We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed & Breakfast Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed & Breakfast Retreat”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Quiet space to relax, reflect and refresh. Hiking trails and orange groves in a valley setting provide a serene space. Healthy breakfast food and friendly, courteous staff set the right tone. Pepper Tree is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Instead of traveling into town to eat with longer stays, reserve a room with a kitchen to cook meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    36
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
76
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were up in Ojai for a wedding. We didn't want to spend tooo much on the weekend. We couldn't have been happier at the Pepper Tree Retreat. It was beautiful, quiet & filled with orange trees. What else do you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Absolutely gorgeous place to stay - beautiful grounds, lovely people. Located in a beautiful orange grove, the place was amazing. Very clean as well. And they serve the best pancakes for breakfast.

Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The room was very clean and the every one there was available to help us.
I am coming back in June and I can't wait.
We were in the John Lennon room and it had a huge terrace and a full kitchen.
It was like a bright and sunny apartment.

Room Tip: I didn't use the fitness center and it was only my husband and myself so i don't know anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertaT472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The retreat is very tranquil and pretty. it is very quiet. It I a few miles outside of downtown Ojai and restaurants but worth the distance to be in countryside. The fragrance of the pepper trees and orange groves was lovely. The bed comfortable, the bathroom clean and modern, there is wireless, a refrigerator and coffeemaker and the view from the big windows in the Bodhi room of nearby orange groves and far off mountains were picturesque.

There were small issues like only one 3 prong electric socket in the room so not convenient to plug in personal items and a porch neighbor who hung underwear and socks along the shared railing, annoying but not a big deal. They do need to increase outdoor lighting for nighttime walking, especially on the staircases. There are no amenities such as a pool or room service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habitat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Thank you for your warm hospitality. I really appreciated my 2 days stay. The calmness and serenity was amazing at the retreat place. My friends i invited really loved the place. The energy was great. Felt free flowing and not structured. Very professionally maintained. I enjoyed the smell of the flowers, and oranges at the location. Will go back for sure again, if possible every month.

Room Tip: Go with no agenda and work. Just relax and absorb the energy that you really need for nurturing your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I spent 3 days in March 2014 in Pepper Tree Resort, and it was one of the most peaceful times that I had ever spent. The place is so quite and serene, and the nights so still and so fragrant - with the orange blossoms in full bloom this time of the year. The trip was almost like a pilgrimage, and one feels the satisfaction deep inside.

The staff at the retreat are very very friendly, and have gone out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast is simple and wholesome. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. The room I stayed (Besant room) overlooks the lawn and the glassed veranda is a beautiful place for reading, meditating or just being, especially during early mornings and late evenings.

This retreat is for serious travelers. The access to the Krishnamurti library was a great by itself, and meeting people who had experiences with Krishnamurti is a great plus. I look forward to a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLittleFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
5.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
510 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Property: Pepper Tree Retreat
Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing