We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend of a Lifetime”
Review of The Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We rented out the Lavender Inn for the weekend of Memorial Day for our daughter's wedding. The wedding was in the garden, and the wedding party all stayed in the Inn for the weekend. The staff, the facility, the entire experience was flawless, fantastic, and made great memories that will last a lifetime. Excellent meals showed up without hassle or fanfare, staff was efficient and courteous, and nearly imperceptable as they took care of us without effort on our part. The house and rooms are comfortable, charming and quaint.

We chose to have Beth help us with the wedding arrangements, and she did a fantastic job letting our daughter create the wedding as she wanted it, then supporting that plan and using her experience and contacts to make it happen.

And in the evenings, we had the whole house to ourselves to spend time together in relaxed, private, comfortable surroundings. Lots of tables and chairs on the patio to sit around and talk, laugh, and take pictures. Lots of pictures. The fenced-in private garden is beautifully arranged, with little water features that peacefully murmer soothing sounds, putting the whole area at rest.

We looked at several other places, some in Santa Barbara, and had a bit of a hard time deciding on where to have the wedding, etc., and I'm so glad we picked the Lavender Inn. Nothing could have been better. So much better than staying in a hotel with hundreds of strangers and a sterile atmosphere.

I highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved our stay. Beth is such a star and so friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the laid back charm of the inn and delicious gourmet breakfast. The rooms are beautifully presented with super comfy bed. We loved the two gorgeous cats on the porch. The location is fantastic and close to restaurants.
The overall appearance is beautiful with a lovely garden area.
We hope to come back one day from New Zealand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EdgarWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Whenever I think about going to Ojai, I call the Lavender Inn. It's in a perfect location, the middle of town but off the main street so it's quieter and you can walk everywhere. The people there are helpful and friendly, the breakfasts and afternoon treats are fabulous. All the rooms are fun to stay in, each with a different theme. I love sitting in their shady garden to read and paint. The Inn is an hour from my house but the people at the inn and in Ojai make me feel like I've been worlds away. I've gone by myself a couple of times for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overall our experience was very good. The location is very close (literally steps away) from the shopping area. Although, we were awoken early some days by garbage trucks servicing the area. The breakfast offerings are well done, and is available from 9-10am. The room itself has a rustic feel and the walk out deck was a nice feature to get some air. The house cats are great as other have mentioned and there is a nice dog as well which frequents the house. We did not have extensive interactions with the innkeeper other than making payment upon arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 220Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We travel with our pet and The Lavender Inn is pet friendly. I also wanted to be close to the town center. The location couldn't be better. Everything is in walking distance. The staff is professional but laid back. They were so relaxed about our pet. There's a large enclosed yard area and we were allowed to leave our pet off leash. She is well behaved and we made sure she didn't bother anyone. And the breakfasts were amazing. The Inn is beautiful and well maintained. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Only one pet friendly room and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 33rjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment you arrive through your departure, the Inn keepers both Kathy and Beth along with all the staff are at the ready to provide impecible service and hospitality. The evening wine and cheese selections are outstanding, as is the breakfast which on this occasion was created by Vanessa and will take you through the day. The Inn, situated right in the heart of the city calls for browsing the many unique shops and galleries. We were treated to a private olive oil and balsamac vinegar tasting at the Regalo Estate which was out of this world. Truly, one of the top B&B's I have ever stayed at and there have been many. One of my friends even uncovered the mattress in her room to find the maker and plans to replace hers at home! You will sleep well in comfort and serenity. Bravo to the Lavender Inn too for all that they do in making a difference the community of Ojai.

Room Tip: All the accomodations are superior. Of course the private cottage is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We throughly enjoyed our 2 day visit at the Inn. It has a lovely garden and such charming sitting areas scattered throughout the property. Our favorite spot was the 2 person cozy lounger on the front porch where we enjoyed a visit from a friendly cat, were warmed by the morning sun while listening to the music from the Farmer's Market. It was heaven! The location is superb. We walked to the Farmer's Market on Sunday, strolled through Libby Park and browsed the many unique shops across the street. We really enjoyed our room which was nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast was was delicious and had everything we needed to start our day and the staff could not be any more accomadating. This Inn is a gem!

Room Tip: The Inn does not have a swimming pool or fitness center but this rating system does not allow me to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angmhecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.1 mi away
Su Nido Inn - Your Nest In Ojai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Inn

Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: £87 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic or outdoor adventure getaway, Girls Night Inn, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our guests to relax in or for a memorable setting for GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle contemporary twist. Both BREAKFASTS and HAPPY HOUR with appetizers, wine, and local craft beer on tap are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. We offer cooking classes in our kitchen, OJAI CULINARY SCHOOL. This is our 10th year of InnCourage, our CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing