We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchy and Fun”
Review of Ojai Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ojai Rancho Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked two rooms here for four days during a family wedding. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The location, right on the main highway, was convenient. We had two rooms away from the road and heard no road noise. The big beds were comfortable and the decor very cute...sort of 1930's western. The lighting i the room is inadequate for the size and color of the room. The bathrooms are tiny but do the job. There is a coveredporch with outside seating i front of each room and an ice machine in a separate buldingnear the ,ovely outside pool. There are multiple Weber barbecues i the pool area,a shuffleboard p,aying area, and FREE bikes to ride ona very extensive and prettybike trail. One of our rooms was billed as having a " full kitchen" which was stretching the term....dorm-sized refrigerator, small stove and sink. You will need to bring most of what you would need to USE the kitchen, however, as there was only a pan and a scattering of utensils. Air conditioning,ay be inadequate for the space once it gets over 80 degrees. This makes a great family stay, especially if you have children. Its not a typical Holiday Inn kind of lodging. Pet friendly, lovely cactii lanscaping. Hot tub in the non- kichen room did not heat adequately.

Room Tip: Room #6 has mini-kichen and an interior door to room #5, which has a hot tub in the room. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soosihongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Had to book last minute hotel in Ojai and the only place available was this motel. I booked the room then I looked at the recent reviews on TA and place didn't sound to bad. Unfortunately I guess I was at a different motel then the recent reviews because my room was a big disappointment all around. Let my just mention a few problem areas, the air conditioner unit was too small for the room and was not able to cool the room down. Inadequate lighting in the room which made the room very dark at night and the dark walls didn't help. The bed was too large for the room and not very comfortable. The bathroom was a joke, small and not user friendly at all and I loved the simple plywood door from the bedroom into the bathroom, real classy. This motel is not setback from the road and my room was close to this main road into Ojai and it was noisy all night. Yes, there was a new large flat screen TV in the room, I'll give you that, but that's about all. I paid $180 for this room and It really wasn't worth $49, but with all the other hotels full in town they stick it to you. I can't recommend this motel and if it's the only hotel with available rooms in Ojai I would suggest you stay in Ventura.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

So, you pull up to the Ojai Rancho Inn and you think, 'ugh a motel' and 'this is going to be provisional but not charming.' Then you go into the office to check in and realize that it's way more than meets the eye on the outside.

The owners really were very smart and absolutely got the most possible out of the infrastructure. Yes, it was obviously once a motel motor court type thing. But the rooms are super cute and charming. Huge comfy and super cute bed. Bath with jacuzzi in room. Terrific pool. Great location right along both the main road and the bike path. Speaking of which, free bikes you can borrow and use on the bike path.

If you want super luxury, then, no, don't go here. But if you want to have a really nice time in Ojai with some serious cuteness at less of a price tag than the Inn & Spa, you should definitely consider this place. NB: They do not offer food, but they do put out coffee & tea in the morning. Also, did I mention the free loaner bikes?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrhuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We arrived in Ojai a bit road-weary and pulled into the first motel we found. We couldn't have been happier with our one night stay. The desk staff were friendly and offered us one of the middle rooms with king bed and jacuzzi at no extra charge. Clean, comfortable room with nice decoration and new flatscreen TV. Reasonable rates.

We enjoyed a morning swim in the pool (beach towels provided) and will have to go back to try the sauna, BBQs, shuffleboard, campfire, and bicycles.

My only complaint is minor: bathroom towels could be upgraded, as they are getting a little threadbare.

Room Tip: Middle room on the same side as the office was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 212CJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I found this "gem" on the net doing a search for hotel in Ojai (a place I have never been to)... so glad I did! I went into it blindly.

The staff was great. The grounds and room is very nice. The bed ROCKED! I'm 6'-6" and love a bed that fits :)

They even have bikes that you can use, free of charge, to ride around town. So cool!

I will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibrichjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stopped in Ojai for one night and this was the last motel that we tried. All of the others were far too expensive and we were going to move on to the next town when we spotted the Ojai Rancho Inn.

The lady in reception was extremely friendly and gave us a discount as it was late, the last room available, and we had to share a double bed with 3 people. The room was absolutely beautiful with a spa bath tub in the corner. The bed was gigantic so absolutely fine for 3 people.

This hotel is stylish and cosy, an absolute gem. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillylumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived around 9:00pm for a one night, romantic weekend getaway. The woman who checked us in was so friendly. The room was so cozy. We loved all the natural wood and Native American style decor. The jacuzzi tub was nothing short of magical. The bed was so comfortable. We brought our dogs and they felt right at home. The whole experience was perfect. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamDuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,723 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Rancho Inn

Address: 615 W Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3724 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: £82 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ojai Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Ojai Rancho Inn-a Shelter Social Club property continues to reflect Ojai's relaxed and friendly personality. We offer service and amenities that ensure every visit is memorable. Our beautiful property, which is located within steps of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, boasts a tranquil garden that adjoins Ojai Rancho Inn to the popular Ojai Valley Trail. With our convenient location, free bikes, swimming pool, spacious grounds, and friendly staff we hope you will enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Ojai Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Rancho Hotel Ojai
Rose Garden Inn Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing