We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Newbury Park, California
1 review
“Unexpected”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Didn't really plan on anything other than a room that was just OK. Quite the opposite is what we got. Nice update with some of the old charm still in place. Great customer service, comfy bed & room. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    127
    58
    31
    39
See reviews for
86
161
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2011

It was a nice stay, very peaceful and walking distance to downtown Ojai. Fridge in the room is nice and dog friendly! Never got the wifi to work, and the hot tub water was a little dirty. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzo516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My Girl and I needed to get a away form LA and relax. We had a great time. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was great! Christopher, the manager, was extremely helpful, answering all our questions and truly, going above and beyond to accommodate us.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddhacowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay - 2 nights. Great location and service. The room we stayed in was recently updated and was very nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry789456123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Great staff. Tremendous views on all sides. California postcard.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I never write reviews - but I feel ppl need to be given notice on this hotel. First let me say the staff ultimatly was kind - but they were not empowered to deal with problems as they arose (not their fault). In short, I booked a room w a deck for two nights which was some where around $350-375 total. I arrived and the deck was 100% open to to the main stairs which ran along side our patio - no privacy, high traffic and brightly lit. Why would I pay extra for a private deck which is 100% public? I was willing to overlook that and chalk it up to me not asking the right questions - but once I looked around I realize there were dead bugs on the floor of the room and several on the floor of the bathroom. In addition there was hair in the shower, and the bread spread was ripped. I went to call the front desk and realized the phone did not work at all. I talked the the girl at the front desk - but she could not make any changes without consulting the manager or owner who was away. We waited an hour and were moved after 10pm - she said she did not want to wait on him any longer. We drove up from LA after work and were exhausted - not romantic. The next day the moved us again because the room was booked. Another girl at the front desk briefly tried to put us back in the original. She said "you thought it was too loud?" - when I had actually complained about the bugs - which leads me to believe many others complained about the noise. Other notes - the internet was spotty, the queen beds were hard (king was better) and the other guests were boisterous. Dogs are allowed and they mostly barked at each other. So you have children in the pool and barking dogs - restful, right?

In short you are paying market or above market prices for a lesser quality hotel. If I could have left the min I walked in I would have.

Room Tip: away from the stiars!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTLAtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I knew this place was going to be nice, knowing that my wife and her company booked the room.

The drive up to the hotel was an interesting experience because the front looks like an old motel from the 70s. Once inside the lobby, you'll notice its much different. Very impressive interior design, minimalist, artsy. Sid & Nancy are the two fish at the front. I believe you only see Nancy because Sid is always hiding behind rocks. :)

Our room was 205. We walked in and immediately were impressed. Great big bed, cool lights, big artwork, nice view, expensive snacks. Once we got settled we saw the cool VHS Harrison Ford theme. Clever idea but we didn't watch any. Also, good service when we called to reserve a bike.

Overall, the experience was great! I would stay there again but next time I would like to bring our dog. Thanks for making us feel welcome in your great town. BTW, Chris, do NOT sell the mustang!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baadnewsbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
84 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing