We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Ojai....Peace on Earth!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxnard, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in Ojai....Peace on Earth!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very quiet and serene environment enveloped in natures finest. Gorgeous trees, flowers, birds, wildlife and weather. Clean and comfortable, guests and staff are very friendly and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. I will go back as soon as I can!!
- Lisa, Oxnard, CA

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    36
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
76
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Amazing place. Very good staff. Healthy vegetarian food. And very peaceful if one wants to quietly contemplate on deeper issues of life. Nice collection of books and videos on J. Krishnamurti's teachings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beyondviolence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was there for a workshop and the beauty of the place kept me calm and in tune with nature.
The staff operate like a family and the harmony is wonderful to experience. Overall, I would recommend this place for anyone looking for some quiet quality time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sridaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Calif.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visit Ojai 2-3 times a year. This time all the hotels in downtown Ojai were booked, so we stayed at the Pepper Tree Retreat. The Pepper Tree is just four miles from downtown Ojai. It is located in a very quiet area, surrounded by orange trees. The retreat itself is a very old home, which is beautiful, but the old home is noisy and creeks, and when our upstairs neighbors came home late at night, we heard everything. If you are a light sleeper, ask for an upstairs room.
The retreat staff was very friendly. The rooms are simple, with a very comfortable (Tempur Pedic) bed. We didn't stay for breakfast this time (it doesn't start until 8:30, a little late for us).
Overall, we had a good stay and would return,(just stay in a room with no one above us).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1socalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just got back from Ojai. We had a wonderful experience! Staff, guests and interns were all very friendly. The grounds are magical and the aroma of the citrus trees combined with the peppercorn trees is indescribable. This is a place you come to think, and meditate on life. It's not a five star resort, so don't expect to be served or pampered by the staff. You're on your own here. Just sit back and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of this humble home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my second trip to Pepper Tree Retreat. A new herb and flower garden had been planted and a new gazebo built. All improvements to the property. The staff is still friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are amazing. Really enjoy the beauty and quietude of the place. A place to renew the spirit. As Krishnamurti once said, one needs a retreat now and then. A place to get away from everyday life so that one can look at one's life with fresh eyes.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their pros and cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorman295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Roads, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and stayed here for a weekend. You get to pick the ripe oranges, site in the herbal garden watching the sun rise and set. On the weekends they serve a full breakfast. The place is very quiet. The location is away from downtown, but easy to get around in Ojai. We hike a trail that allowed us to view the valley. If you are looking for some "real" quiet time this would be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodicot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
5.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
510 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Property: Pepper Tree Retreat
Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing