We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort(Oceanside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachwood Motel(Oceanside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Oceanside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
281
177
53
38
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
177
53
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolan ocean view roomvalet stafffish housevalet parking isper dayempty lottrain noisetop gunsliding doorwafflesocean frontsmall balconyfree breakfastloved this hotellounge areapool towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for what started out to be a 2 night trip. Being our first visit to this hotel, we thought we would start small. However, we were so very pleasantly surprised that we stayed an extra night. Everything was wonderful. The location is perfect for a beach town experience as you can park the car and walk to everything. Beach, pier, food,shops, train. The service was welcoming from the very beginning. The valet and the front desk were helpful and warm. Chim at the front desk was especially helpful in guiding us to the right room choice. And we took his advise about staying longer.haha As stated before, you will have a parking fee, but that seems to be the norm for these types of properties. The hotel is beautifully new and kept very clean. Room was lovely with super comfortable king size bed. Also mini frig,microwave,and sitting area. So great! The rooftop pool is amazing. We would do the beach half the day(just a 5 minute walk across the street! yay) and then poolside in the afternoons when the beach became crowded, then nap to the sound of the ocean coming through the open slider in our room. Cool ocean breezes and air conditioning if the room got too warm. Did I mention a balcony with a full coastline view?.! Really, life doesn't get much better. Free breakfast and lots to pick from. Not 5 star gourmet but fresh and plentiful. A great deal for families to start the day with. There were many families here but it did not interfere with the couples getaway we were on. Seemed to be plenty of room for everyone. Ok so for those of you who love the beach and a beautiful place to stay, this is for you. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with ocean view as back of hotel is near train track. For light sleepers, may be a issue. Hotel does supply sound machines upon check in. Go early for breakfast as gets busier closer to 9am. If you stay over Thursday evening, there is a cool street fair with lots going on.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redshoes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night and was pleased with the location (a short walk to the beach and pier), rooms and hotel amenities. There is a pool on the 6th floor that overlooks the ocean. The hotel also provides a complimentary breakfast - we had a choice of eggs, sausage, oatmeal, waffles, etc. Valet parking is mandatory at the hotel, so expect an additional charge of $24 at check-out. Also, you will need to use your room key to access the elevators. Overall, a great Marriott property and would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I cannot say enough how wonderful Ellie, Michael, Just, Shane & Sean, Shayla and Alberto were during our stay. They were so cheerful and accomodating I felt like I was in Disney World. Highly recommend Springhill Suites, Marriott, Oceanside, CA for anyone!

Room Tip: Full Ocean View is the best, rooms on the corner (partial ocean view) are incredibly large
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed just one night but loved it. We were upgraded to a Oceanview room with a balcony. The views are nice and the location is a short walk to the beach and pier. We sat for a few hours at the pool which is cool in itself by being on the rooftop overlooking the ocean. They had lots of seating and shade. There is also a hot tub right next to the pool that we visited that evening. The regal movie theaters are also walking distance. The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful. The parking is a little expensive but usually is near the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is new and has a nice 2nd floor outside sitting area we enjoyed the fire pit in front while enjoying blizzards from near by Dairy Queen. I plan on staying here again next summer but will make it a two night stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. We loved that we could take the train and walk to the hotel from the station...very convenient. The hotel is really nice, very modern, clean, and new. It is a short walking distance from the ocean / pier. The staff at the hotel were all very nice. There were a couple things that disappointed us....we had to wait approximately three hours after check-in time to get our room. We are not sure what happened to cause the delay. We stay at a lot of hotels and have never not got a room after guaranteed check-in time. We were able to use the pool area during our waiting time, but with a pregnant wife and a toddler it was hard not having a room to settle in to. The staff was very apologetic about the situation. The free hot breakfast was ok, mediocre. The pastry items were good. The waffle station was the highlight of the breakfast for us. The eggs were not very good in our opinion. The bacon was always out of stock. It was in high demand. We knew going in that we were not expecting a gourmet breakfast, so it was ok for what it was. We had a room that had both an ocean view and a view of the train tracks. Our son loved that we were so close to the train tracks. The only issue was later in the evening when the trains would come through and honk their horn. It took us a little bit to fall asleep. Fortunately it didn't go too late into the evening and didn't start too early in the am. The room had a noise machine to help drown out some of the noise, so that was nice. Overall, our stay was just ok.

Room Tip: Rooms facing railroad tracks are noisy. Opt for ocean view if possible, unless you don't mind the occassional passing train.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicknlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHS_Oceanside_GM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! Please accept my sincere apologies regarding your long wait time during the check in process. I can certainly understand why that would have been so frustrating for you.

Thanks for the feedback regarding breakfast, I will be sure to share it with our breakfast team for continuous improvement.

I am glad that the sound conditioner helped with the train noise! We added these to all of our city view and partial ocean view rooms about 2 months ago and so far the feedback has been positive. I am glad that they are helping our guests to get a good nights sleep!

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again the next time travels bring you to our area.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews