We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average rooms.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

average rooms for the price. this is all krishnamurti and lots of cultural appropriation along with it. If you are in the mood to appropriate someone elses culture or to be appropriated (like us) then go there. we had no idea it would be like that. we don't need westerners telling us about ourselves. Thanks!
There were bugs in the rooms and overpriced for what they are. The grounds are beautiful and quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pakitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

A wonderful environment to contemplate nature, yourself and communication with others. Enjoyed the room very much and the staff was most helpful and courteous. Quiet and soothing to the soul are words that come to mind. Great space for meeting and discussing thoughtfully.
Look forward to next year's meeting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItaliaLosAngelesCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I enjoyed stayed at the Pepper Tree Retreat and only wish I could have stayed more than 2 nights. The Lennon Room was such a special space. The peace and energy of this property and it's surroundings nourished my soul. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Delightful staff, basic but spacious and very clean accommodations, beautiful grounds. Very basic breakfast yet organic and gluten-free options. Help yourself to the fruit trees and herb garden. Good respite, be sure to arrive as early as possible to take a walk around during daylight, and don't miss the sunset. As a non-profit, no room tax is charged, adding to the good value here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This wonderful little resort nestled in the Ojai Valley is truly unique. It is quieter than any place you'll ever go and the staff is super nice. The rooms are sparse but the beds and location make it a must see. Don't come here to drink wine, stay up late or be noisy. This is a respite for all of that. It's just good living in a peaceful place

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxxdance68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Pepper Tree Retreat in Ojai is the former home of philosopher Krishnamurti.
Ojai is a very special, small town located just south of Santa Barbara and just North of Ventura.
Even if you just visit Santa Barbara, Ojai is a must see while you visit S.B., lots of unique
artistry shopping, organic restaurants (try the Farmer and the Cook), outdoor bookstore, beautiful
gardening shops, and more.
The Pepper Tree was very clean, the grounds beautiful and very natural to the region of Ojai.
I thought the price was reasonable too; often times smaller retreats that are off the beaten path
or historical, can be on the price side but for the offer we received, it was a very good value
and Ojai was fun and easy to get around. Check out Ojai when you are in the area. : )

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerfouru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been here twice already in the last year and absolutely love it. It is wonderful to be able to live in such a peaceful environment with great service and locality. The whole process is very easy and we will be doing this trip again soon. The library is amazing and the garden makes for a good reading spot. It is a quiet retreat where alcohol and non-vegetarian food is not allowed. We've stayed in the Lennon room and Huxley room so far, and both were nice.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank xonegirlrevolutionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
508 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
186 reviews
3 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
526 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
4.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: £71 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing