We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for its price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Oceanside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Oceanside
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for its price”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A good hotel to stay in considering the price ($50++/night). Wi-fi works good, and the breakfast is nice with waffles, and the typical bagels, fruits, energy bar etc (no meat).

Bed is clean and comfy. Bathroom is nice and clean.

You can walk to the beach but it's a bit of a walk and probably not a good idea when you have kids.

Probably best to stay here instead of anaheim if you wanted to go to disney and the likes. A bit of a drive, but good for its price and cleanliness.

knowing that the GM of this place also responds to all the complaints also show that they really read your concern/complaint to care enough to fix the place for anything that's not up to the standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaOside, General Manager at Ramada Oceanside, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for providing valuable insight for prospective guests. We often have guests stay with us that use our hotel as "home base" for going to multiple attractions such as Disneyland and Seaworld. We are located close to all the San Diego attractions as well as only being an hour's drive from Disneyland. The added benefit of a great beach only 2 minutes drive from the hotel is real luxury. We hope to see you on your next visit to Oceanside. Andrew Stewart GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    126
    108
    40
    43
See reviews for
214
83
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
143 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is your standard motel with some unusual features. For instance the room had movement sensitive lights.

I liked that:
- the room was clean;
- the gym though small had good equipment;
- the free wifi was better than hotels twice the price;
- breakfast was outstanding at this price point;
- this is one of the few non-smoking hotel rooms I have stayed in that actually does not smell of smoke;
- the location was convenient. Near a freeway but not on the freeway. Within a realistic walk of the beach.

I note that:
- the room was smallish;
- Ramada still uses polystyrene cups and plates (what gives?). This is especially weird given that they also use paper cups;
- the room is a little on the dated side.

I do not recommend that young children stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lex_loci_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stay here because of the price, but every thing was great the staff the room was wonderful, I had a great time , the staff talk to me and told me place to go and when I called them for help they came up with no problem.

Room Tip: room on the corner you can see ocean/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcbear411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I was skeptical about this hotel after booking it on hotwire.com. All-in-all the staff was very friendly and helpful and prompt when we needed assistance. Kudos to the staff (housekeeping, front desk, and maintenance). With that said- our safe didn't work properly and our room unfortunately smelled of smoke (non-smoking room). We had to wash all of our clothes to get the smoke smell out when we got home.

Now, I am only writing a review for one complaint. I was charged for "makeup stains" on my towels and instructed that I should have used the makeup remover provided. I have stayed at many hotels in my life and can assume that I have left many makeup smudges on all of those towels, and never ONCE received a charge for leaving makeup stains. Sounds like an extraneous charge to me.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed with a group and used 6 rooms. Although there were some minor cosmetic things that could be touched up in the bathrooms, all of the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was wonderful to work with and the breakfast was in a large conference area. Considering how expensive hotels can be in the San Diego area, this was a pleasant surprise. There is no pool at this facility so if you are looking for that, you will need to go elsewhere. With a market across the street, a 24 hour donut shop adjacent to the hotel and an excellent and cheap Mexican restaurant right next door, it is tough to beat. Easy access to the 5 freeway and a very short drive down the street to the beach.

Room Tip: 2nd to 4th floors require a room key to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Only1United
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was a bit concerned when I realized that I would be staying here. The other reviews were mostly negative. I was pleasantly suprised to discover that the motel was a great value for the price. The room was clean, recently renovated and had most ammentities of more expensive motels (toiletries). It didn't smell bad and the carpet was very clean (I felt nothing abnormal when I walked on it barefoot). The free breakfast was great with lots of choices to eat. The location was acceptable, very near Highway 5 which made it convenient and also close to Camp Pendleton. An added bonus was the fabulous and very cheap Mexican restaurant next door. All told, it was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lailasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaOside, General Manager at Ramada Oceanside, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate it when guests take the time to tell us about their experience and share it with others. We are working hard to provide a clean and well maintianed hotel. We have consitently improved in the these last couple of years to update the rooms as well as the other amenities we offer.

Thank you,

Andrew Stewart GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2011

If you are looking for a great price, friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean rooms and a great breakfast (free) this is the place to stay, The rooms could stand a few cosmetic fix ups but that didn't effect our stay. We had a great time with morning walks to the beach followed by a breakfast in their spacious CLEAN breakfast room. The breakfast room staff was right on top of keeping everything well stocked. We will stay here on our next trip to California. Sandy S. Binghamton NY

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom858790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 27 in Oceanside
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Oceanside

Property: Ramada Oceanside
Address: 1440 Mission Avenue, Oceanside, CA 92058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Oceanside 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Ramada
Ramada Oceanside California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing