We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another long term owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern California Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our purchase of Week 34 (mid August) over 20 years ago remains as one of the best buys we've made in real estate over the years. In that time, we've seen friends' children grow to adulthood, Oceanside grow to a well planned town, and SCBC continue to improve itself, and its service to its guests. Every year, we count the days, and every year, it is over too soon. This year, the flooring and furnishings were upgraded, the staff continues to be the friendliest, and the surf huge. For me, the best news was that my Verizon service was poor, which suited me to a tee! A real vacation. I can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Second floor, beach facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla19191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hello Carla19191,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. It's great to hear from our returning Owners/Guests and know that they enjoy our location with each visit. We can't wait to have you back with us next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was greeted by the front desk with a very friendly smile and welcome, in fact all the staff were very friendly and always said hello. The one bedroom accomodation was very large and roomy, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything but food and the furnishings had recently been updated. I did not have an ocean view but all you need to do is go up to the roof top terrace. I only stayed one day but plan on coming back in October for five days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Startraveler901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hi Startraveler901,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We’re thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and that all your accommodations were very spacious. We can't wait to have you back with us for another stay. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We come to the Southern California Beach Club each year as we've owned here for over 20 years. The only disappointment we have is that the beach is slowly disappearing. The city has moved in river rock on the beach in front of the condo and on south as well to help prevent more of it from disappearing. Nothing much they can do about it. There is still room to set up a beach site, just not as much as there used to be. Still, we look forward to coming every year.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The resort consists of 2 buildings, parallel to each other with a large deck connecting the 2 buildings. The front building has balconies facing the water which is very nice. The back building also has small patios.There are 4 BBQ grills located here. There is a small hot tub on the top floor that can hold 6-8 people and that's it for amenities but then again you're located just about 10 steps from the beach. Beach chairs, toys, umbrellas, boogie boards, and towels can be checked out. Coffee is available each morning as is fruit-infused water all day. There is a small garage below the buildings, 1 car/unit. Be careful parking as it can get pretty tight. If you have guests visiting you, they can park for free in the amtrak lot just a short walk away.

The units are nicely furnished with everything you would need to prepare meals there and there are numerous very good restaurants nearby. We've really seen the city of Oceanside work to improve the downtown area. A fun evening is the street fair/farmers market on Thursday evenings with food and gift vendors, music, and produce.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the front building, grab it as you'll have a balcony facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick3256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Rick3256,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club and all the travel tips. We are delighted to hear from our owners and know that they continue to enjoy staying with us. As always, we're thrilled to continue welcoming you back. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you're a lover of the beach and ocean this is the place to stay. I thought I lived close to the water at home (about 1.5 blocks) but it doesn't compare to staying in one of the beach facing studios at the SCBC.

The SCBC is centrally located with great nightlife within walking distance as well as some pretty great grub near by. Walk, run, or play along the strand, or lay out and watch the sun set from your balcony or on the beach (they're practically one and the same).

Staff is super friendly, and the Wi-fi works really well. Super relaxing we will be back!

Room Tip: Beachfront for the view, non beach front is a tad quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 796nicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello Nick A,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. We agree, there is nothing like the sound of waves crashing onto shore. We can't wait to have you back with us! It is great to know that you had a wonderful time with us and found plenty to do here. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

If you want a true ocean stay this is it. Literally, steps from the water and if you leave the sliding glass door open and try to watch to t.v. at night you have to Blare the t.v. because the waves crashing are so loud! It was awesome! Our room was a studio so it had a kitchen area and a great patio to eat meals on. We arrived late (10:00pm) and the staff was super nice and helpful. The resort has gated private parking. We were walking distance to great food (Hello Betty and Harney Sushi)and the theater. I had a great time amd will return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kellieannrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi kellieannrowe, Thank you for reviewing The Southern California Beach Club. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us and look forward to having you come back for another stay. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful place to stay...right on the beach and the Oceanside Pier is only a block away! Scott, the manager, is very friendly and makes one feel at home at this resort. Also, the staff at the reception desk are very helpful and concerned that your stay is nice. One could ask for a better location to the beach, pier, and town. The only thing to keep in mind is the resort does not have air conditioning, so on a hot day, it can be warm.....turn on the fans and open the windows for a nice ocean breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi HG H,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed sometime at the beach and the Oceanside Pier. It is also wonderful to hear that everyone here at the resort helped you’re your stay feel just like home. We welcome you to come back soon in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Southern California Beach Club (SCBC) is rare gem in our lives. We stay here often and are always greeted like family when we walk through the door. The staff and manager spare no expense in seeing that all of our needs are met and if we have any concerns they are taken care of immediately. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable on the area. The Southern California Beach Club is close to everything and the last time we stayed we hardly used our vehicle at all. Be sure to also check out the Thursday morning Farmer's Market (only a few block and within walking distance) and then the Thursday night Street Fair. There is something there for everyone. Thank you SCBC.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are awesome and fully equipped. The Studios are on the ground level and right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaHaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Humberstone, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi StaHaf,

You are very welcome! Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We’re thrilled to know that we are providing you with great services and help make your stay feel right at home. It is also wonderful to hear that you had the opportunity to visit the Farmer’s Market as well as the State Fair as they are great nearby attractions. We welcome you to stay with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oceanside
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
1.5 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#14 of 27 in Oceanside
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern California Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern California Beach Club

Address: 121 S Pacific St, Oceanside, CA 92054-2917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Family Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: £139 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern California Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachside resort is one of the hot spots in Southern California. It's location near the Pacific Ocean gives each guest the relaxation they need in a vacation resort. Stay in a studio, one or two bedroom condos for a relaxing experience. Each of the rooms include mini kitchens, sofa sleeper, dishwasher, microwave, 1 bathroom, and a private patio/balcony. This resort does not have air conditioning however rooms are equipped with ceiling fans in the bedroom and kitchen. Southern California Beach Club is also a non-smoking resort. The minimum age to check in is 18, must have valid ID and CC to check in. A Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Resort provides amenities such as internet, beach towels, parking, and phone calls. Quiet Hours are from 10pm-9am. For ADA accommodations, please contact the resort to confirm availability. Every effort will be made to accommodate requests for an ADA unit. However, units can't be guaranteed. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Southern California Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern California Beach Club Hotel Oceanside
Southern Ca Beach Hotel
Southern California Beach Hotel
Southern California Beach Club Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing