We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”
Review of Ojai Olive Oil

Ojai Olive Oil
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ojai Olive Oil is a family owned and operated farm, and the oldest producer of extra virgin olive oil in the region. We are open for free tastings and shopping 6 days a week (closed Sundays), and give free guided Tours & Tastings on Wednesdays from 10am-1pm, and Saturdays from 10am-4pm. On Sundays we are at the Ojai Farmers Market in the middle of town. Our groves are certified organic, and we are one of the valley's only operating permaculture farms. In addition to award winning olive oils, we also produce an array of wonderful balsamic vinegars and olive oil based cosmetics. Our Tours & Tastings are open to all, do not require a reservation, and are free. We begin outside and discuss the history of our groves and a bit about olive oil in general. We also get into important information about selecting, storing, and cooking with olive oil, show you our mill and how the olive oil is made, and end up in the tasting room to sample all of our products. Ojai Olive Oil is proud to be one of the Ojai Valley's most popular destinations, and we look forward to seeing you at our farm :)
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I learned a lot about olive oil on the tour, but because we arrived after the tour had begun, we had to wait around a while for the next tour to get all of the information. I'd recommend arriving right when they open to be sure you can take a tour from the beginning. There were also a lot of people, which made it hard to maneuver around the tasting room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California, USA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

At the end of a long dirt road, the Ojai Olive Oil Ranch is a fun, informative, interesting hour. We have tried to get there for years, but they are only open for a couple of hours a couple of times a week, so we kept missing them. This time, we got there! Get a map; you'll never find it without a map. There is a "tour" of the ranch, which is really just a walk through some of the olive trees, along with a peek at the pressing room, where the process of pressing the olives for oil was explained. All in all, very interesting. But the point of going is the tasting room. The owner is a French woman who is very knowledgeable about olive oil and balsamic vinegars. She explained the difference between American and European taste in olive oil and how to use the various kinds of oil in cooking and eating. There is also a wide variety of imported balsamic vinegars which were really fun to taste. There were some cosmetics made with olive oil, creams, soaps and lotions, all for sale in the tasting room. Really really glad we finally ended up getting up there! Really worth the trouble of finding the place and the time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Learned a lot about olive oil”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We enjoyed the nice tour and history of the ranch. Questions were answered readily and we learned quite a lot about the olive trees, the production of olive oil, and what makes a good oil. There is also a very nice little tasting room. Friendly laid-back atmosphere. We took a picnic and sat at the picnic tables under the olive trees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ellibusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Visited Ojai Olive Oil Ranch last week while visiting friends in the area. Everyone there was so nice and friendly. The olive oils and balsamic vinegars were set up so that we could taste them all...they were delicious! My favorites were the raspberry and fig vinegars and the Andalucian Olive Oil. They also have olive oil soaps and creams. Check out their website; their shipping prices are very reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teressaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must stop in Ojai”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stopped here this weekend on a day trip to Ojai.This was our first time here and we decided to check out this Olive farm. Boy was it awesome! Not only is this a family owned olive oil ranch but they have amazing tasting olive oils and balsamic vinegars. We had a great free tour by one of the owners explaining how their family got into this business as well as how the olive oil is made. This is a small operation but the product is fantastic. We bought 2 bottles of olive oil, a violet balsamic vinegar as well as a soap. We'll definitely come back here next time we're in Ojai!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OCNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ojai Olive Oil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing