We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I write this reluctantly - since I don't really want too many people to know about this little gem...”
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I write this reluctantly - since I don't really want too many people to know about this little gem...”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Can't beat the location. The Lavender Inn is beautifully decorated. You'll feel immediately at home. Greeted with wines and cheeses. Not a bad start. Every room in the communal parts is exquisitely relaxing.
We took a cooking class too at the Lavender Inn - what fun. Kathy and chef Dave made it so enjoyable and we were wonderfully looked after.
Sunday Farmers' Market is a stone's throw away, as is all gorgeous little stores, restaurants and bars. (Recommend the flights at Movino and indulge - why not - the chocolate souffle/fondant pudding is something else).
Room 4: The Lavender Room. We got upgraded to it from a room that shared a bathroom with others to an en suite. (Thank you!) A little balcony looked over the beautiful garden (sleep with eye masks on so you can keep your balcony door open to fall asleep to the water fountains...) The room was beautifully done up, clean and you will relax right in to it.
The hammock, the lavender painted chairs, the little seating areas... the breakfast (which I see everyone before me has commented on)... I would love to bring my sisters, mother, friends all there. Wish we had more time to try out their Garden Spa too... maybe next time.
One hell of a gem. Don't look any further.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccidentalTourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    29
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
96
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa barbara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We spent a lovely weekend here. A beautiful garden with lots of fountains makes this a special place. The breakfasts were great. The room we stayed in was cozy with a nice view of the garden

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glikbarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We arrived all stressed out and tired, and after our stay here for even just one night we're calm and relaxed. The garden is gorgeous - you can sit in the garden anywhere - there are many options - in a chair by the pond, on a hammock, or on a couch in the garden called tranquility, which is exactly what it is. All the rooms are lovely; we especially love our room - the lavender room with the comfy queen bed and the sweet balcony overlooking the garden. There's wine and cheese and fruit at 5, a tasty breakfast and great service overall. It's in the middle of town so you can walk anywhere but it's its own secluded spot. There are culinary classes and the staff takes great care of you. You'll want to stay here forever! GG and RBG

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Wonderful Experience. Great staff, Great Breakfast, Great Wine/Cheese hour. We loved our room. We wish we were there longer. You just don't want to leave! Close to the town of Ojai but still feels like your secluded! STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCrickard2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My girlfriend and I went for a little girls' getaway and the Lavender Inn exceeded our expectations. The Inn is a beautifully restored school house with lovely gardens and charming rooms. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious and the evening "wine and cheese" was actually wine and yummy hors d'oeuvres. The staff were so friendly and welcoming that we felt as though we were staying with friends. We stayed in the "Cozy Retreat" room which was perfect for two. Our room shared a bath with one other room, but that wasn't a problem. We had such a good time that we are already talking about our next visit. Treat yourself to a massage with Tawney! She was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albnsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBBookworm
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My best friend and I came to this lovely inn for a "girl's getaway" and found it to be the perfect spot. The service was excellent--warm and welcoming--and the rooms are delightful. We stayed in the Cozy Retreat, the only room with two beds, and it was indeed cozy and just right for us. (A real value, too) Although we had a shared bathroom it was not a problem in the least. The location is ideal. You can walk to Ojai's great little shops and restaurants. Breakfast was so delicious and the afternoon wine time was superb. We booked massages at the garden spa and they were absolutely lovely. This is an inn that women will love but it's not so feminine that a man would feel out of place. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

My husband and I went to the Lavender Inn for a little weekend getaway. Ojai is amazing and the Lavendar Inn was the perfect place. It is located in the best spot. Next to the amazing farmer's market on Sunday and across the street from the best natural foods market!! The service is amazing and it felt like being at home.

The breakfast in the morning should not be missed. It is the most amazing food, they clearly love what they do there because it shows!!
THe wine and cheese in the evening is also wonderful. It is great place to relax and enjoy Ojai.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chivarunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
2.3 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Property: Lavender Inn
Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023-2722 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a ROMANTIC GETAWAGIRLS NIGHT OUT AT THE INN, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a QUIET RETREAT. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a petite waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle modern twist. Full, GOURMET BREAKFASTS and housemade TAPAS & WINE are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. Look for our COOKING CLASSES in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. We are proud to have created a 3 day CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, InnCourage, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer - a full time on-site counselor, massages, facials, healthy cooking class, American Cancer Society Look Good Feel Better make-up & wigs, and support from fellow cancer patients. Lavender Inn is More Than a Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing