We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loomis
1 review
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband and I had been meaning to visit the Krishnamurti library for some time, and we used our 20th anniversary as the reason to finally make the trip down. How lucky for us that we had the Oak Grove Retreat to stay at. Oak Grove Retreat is, all by itself, a lovely peaceful place. The setting is beautiful, and we loved the house, with its wide porches, lovely rooms, and understated country elegance. It has with it a exceptionally fascinating history, and it was a thrill to visit the same place that luminaries such as Aldus Huxley visited. Where else could one dine, sleep, read, and walk where such an interesting crowd did exactly the same thing. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    36
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
77
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Oak Grove for our 26th anniversary. The grounds are beautiful. Fragrant orange blossoms sent the air and quiet pervades everywhere. Breakfasts were fun as the other guests were thoughtful and interesting people from all over the world. It's a wonderful place to enjoy nature and retreat from your worldly concerns.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYKOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I absolutely loved this place and it was actually hard for me to leave this peaceful piece of heaven. This place is gorgeous, quiet, meant to relax and disconnect from reality.
You definetely feel home away from home. I almost felt like I was visiting family.

We stayed in the bungalow which was very clean, nicely decorated with organic toiletries.
But most rooms are in the main house which once belonged to Philosopher Krishnamurti.

The breakfast was mostly homemade or organic products in the house's living room (communauty table): fresh pressed orange juice from the house's orchard, fresh fruit salad etc.

What I enjoyed the most was my conversation with John D. who welcomed us pretty much as family. I immediatly felt at ease and we shared great discussions about life, relationships.

I wanted to stay longer and will most definetely come back.

Ps: this is a non-profit organization and therefore people work there because they truly want to, not to make money. No Sale taxes.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carofrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This place is surrounded by beautiful trees, love the smell of the orange trees. Very quiet and peaceful, excellent place to relax and reflect on life. The hiking path behind the Thatcher school which goes up the hill was amazing too. The breakfast provided was excellent, fresh fruits, bread and milk.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2009

The Oak Grove Retreat is perched at the northeastern end of the magical Ojai valley at the uppermost corner; the valley slopes down to southwest. It's a true sanctuary, calm and serene, with almost no perturbations. The grounds are idyllic, one can sit still on the lawn forever, listening to the birds and occasional squirrel, watching the darting gecko in the wood chips and feeling the warm rays of the Sun filtering through the leaves while the trees sway in the gentle breeze that carries the scent of orange blossoms in the orchard. Like most places in Ojai, the compound walls are made of local stone, placed by someone’s hand one by one. The terraced lawns are lined with larger stones, these are not the newly quarried stones, but ones that are weathered smooth and full of character and almost seem to have been there from before someone came to live here and just uncovered by the earth. The stone steps however, give away the handiwork of some unknown craftsmen from the past. The Krishnamurti Library, which used to be his home, is steps away and even the fallen pepper tree has pushed up strong branches and seems to be thriving. The retreat and the library have the indelible imprint of the past years; a calming presence; almost palpable vibrations. It is spiritually a very special place.
The breakfast is informally generous and shared with other guests, accompanied by mild conversation. Freshly squeezed juice from oranges in the orchard outside, while you are toasting your bagel; muffins, preserves and marmalade, freshly ground coffee, cereal, butter, cream and various fruit, papaya, strawberries and bananas. It reminded me of old days of staying in rural B&Bs that one never seems to find these days. One can even cook small meals, although it is very convenient to make the small trip to any of the local restaurants in the town, literally minutes from the retreat. We even found the bedding homelike, unassuming but very comfortable. Unlike the usual hotel bedding one can actually curl up and sleep and dream in it.
Even a couple of days here leaves one recharged. I plan to revisit as often as I can.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi-PortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I'm hesitant to write a review because it is such a hidden gem. Once people start finding out about it I may have to book months in advance and definitely don't want it to become commercialized! Oak Grove is SUPER affordable, a non profit organization (no taxes!!) and was recently remodeled and re opened in March of 2009. The beautiful room we had was adjacent to the main house and very quiet. It was open, airy, spacious, and perfectly decorated with lots of special touches everywhere. We even had a large kitchen furnished with everything you needed. The kitchen door led to a pathway where you can go right into the main house's kitchen! The house was stunning, and I want their kitchen replicated in my future dream home. Total chef style with only Vegetarian food allowed, delicious breakfast every morning, and fruits/snacks throughout the day. The staff was amazing - very friendly, efficient and wonderful to talk to. The same goes with the guests that were staying there. They all came from interesting backgrounds, and there for a quiet, zen like retreat. No TV's, radios or distractions. Just you and nature. The property is well maintained - the perfect place to do your yoga, read, paint, draw, do your poetry or just be. Come alone or with your special someone, and be prepared to be blown away by the natural energy that exudes from every corner of this one of a kind property. There are tons of hiking trails nearby and outdoor activities galore.

Krishnamurti's library is also on the same property and just a short stroll through the orange groves to get to from the main house. There are workshops, and lecture held there weekly. The meditation room was out of this world. The entire experience I had was nothing like I ever had before. Even though it feels like your miles away from the real world, Ojai is maybe 2 miles away, and there is a fantastic restaurant on the main road that leads to the retreat that served the BEST pizza I've had in California. There are so many more things to be said, but everyone has their own unique experience so you'll just have to come see for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplyhuyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
514 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
5.9 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Property: Pepper Tree Retreat
Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing