We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay at Baymont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had to send for plumbing help - manager tried to hand me the plunger to fix the problem myself. Made her do it. Had to send for plumbing help second day - Manager refused refund stated on room plaque.

Room Tip: Over-priced and customer service was terrible. Manager charged $20.00 for "incidentals" a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRPatel, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your response. Your feed back is very important to us to improve in our day to day operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CRPatel, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Given some of the negative reviews of this motel, I was anxious about staying here, But my stay was a very positive one.

But first the negatives. The pool and the spa are very small. I did not use them during my stay nor did I see anyone else use them. There is only one exit/entrance to the location and you have to be careful not to miss it from the main street as it is not on the main street but on a small side street. There is a strong paint smell in the hallway as the property has been recently renovated. There is no elevator to the second floor but it is only one flight of steps. If you have a second floor room, there are no chairs on the balcony for some reason.

Now for the positives. Cost for a stay was $79 plus tax on a weekend day/night which is far cheaper than any motel in the area. It is clean property and well maintained. Parking was easy and plentiful despite some reviews to the contrary. Check in was quick and easy. The room was large for a motel room. It had a medium size refrigerator and a small microwave in the room. There was a comfortable chair but no couch. The television was new and had lots of local and cable channels including ESPN. The king size bed was comfortable for a motel of this rating. They offer a free continental breakfast which I did not try but I could smell the waffles as I left so I know that those are available besides fresh coffee. I assume there is a lot more. So you could save money by taking advantage of it. This clearly is a plus. The motel is about two blocks from the freeway off ramp so you can easily go into San Diego from this location. It is about from 40 mile drive San Diego to the south and about 60 miles to Disneyland to the north.The nearest amusement park is Legoland (a few miles away) and the beach is only a few miles away. Request a second floor room near the back and you will hear no noise at all. The bottom line is I would definitely stay here again. It is a great value!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRPatel, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for staying at Baymont Inn & Suites in Oceanside CA. Your feed back is very important to us to improve in our day to day operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

One month ago this property was a Holiday Inn Express (the day after I booked it that way it became the "Baymont Inn & Suites Oceanside." (a Wyndham property). Newly painted on the outside and the interiors are good. Still working out some kinks, but it's a good hotel with a good value! Especially appreciate the front desk staff. Very attentive and responsive. We are into our 3rd day of an 8-day stay and are very happy with the service we're getting. ESPECIAL KUDOS to "Paul" at front desk for helping me with internet access issues, and to the morning staff for their very helpful tips on eating, shopping, and travel directions!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are quieter. Face a quiet golf course tee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C.Chevy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRPatel, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your response. Your feed back is very important to us to improve in our day to day operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CRPatel, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A friendly Holiday Inn Express in a great location. It's a great deal for a hotel considering the area. Just remember, you get what you pay for. If you have problems with stair climbing, request a first floor room. Also recommend you ask for a room NOT facing the main road as the traffic can be noisy. The rooms are dated and the TV was smaller than you would expect. The breakfast area is small and the milk for my cereal was sour. I really can't recommend this place for a long term stay. I'm stay at HI properties every week and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear steve375,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the layout of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Came to Carlsbad for the marathon and this place was closest to the start/finish so I could plan to get a late checkout and shower afterwards.

From the outside it was apparent that the structure was a refurbished motel, probably from the 60's, but since it was an HI Express I figured it has certain standards. Check-in was efficient and they afforded me a semi-late checkout as there were apparently a lot of runners staying there and housekeeping couldn't afford to let people stay too late.

I was on the second floor with no lift, but I travel light and it wasn't an issue. The door to the room looked a bit dodgy (thin and not closing tight without exerting pressure) but it did lock so not overly concerning. The room also had a balcony which I didn't make use of.

The room was large and tidy, clean and had a large flat-panel tele. The fan in the bathroom came on with the light and was quite noisy, however. The room AC was thermostactically controlled and not overly noisy which was nice.

Linens were thrifty, but OK, and the bed was comfortable. For supposedly being full it was pretty quiet and I slept OK.

Breakfast in the morning was standard buffet style with eggs, pastry, pancakes, cereal, etc.

Wifi was good.

Overall a decent place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear pcrosley,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are pleased you found our hotel to be convenient from the location where you need to be. We're sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Oceanside
2.4 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#5 of 27 in Oceanside
568 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 27 in Oceanside
93 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside

Address: 3170 Vista Way, Oceanside, CA 92056-3608 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Oceanside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range: £51 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Oceanside, CA is ideally located in North County San Diego. We are minutes away from Camp Pendleton, Oceanside Pier and Legoland. We are walking distance from El Camino Country Club. Other local attractions include The Wild Animal Park, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Museum of Making Music, Carlsbad Flower Fields, Carlsbad Outlet Mall, Carlsbad State Beach and La Costa Golf Course. Located right off Hwy 78 just 2 miles east from I-5, with easy access to the Oceanside Harbor. Some restaurants within walking distance are Chilli s, Romano s Macaroni Grill, Red Lobster and Hooter s. Enjoy our free Express Star Breakfast including The World s Best Cinnamon Roll, Smart Roast coffee, fresh fruit and more. Relax in our outdoor hot tub or pool. Don t miss your workout routine in our fitness room conveniently available from 5:30am through 11:00pm. Standard features of our rooms include refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and iron and board. Local phone calls are free as well as wired and wireless internet access. Our Suite rooms include a living area with a pull out couch and an extra TV. Some of our rooms have a private balcony. Also, located in the outside corridor we offer rooms with kitchenettes that include a full size refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and two burner stove top with cooking and serving utensils for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Holiday Inn Oceanside
Oceanside Holiday Inn Express
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanside California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing