We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming. Relaxed. ”
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming. Relaxed. ”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We spent only one night in the treehouse .... nevertheless we were overwhelmed of the colors, details, thoughtfulness, breakfast, caring atmosphere, garden & the cat ;)

Good and good to know such lovely places exist.

PS: And BIG thanks for sending my wedding ring over to Germany.



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenztownWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    29
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
96
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Hueneme, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I had so much fun at the Lavender Inn in Ojai, Ca. You are out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The area is just so serene. The Inn has the most beautiful back yard for meditating or just a nice wine that they have on premises. The rooms were very comfy and clean with there own bath. At night you can hear the frogs talking to each other. The staff was so attentive and knowledgeable of the area. The Inn is just a half a block from stores and beautiful scenery. It was truly a great experience. I cant wait till I can go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I enjoyed everything about my stay. My room was beautiful, with its own patio overlooking the garden. The staff was friendly, and helpful and quick to answer any questions I had. As well as preparing amazing, healthy dishes. The location is perfectly located, near shops and restaurants. I'm already trying to plan, a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammytamO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Finding the lavender Inn was so simple. The location was only one block off the beaten path. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. My room had a private bath and a balcony. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The staff made me feel like I was family. With all my weird food requirements I thought someone would roll their eyes, but everyone was very accomadating and the food was amazing. I even came home with a recipe for mushroom soup that I fell in love with. Walking around Ojai was lovely and coming home to the Lavender Inn was the best!

Room Tip: You may be asked if you require a television to fall asleep, whether you want an attached bath or pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My daughters and I stayed at the Lavender Inn for a getaway together for 2 nights. I walked in and they made me feel comfortable right away. I don't eat breakfasts but I couldn't resist. It was a huge breakfast, but every dish was delish! Weate on the veranda and the weather was perfect and the waterfall sound made us feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: I always look for a place to stay where I can walk to everything and don't have to get in my car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryLee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

What a beautiful atmosphere and a fantastic, healthy, organic and creative breakfast. The clientele were very interesting and worldly. Such a pleasure to stay and would most definitely come back again. The staff were amazing and so were the grounds. Everyone should experience the Lavendar Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I appreciate B&Bs. My husband made last minute arrangements for New Year's Eve to stay at the Lavender Inn. The location is amazing and relaxing. The food was absolutely superb.

I do have few comments/critiques - 1) the rooms are not individually heated, and I was extremely cold when trying to sleep 2) the walls are thin -- and I don't know if everyone was "ringing in the new year" in their own special way, but we ... uncomfortably ... heard some things we wished we had not.

I'm used to walls being thin at B&Bs, so it's more of an observation -- given the new year, maybe the lack of privacy was just more obvious.

I must say, though, we loved the place and would stay again. It's charming, and calming and beautiful. The host that checked us in and arranged the wine hour and breakfast was a nice woman - and really did make us feel like family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquelyn_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
2.3 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Property: Lavender Inn
Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023-2722 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a ROMANTIC GETAWAGIRLS NIGHT OUT AT THE INN, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a QUIET RETREAT. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a petite waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle modern twist. Full, GOURMET BREAKFASTS and housemade TAPAS & WINE are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. Look for our COOKING CLASSES in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. We are proud to have created a 3 day CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, InnCourage, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer - a full time on-site counselor, massages, facials, healthy cooking class, American Cancer Society Look Good Feel Better make-up & wigs, and support from fellow cancer patients. Lavender Inn is More Than a Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing