just lovely, sleek and modern, very clean. What impressed me the most, however, was the staff. At the front desk there was an employee named Ellie. She was so accommodating and pleasant and greeted us whenever we walked by. Ellie was always smiling, always engaging and so upbeat. She made you feel very special and treated you as if you were the most important guest in the hotel. We noticed that she was this way with everyone checking in or out! What a lady and Marriott is lucky to have her. We also noticed how great the rest of the staff was, from the valets--who were quick to grab your car and quick to greet you when you returned from an outing--to the ladies who stocked and ran the buffet breakfast in the am. Every employee I ever passed either in the elevator or in the hall was sure to say hello, hows your day going! You could tell they liked where they worked and they were proud of it. We had a room on floor 2 looking out over the ocean. I think some would either love or hate this floor--we loved it. Our balcony stepped out onto a large rooftop terrace with fireplaces and nice furniture --you could sit out there and watch the sun set or rise...have coffee or meet with friends. The pool on the top floor was great, lots of chairs to lounge and shade if you wanted it. IT over looks the ocean--so you could lay by the pool and hear the waves! And because it is a Marriott you are assured clean and nice linens and pillows. My only negative was the sofa bed! Unusable unless you are a small child sleeping on it. But I can't wait to book my next trip there! Thanks Marriott in Oceanside--thanks for a perfect visit!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an ocean view! If you have 3 or more, get a room with 2 queens, don't cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltafltatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We are truly pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments about Ellie and the rest of our fabulous team. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to them. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travel plans bring you to Oceanside!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    163
    46
    33
    16
See reviews for
209
128
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here. Staff was super nice. Especially Shayla. Rooms were very clean. They brought us extra pillows and towels without us asking. Kids loved that they could see the train go by. Valet service was great. Everyone willing to help. Front desk check out guy was a disappointment. Called for bell guy assistance. They didn't come. Called again. Still didn't come. Turns out he never informed them. disappointing, but everyone else made up for him.loved that everyone called us by our names. Will stay her next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramirez587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your past experience with us. We do apologize for any delay in our bell service and are working to streamline our process to ensure a quicker service for our guest. We are however pleased to hear that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that our warm and friendly staffs made up for that experience. We truly hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has only been open for 2 months, I just found out. The service was over the top... everyone from the front desk (our favorite was Mr. Michael Le) to the guy who came to shut down the pool area was so helpful and professional. You can walk to the beach and the pier. They have a playground on the beach, and you can rent a rod to go fishing off the pier or surfing if that is your thing. The hotel has a game room with Foose ball and board games, firepit, a nice sitting area with firepit.... plus heated pool and hot tub with gorgeous oceanview!! Rooms had balconies and view was beautiful. If you go you must check out Hello Betty's restaurant right next door. We will not stay anywhere else if we are in the San Diego area for sure.. we HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lafula1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are excited that you and your family were able to take advantage of our close proximity to everything that Oceanside has to offer! Thank you also for the kind comments regarding our valued team member Michael! He was very excited to read your review as well. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again the next time your travel plans have you in Oceanside.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Firstly i just have to say, ALL of the staff i spoke to were amazing, very helpful, friendly and attentive. The Marriot must be doing something right with staff training. I've travelled all over the world and this is by far the best customer service ive received. The rooms were fresh looking and spacious. Everything in the hotel was modern and very up to date. There may be one down side for some people.....the noise of the trains...possibly every 15 mins. Didn't bother me one bit though as i like trains! Fantastic stay and i will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaJ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our rooms suited your needs. We do apologize for any noise that you experienced from the train, and we have just outfitted all of rooms that would experience noise with white noise machines to assist with keeping the rooms quiet.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This new hotel is just up the street from the Oceanside Amtrak station, which made it a no-brainer since we arrived by train. It's brand new, with sort of a brand new car smell, and is so modern it almost seems out of place in this sleepy part of town. The neighborhood can be described as transitional--- definitely on the upswing, but tired and worn in parts. The city is rehabbing Mission Drive and has started a Thursday Farmers Market and nighttime street fair. I suspect there will be more development locally, including on the several empty lots that surround the hotel. Since the hotel is two blocks from the beach, parking can be scarce during the day, especially on weekends. Hotel parking is all valet, and runs $24/night--- steep in this essentially suburban locale.

The hotel is close to the 5 freeway, and walking distance to the beach, Oceanside Pier, Regal Movie Theater, and the local business district. Food options are expanding, with many walkable options--- we tried the attached Hello Betty seafood restaurant (very good, and chargeable to the room), Rim Talay (a local Thai place, very good), and Ruby's on the pier (fun, as always).

The area can be a little gritty still, so hotel security is fairly tight. You need room keys to use the elevator and enter the pool and gym. The pool is on the 6th floor roof--- a smallish rectangular pool with a long hot tub alongside, sort of boring, but with a killer view.

The rooms are large, with an L-shaped sofa/sleeper and built-in desk. The bathrooms have only a shower. It's all very stylish and functional, even the large sliding door into the bathroom.

Breakfast is included with the room. Coffee is mediocre at best, but the food selection is good, though perhaps not up to "Embassy Suites" standards. The hot options are limited to sausages and scrambled eggs (from powder, no doubt).

I should mention that the entire "city-view" side of rooms is directly adjacent to the Amtrak/Santa Fe tracks. I had a 4th floor room, and was surprised to hear trains all night. Apparently the freight trains run hourly all night long, and while some folks may be able to sleep right through the rumbling, I could not. My wife and kids slept fine, though, and my sister in a room down the hall didn't have any issue. But for me, interrupted sleep is not an option, so I paid an extra $20 to move across the hall (literally) to a full ocean view room where the train noise was barely audible, if at all. So light sleepers beware; pay for the upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. I was excited to read that you took the train to our property! Riding the train is so much fun, a “green” way to travel, and also saves you money on gas and parking. A win-win! Glad you took advantage of that!! We truly hope to be able to serve you again in the future, thank you!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

It's a nice new hotel a block away from the beach, we had a balcony room on the 5th floor which was a complimentary upgrade. You can choose to hear the ocean waves anytime from your room. The look and feel of the hotel is very contemporary and modern. They offer free internet and breakfast. Parking is valet only and costs $24 a day with not many other sensible options. Drive into San Diego is about 40 min although we ended up hanging out in Oceanside for the nice walks, shopping, eateries, and the nice people.
Only negative point about the hotel would be that the shower leaked water into the restroom floor and after complaining about it twice it was not fixed and I wasn't offered another room.
Oh and Sambie at the front desk is a great and friendly associate

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdullah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceanside, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to take care of the shower door for you. I am glad to hear though that you enjoyed our location as well as the complimentary upgrade we were able to provide you as a platinum elite member! Thank you also for the wonderful comments about Sambie, he is a valued member of our team. We truly hope to be able to serve you again in the future, thank you!
Sincerely,

Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I haven't even left this property yet but I had to write a review! This property is BEAUTIFUL. The entire staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help out or give advice! I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone traveling to Oceanside!

Room Tip: You can't beat an ocean view room! Try to request one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSpringHillSuites, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing your review of your stay! We are so excited that you enjoyed everything we have to offer! We truly hope to see you again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Kathleen Maola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Address: 110 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054-2603
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing