We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good I don't want anyone else to know about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So good I don't want anyone else to know about it!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As a long time San Diego area resident I've visited many of the area hotels and found this one to be a great bargain. We stayed here on the spur of the moment last night with our five kids aged 15-21. My husband and I could not believe the great rate for a new hotel across the street from the beach that included a full breakfast. And then when we went upstairs to the rooftop pool we found the view nothing less than spectacular. I don't think their is a better coastal view in the whole county. Be cautioned though, the city view rooms face directly on the busy railroad tracks, however we all slept through the night without waking. If you are a light sleeper you might want to spring for the extra ocean view room charge. The room was nicely appointed. The staff was friendly. Many restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceansideDowntown, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for take the time to review our property! I’m thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us and found our staff to be friendly. It’s great that you were all able to enjoy our hot buffet breakfast and relax by our rooftop pool. Again, thank you for staying with us and please come back and visit us soon!

Kind regards,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    165
    46
    34
    16
See reviews for
212
128
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

First off, this hotel is not in San Diego and in fact is 50 minutes away from downtown San Diego. It's closer to Orange County and places like San Clemente and Capistrano. It is convenient for Legoland and only one block away from a very nice beach. Traffic is a little congested to get to the hotel from the freeway due to construction and a lot of beach tourists who come to this very nice ocean side city.
The rooms are very nice especially as the hotel is new. We had two rooms which we upgraded to ocean view to keep away from the train tracks which run right behind the hotel. They say they have white noise running to keep noise levels down but we didn't want to take a chance with the two toddlers age 3 and 6. Rooms had two queen beds each plus a sofa bed which is nice. Balcony was a plus too for the ocean view rooms. 2nd floor rooms had some with balcony opening to a terrace area but we decided not to get these as people then can walk into your balcony area. Housekeeping was a little flakey with towels not being re-supplied properly requiring phone calls to get hand towels or enough wash cloths.
Breakfast was included which was nice. The servers did a good job keeping up as there was a big crush of eaters everyday around 8:30. Items were standard Marriott quick hot breakfast. There was a very tasty restaurant (Hello Betty Fish House) which you could room charge your meal next door. Lots of other places close by. Amtrak is also very convenient and within walking distance of three blocks.
Valet parking at $24 per night was only offered. Most city lots and street parking did not allow overnight but are close by if you get tired of popping your car in and out with the valet.
Elevators are a little slow but big so holds more but normally requires a wait for a car. Lobby is nice and the pool on the roof though small has a very scenic view looking at the beach and pier. Exercise room is nice and looks into the pool.
All in all, hotel was a very nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSOceansideDowntown, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our ocean view rooms and am glad to hear that we were able to meet your needs and make your family comfortable. I am glad you and your family were able to visit out scenic rooftop pool during your visit and that you found breakfast to be nice even when it was busy. Again, thank you for staying with us and please come back and visit us soon!

Kind Regards,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We were down here for a family funeral and it was this hotel that made it a bit easier. The view was wonderful and listening to the ocean really relaxed us after a very difficult day. The staff was great and breakfast more than met our needs. I used the fitness room and it had a great view.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank s0479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHS_Oceanside_GM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the itme to review our property! I am sorry that you visited us under difficult circumstances but am glad to hear that we were able to meet your needs and make your family comfortable. Thank you for staying with us and please come back and visit us soon!

Kind regards,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secret usa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

walk in hotel room I feel in love with color decor took a shower as I was drying off I went to brush teeth I opened cabinet and found a dirty padI called front desk asked for manager waited 3_4min then MIKE said "oh no ill have some one right up to clean it smh my husband went down because we waited over 10 min and no one came im still waiting as I write this. $200 plus a night hotel should be better then this

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKaliKay31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHS_Oceanside_GM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Krystle,

Even though we have already met and resolved this for you, I just wanted to apologize again for the poor experience. This has been shared with our housekeeping department and used for continuous improvement and training with our team. I am glad that we were able to get you taken care of and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay but for two issues. We loved the location; the beach is a block away and we walked it and swam in the ocean every day. Two excellent restaurants are an easy walk. The room was fresh and clean ((though we never got new amenities) and our ocean view room delivered wonderfully. The town is a bit sketchy (certainly nowhere near as picturesque or scenic as La Jolla or Carlsbad) but is nearby if you want to explore it.
Unfortunately though the pool area was lovely, the pool and whirlpool are far, far, far too small for the hotel. Twice we went to use the pool and twice we retreated, repelled by children and adolescents jumping and diving. And let's not forget the mother with an infant a month or two old in the whirlpool. (Note to owners: you need supervision for the pool or you will be sued when something goes horribly wrong).
Lastly, we would warn anyone unable or unwilling to use stairs that you will spend much of your stay waiting for elevators. Two elevators serve guests and act as service elevators for housekeeping and luggage. One elevator was out for part of our stay; we waited on the fourth floor for ten minutes for an elevator with room for us before we discovered the stairs. Even after the elevator was repaired we found the stairs to be the better option (even though the stairs dump you in the service areas).
Stay again? So long as our feet don't fail us.

Room Tip: Lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_Weston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHS_Oceanside_GM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us! I apologize for the inconvenience with the elevator while you were staying with us.

It's summer vacation right now and so our pool is getting a lot of use. For those who are looking for a couples getaway, our property is definitely a bit quieter once the kids are back in school, so please come back and see us.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again for your next beach getaway!

Kind regards,
Kathleen Maola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My son's watch was stolen from the safe and I was billed for unauthorized charges. The succulent wall, outside of the lobby, was so unusual and interesting to look at. The valets were exceptionally polite and went out of their way to accommodate special needs.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean-view room, panoramic w/ cute little balcony. City side is backed up against...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohafromFernZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHS_Oceanside_GM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We regret the negative experience that you had at our property and offer our sincere apology. Please contact me directly so that we can work with you to investigate this situation.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Maola
760-722-1003
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for what started out to be a 2 night trip. Being our first visit to this hotel, we thought we would start small. However, we were so very pleasantly surprised that we stayed an extra night. Everything was wonderful. The location is perfect for a beach town experience as you can park the car and walk to everything. Beach, pier, food,shops, train. The service was welcoming from the very beginning. The valet and the front desk were helpful and warm. Chim at the front desk was especially helpful in guiding us to the right room choice. And we took his advise about staying longer.haha As stated before, you will have a parking fee, but that seems to be the norm for these types of properties. The hotel is beautifully new and kept very clean. Room was lovely with super comfortable king size bed. Also mini frig,microwave,and sitting area. So great! The rooftop pool is amazing. We would do the beach half the day(just a 5 minute walk across the street! yay) and then poolside in the afternoons when the beach became crowded, then nap to the sound of the ocean coming through the open slider in our room. Cool ocean breezes and air conditioning if the room got too warm. Did I mention a balcony with a full coastline view?.! Really, life doesn't get much better. Free breakfast and lots to pick from. Not 5 star gourmet but fresh and plentiful. A great deal for families to start the day with. There were many families here but it did not interfere with the couples getaway we were on. Seemed to be plenty of room for everyone. Ok so for those of you who love the beach and a beautiful place to stay, this is for you. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with ocean view as back of hotel is near train track. For light sleepers, may be a is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redshoes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Address: 110 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054-2603
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing