We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern California Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
309 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,036 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is truly a great resort. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

The room was clean, and fully equipped. Being right off the beach was a bonus.

There is so much to do around the resort, and almost everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: More that 1/2 of the room have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 90622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi 90622,
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled you loved our location and enjoyed being just a few footsteps away from the beach. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    37
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
88
74
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Love, love, love this locale! Right on the beach, no other structures blocking your view of the ocean, surfers, dolphins and even whales! Easy walking to the picturesque Oceanside pier and fun and personable restaurants, multiplex movie theater and local farmers markets. A quick drive to a couple different malls, Lego Land and the beautiful flower fields of southern California. Convenient secure parking below and beach chairs and bicycles available for use. We've enjoyed the Beach Club since 1989, and will continue to think of it as our own piece of paradise!

Room Tip: West side has ocean view
See more room tips
Green Features: I applaud their efforts and the efforts of the guests
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Janet H,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. We're so happy to hear that you loved our location, being close to the beach and checking out all of the restaurants and shops in the area. We're thrilled to continue welcoming you back and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed at the Southern California Beach Club a few times now and I have to say I love this place. The staff is so friendly and courteous, and the location is well, spectacular. You have to stay at the Beach Club. It is my favorite place in Oceanside!!!

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms cost a little more but they are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi ale0nard,
We're so glad we continuously are able to welcome you back for a great time at Southern California Beach Club. We're thrilled you found our staff friendly and our location spectacular. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We discovered this wonderful facility about 20 years ago and now consider it our home away from home. We introduced it to our family and now have even extended family who choose it for their vacations. Nieces, nephews, brothers, sisters, grand parents and friends gather here and enjoy the Beach Club. To have the beach, the sand and water practically right at your doorstep is fantastic! We love the beautiful sunsets, the walks along the Strand and the pier which is just a block away. It has so many wonderful attractions within close proximity. If you choose to leave the beach, there is Disneyland, Sea World, Zoo, Safari Animal Park, shopping, even a movie theater within walking distance. We love the off season and have purchased many of our units to fit in this time frame. One of the things we enjoy the most is the staff! We always feel very welcome and consider them one of the treasures of the Beach Club.

Room Tip: we enjoy any room at the Beach Club but especially the ocean front.
See more room tips
Green Features: optional towel reuse, energy efficient light bulbs in rooms, energy star appliances are just a few examples of good practices we have seen being implemented.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barbara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi barbara n,
Thank you for your review. We're beyond thrilled to welcome you back year after year for amazing vacations and great memories to share with your family. We're so glad your found our accommodations spacious, our staff great and our location perfect for all of the activities you and your family wanted to see and do. We look forward to another 20 years of great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a non oceanview room which was a little disappointing but it was still nice. It felt more like a one bedroom apartment and worked great for our family of 4. We had everything we needed for our stay. Like others have said the beach is right across the one lane road and beyond a security gate. Great location next to the Oceanside Pier - truly couldn't be any closer. We saw many dolphins from atop the pier although my kids insisted they were actually sharks and refused to go into the water from then on.
It was very easy to check out beach toys and chairs, the hot tub was very welcoming, loved the filtered water available in the common areas, location was terrific and we would definitely stay again.
I would like to recommend the hotel have available for checkout a wagon, stroller or pull behind trailer for the kids. There was a lot to explore in the area but it was difficult without one of those options for the kiddos.
My Verizon cell phone service had a lot of trouble with service - it wouldn't work the majority of the time we were staying here. The in-room internet was also quite slow and intermittent. I also concur with the parking comments- very tight spaces even for our small car.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Jill R.,
All our units have an Ocean View, but of our 43 available units, 22 are Ocean Front. We hope you will visit us again and if available we will upgrade you to a Ocean Front unit. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and appreciate your suggestions, specifically about the wagons. I think we will get a couple of those for the kids. Thank you again for your review!! We value your comments and sharing your experience with other families who are considering staying with us.

Sunny thoughts from the beach,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is along the Strand in Oceanside with some rooms facing the ocean and some with walkout patios to the beach. The rooms are reasonable appointed and the staff is friendly. Free parking but a tight fit for all but compact cars. Free but slow Internet. Room security is good but no safe in the room. Kitchen is decent but has limited flatware, glasses, and dishes. TV channels are limited and no means to access internet or pay per view movie channels was apparent. Most of the TV channels are not HD. There are a number of decent restaurants in town. Some nice breakfast luncheon spots within walking distance. Hot tub is nice. Free bikes and beach chairs. This falls just a bit short of being a luxurious vacation spot by shortcuts in amenities but it was quite enjoyable for a New Year's holiday at the beach. Sit and watch the sunset with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: You have to ask for one on the beach and perhaps pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Lasrman,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. We're pleased to learn of your recent stay and all of the fun you had while visiting with us. We're glad you enjoyed your room and our accommodations as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a beachfront affordable hotel, this is great! It's right there on the beach with easy access to the Pier.

The rooms are spacious and have fully equipped kitchens. Comfy beds and large flat screen tv's.

However, the walls are paper thin and I was kept awake by my neighbors talking until 2am when I was moved to another room facing the beach which was 100% better! The only thing that kept me awake then was the sound of the waves!

I was a bit disappointed with the bathrooms which looked very dated. Bath tub was small with those old style plastic sliding doors and crappy shower head.

The staff were excellent!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Murphy1_Murphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi mmerdock1,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. We're so glad your enjoyed your stay with us recently. Unfortunately, we realize there were a few concerns regarding noise at 2:00 am keeping you and your guests awake. We're so glad we could accommodate you with a better room that was much more quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oceanside
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
1.5 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
2.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern California Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern California Beach Club

Property: Southern California Beach Club
Address: 121 S Pacific St, Oceanside, CA 92054-2917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern California Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachside resort is one of the hot spots in Southern California. It's location near the Pacific Ocean gives each guest the relaxation they need in a vacation resort. Stay in a studio, one or two bedroom condos for a relaxing experience. Each of the rooms include mini kitchens, sofa sleeper, dishwasher, hair dryer, microwave, one bathrooms, and a private patio/balcony. This resort does not have air conditioning however rooms are equipped with ceiling fans in the bedroom and kitchen. Southern California Beach Club is also a non-smoking resort. Please note the minimum age to check in is 21, must have valid ID and credit card to check in. A nightly taxable USD 20.00 resort fee will be collected upon booking. This fee includes parking, internet, beach towels and phone calls. -Quiet Hours- from 10pm-9am. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the resort. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southern California Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern California Beach Club Hotel Oceanside
Southern Ca Beach Hotel
Southern California Beach Hotel
Southern California Beach Club Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing