We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not impressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a last-minute option when a B&B my sister suggested has only a shared bath available. Not a terrible inconvenience but my wife didnt want to spread her germs with another guest.
The Capri is off Hwy 150 on the outskirts of Ojai, so not within walking distance of the sights.
Our room has a faintly sweet medicinal odor but fortunately is not overwhelming. In-room coffee is minimalist--instant, no coffee maker. The bathroom sink needs unclogging, but the shower worked well. Don't expect to take a bath unless you travel with a drain plug.
The "breakfast" offerings are laughable--power bars and pop tarts, but fresh (?) fruit I guess and decent coffee in the lobby.
The TV set up is positively medieval--one control to turn on the set and the other to change channels up or down one at a time. Get Direct TV for crying out loud.
Also if you ask to have a boarding pass printed, the manager suggested going to a place in town instead of offering to do it for guests.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveNC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    127
    57
    30
    39
See reviews for
86
160
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The rooms are not bad--bathrooms are small but beds are big and there is a plasma TV. '90s Ikea retro furniture--best part of the place is the nice pool and grounds. No coffee maker in room, just a water boiler with instant coffee. The problem is the management. I felt the manager was quite arrogant and obnoxious. When I called he said definitely I could have a patio room. When I got there, he said he did not have one, then asked me why I needed one (!). Not quite the type who should be working for the hospitality industry. I put a bad review on Yelp, but had to call back because I forgot something in the room. He actually had the unprofessionalism to confront me about the review! So, if you get a deal, such as Groupon, it's a nice place but beware the management.

Room Tip: The patio rooms lead on to the beautiful grounds but Christopher, the manager, has to deem you accep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
298 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

First I must admit I am jaded and already mad at this place. I bought a hotel deal on Living Social which included a bottle of wine upon arrival; however, when I checked in they would not honor the promotion. (Although it was paid for ahead of time. Deceptive advertising?) They did have a nice bottle of wine set up in the room for a cost of $35.00. That was a bit fishy to me. They offered us two coupons for a "glass" of wine at another restaurant facility miles away. Odd. The place is definitely dated with the cute "retro" touches nice but they don't pay attention to details. The bathroom shower curtain had a nickel size make-up stain (room 107) and the tile on the floor of the shower needed a good chlorine scrub as it was not clean. The vanity area was cute but who knew that the metal lunchbox had washcloths in it? Maybe a sign would be helpful. The fridge and microwave were handy. They do include a vcr, and record player (yes a usable one) so if you are inclined to bring a few records, you're in luck. The room is painted lime green and has some little decoration touches I found amusing. (Check out the odd shaped pillow that look like hotdog rolls tied with twine.) The one added plus that changed this room from poor to average was the private little fenced in deck with had for our dog. It had a nice lounger, three chairs and a table looking out to the yard in the back. It was nice and convenient for our dog. All and all, don't pay over a hundred for this hotel and make sure they include all the extra's promised in the fine print. Would I go to this hotel again. NO WAY!

Room Tip: If you travel with a dog choose room 107 or 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calitripgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

There's a nice relaxed feel here at the Capri. The lobby is mini Palm Springs cool, and the pool area stylishly atmospheric with curtained cabana lounges and lots of palm trees. Our room was small and clean, with bright lime walls and fun touches like a little metal lunchbox for the toiletries. Nice to have a mini fridge, but reeeeally nice to have a patio. Room 109 is a double queen with a flagstone patio which opens out to a really large fenced in green space that was heaven for my little dog. They're really dog friendly here.
Although the patio gate had a latch, we didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the room's sliding door open, so we locked up and used the AC. I don't like sleeping with AC anywhere, and this old fashioned wall mount was hard to regulate, I alternated between feeling too hot or too cold a lot of the night. Also the walls are thin, we shared an adjoining door with the room next door and when they started having really loud sex, it was like we were right there in bed with them. Imitating them was a really great way to get them to quiet down. Just a little friendly call and response action.
This is a re-done motel, not a fancy hotel. I agree they could have done a more meticulous job in redoing things, paint detail, finish work, new windows, etc...But we had a nice stay. I dealt with Christopher on the phone and in person, he's not warm and fuzzy, but he's to the point and helpful.
The Capri was fun and different for Ojai. Plus it has the most awesome sign out front!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We came up to Ojai with a reservation to stay at the Capri not knowing what we would find. What we found was a gem of a hotel--------- beautiful ,peaceful, great people!!! Coming from New York this was so needed!!! We fell in love with Ojai and the Capri Hotel!!! We shall be back!!!❤

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Looks like an old two story motel but upgraded with all the right touches to provide a great experience for one night or several. Fresh rooms and a nice poll area plus friendly and helpful staff. The little garden with the Buddha was a nice touch. Breakfast was a little on the lean side...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sengstromtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Capri motel has that fun "retro" vibe like the funky Palm Springs hotels! Front desk guy is interesting...as long as you don't expect ritz Carlton service at rock bottom prices you will enjoy this fun festive place! Lobby has tons of movies to choose from and rooms have cool record player/cd/stereo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeropete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing