We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great motel in lovely little town - gateway to wonderful Los Padres National Forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great motel in lovely little town - gateway to wonderful Los Padres National Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We decided to drive up the coast from Santa Monica before heading inland to the Sierras. We were surprised how few places there were to stay north of Santa Monica, and were quite relieved when we came into Ojai and saw a number of motels. The Capri was great - good value, with excellent facilities, and in a very pleasant location. We could walk to restaurants. Breakfast was good, as well. The town is worth exploring - and we just loved the (long) drive through the coastal mountains, the Los Padres National Forest - amazing landscapes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinhenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    127
    55
    30
    39
See reviews for
86
157
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I would like to give my opinion about our recent trip to Ojai, Ca. As a customer service rep in multiple fields for many years, I know great service when I see it. For starters, our vacation began with a call to a hotel in Oakview, the manager was rude and uninviting. So we drove to Ojai and inquired at the Capri, we were warmly greeting by Christopher in the charming lobby, with great artwork done by a local artist, he gave us the family room for four nights, for a very agreeable rate. The grounds were beautiful and relaxing. That night I went to the lobby to get a few snacks, and had a great conversation with Deseriee, she was just as nice and helpful as Christopher. So needless to stay after our bad run in with the first motel, we ended up having a great vacation thanks to all the staff at the Capri, I as a professional customer service representative, highly recommend staying at this establishment. You guys are awesome keep up the good work, we will be back to stay with you again. Thank you for a wonderful stay. P.S. You gotta check out the nighttime lighting.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with family, ask for the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Liked this decor of this hotel. The location is good too. Easy to find and a little out of town. The room came with VHS tapes and player. If you didn't like what was in your room then you can choose from more in the lobby. the pool area was nice but the water wasn't heated so I didn't take a swim. The jacuzzi was nice and secluded.
My only problem was that the drain in the tub was very slow so I felt like I was bathing and showering at the same time. We told the front desk and they said if was resolved but it was still the same.
The little breakfast was nice. The waffles was a nice touch. I would stay her again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRD1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Super clean with a nice continental breakfast located within an easy walk into town, helpful staff. Mattress older but overall we'd go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louplapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We rented the family room that had a seperate room with bunk beds & toys. It was awesome!
We could put our kids to bed and still enjoy a movie, glass of wine and food.

Great morning buffet set up in the lobby and the caretaker ROCKED!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My sister, cousin, and I stayed at The Capri through Groupon this late February for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised!! The location couldn't be better--right on the main drag in town. Everyone at reception was sweet, accommodating, and informative. They eagerly told us about wonderful places to eat in town. When we needed help with our TV, they immediately came to our aid.
Our room had two queen-sized beds, with large comforters, and they were extremely comfortable. The bath-shower had a good shower head, with great water pressure, and the water stayed hot through three showers in a row. The TV was large and very clear.
The location was in walking distance of most of the shops in town and many of the restaurants, galleries, showrooms, and movie theater. We ate at terrific restaurants while there-- La Fonte, Suzanne's, Ostero de Grappo--all very nice, with excellent food. Although we could have had a continental breakfast for free at the Capri, we went to Bonnie Lu's for our two breakfasts--wonderful!
Our stay couldn't have been better, and we want to thank the staff at the Capri for all of their hard work!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. Each room has a nice balcony. The first floor has a patio, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWorldIsOurRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

not sure what the problem was with a few of the negative comments about the Capri in Ojai...We just left there today, and really loved it. it's not expensive at all, it's all updated. Wood floors (instead of scary carpet that traps odors), fabulous beds with great mattresses, crisp linens (no bedspreads, another scary outdated smelly item in cheesy hotels), huge flat screen tv, white leather furniture, great stylish pool area, private and all rooms have nice views. breakfast was very nice - organic juice, fresh waffles for the kids, cereal, bagels, etc.
I would stay again for sure, and already recommended it to another couple. the reception area is very cool looking, like an art gallery, and a huge iMac welcomes you to check your mail...Christopher and Desiree could not have been nicer; they were low-key and ran the place well.

Room Tip: Ground floors all have private gated patios, great for dogs. upper rooms all have balconies, nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Count_&_Countess_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
3.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing