We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay! We came to visit San Diego and chose to stay away from the crowds and visit San Diego daily instead. Great decision! This hotel is close to the store, a Starbucks and only a minute or two away from the ocean. I was easily able to drive to the beach each day, find a free parking space, and enjoy the ocean each morning while my teenage daughter slept till noon. The beach was fabulous- no rocks, smooth sand, and gentle waves that you could still surf on. Ocean was a warm 70 degrees which is highly unusual and best of all, no crowds! Drive times to San Diego were minimal when no traffic (mid day to late evening). Will def return to Oceanside and this hotel for future visits!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tracy M,

Thank you for your review It seems like you certainly had an excellent vacation here in Oceanside. The City of Oceanside is a hidden gem and has one of the best beaches in the country so I'm glad you and your family were able to take full advantage of it.

We look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to Oceanside.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were visiting family for a couple of days, and this provided us with a comfortable bed, clean sheets, and clean room. It met our needs completely. Food was well balanced, and very good. Close by all the places we needed to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Shirley C.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a review here on TripAdvisor. I hope you had a wonderful time visiting your family in Oceanside.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is an amazing cool relaxing hotel. Plus, it less than a mile from the beach, the sprinter station, and right off the freeway. What I enjoyed the most is that it is quite and comfortable, and the staff is every helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tezcatlipoca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tezcatlipoca1,

Thank you for writing such a positive review and for giving us a perfect 5-star rating! Reading your comments and seeing descriptions such as "comfortable" rooms and "helpful" staff let's my team and I know that we accomplished our goal of making sure that you a terrific stay.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

"Average" has taken a hit as a descriptor recently, but it's not an insult, even in a hyperbole-driven world. If you're like me, you have an expectation when it comes to staying in a Best Western hotel. You expect reasonable customer service, clean rooms, a good price, and a breakfast that you won't write home about, but one that will get your day started.

You expect average. And average is exactly what you'll get at the Oceanside Inn. The building's on the old side. The plumbing isn't great. The carpet isn't gorgeous. The bed isn't luxurious. But everything is average. That is to say, nothing is BAD. And when I stay in a Best Western, that's exactly what I'm looking for. Nothing bad. And nothing bad is exactly what I got.

It's time we began celebrating average again. You could do a lot worse.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Anthony B.,

I'll be quite honest: your review had me stumped. Normally when I see a guest describe our hotel as "average", I get a mini heart-attack and I can't help thinking, "Did something go wrong? Did we fail to provide an excellent experience".

But your words definitely ring with truths: average is not a bad word but with the rise of technology, social media, and a competitive market, it had developed a negative connotation. In a way, "average" is a compliment. When you booked your room, you expected a clean room and a quiet atmosphere so you can sleep and relax. And that is exactly what you got. And really, isn't that what we ALL expect when we stay at a hotel? Perhaps that is why every hotel works so hard to go above-and-beyond expectations to set themselves apart from the grain.

Reading your review, I know we could have done better for you. I'm sorry about the carpet in your room and for the slow plumbing. I will continue to train my team and to work on our shortcomings. It is my hope that the next time you stay with us, you will consider us above-average. (Maybe even "excellent"!). :)

Thank you again for your review. It was very refreshing to read and certainly got me thinking about what "average" really means and how our hotel can be better than just average.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is right off of the 5 Freeway, but you really don't realize that. The beach is a very short distance from the hotel. Hotel is clean. Pool and spa are clean. Hotel staff has always been friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice -- plenty of options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 471henryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear 471henryb,

Thank you for writing such a great review and for choosing to stay with us again. It's great to know that our clean rooms, friendly staff, and delicious complimentary breakfast is what keeps you coming back. And as you noted, our hotel has such a peaceful atmosphere despite our proximity to the freeway. It's a great surprise for all of our guests.

We look forward to accommodating you for all of your future trips to Oceanside.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have stayed here once before. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and helpful. They have an adequate breakfast. Only complaint was no water available to drink at breakfast. They were having some construction going on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachMom91362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear BeachMom91362,

Thanks for returning to stay us! It's great to know that the entire family had a comfortable stay. I am sorry though that you were unable to have water during your breakfast. We do have a pitcher of water available during breakfast but I will remind our Breakfast Server to re-fill it regularly and to make sure it is visible.

In regards to the construction you noted in your review we were actually renovating our restrooms next to our breakfast room. The construction is now complete and we now have two new, beautiful restrooms and a pre-function area for all of our guests to enjoy.

Thank you for your review and safe travels!

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This isn't my first stay here, or the second or third. I keep coming back when I need a breath of sea air, and a friendly place to stay. The staff here is always helpful, the breakfast is more than adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello Marian S.,

It was such a pleasure seeing you again this weekend! I always love hearing about the exotic animals you work with as a volunteer.

And thanks for choosing the BEST WESTERN Oceanside as your escape from the hot temperatures of Palm Springs. Our outdoor pool, cool ocean breeze, and beautiful sunshine always welcome you with wide, open arms.

Thanks and we look forward to having you stay with us again - whether it be your 7th or 100th stay with us!

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
3.3 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
1.8 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oceanside Inn

Address: 1680 Oceanside Blvd, Oceanside, CA 92054-5427 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: £45 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Oceanside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn! The golden beach is minutes away from our Oceanside hotel, designed to be family-friendly and a home base for the vacation of a lifetime. Are you planning a trip to LEGOLAND(R)? When guests stay at our Oceanside hotel, the best of the state is in their backyard. With close proximity to the San Diego Zoo(R), San Diego Zoo(R) Safari Park, and SeaWorld(R), adventure awaits. All guest rooms are fully equipped with microwaves and refrigerators, and guests will have access to a laundry room, outdoor pool, hot tub, and a hot breakfast, making our hotel convenient and ideal for families traveling with kids. We're just a leisurely stroll from the beach, downtown Oceanside and the Oceanside Pier. And we are only minutes away from Camp Pendleton, making it easy for families to visit their loved ones stationed there. The Marine Corps attracts government and military officials, and we're proud to serve those who serve. The base hosts a plethora of tournaments for the local community including their World Famous Mud Run(R), paintball tournaments, and Family Days featuring food, entertainment, and games. The beach and pier attracts swimmers and surfers alike, and is often utilized for national surf competitions. The Pier Plaza Amphitheatre hosts musical events and festivals throughout the year. Favorite local events such as the Race Across America, the LifeTime Triathlon, and the IRONMAN 70.3(R) are held annually in Oceanside. Oceanside's weather has been rated by USA Today as the second most ideal climate in the USA, and the fifth most ideal weather in the world. The endless California sunshine and cool ocean breeze entices many travelers to visit the laid-back, surf town that is Oceanside. Let the BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn be the gateway to an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Best Western
Best Western Oceanside Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing