We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find!”
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were just looking for a quick little getaway for the night and we were so pleasantly surprised.
The hotel itself was like a little Palm Springs type oasis. We were there in the winter but got lucky with warm weather so we could enjoy sitting in the pool area to relax.
By far the best part is the attention to detail and the friendliness of the manager (Christopher) He made the stay so much more memorable and enjoyable!
I have already recommended the hotel and Christopher to two friends and we have only been home for one day. We will definitely go back!
Also go to the owners restaurant "The Deer Lodge"

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Jacuzzi room which we enjoyed but it did not have a balcony or patio. The patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 259KimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Overnighted in Ojai here, and found the place through Tripadvisor. The manager Christopher is super nice and gave us a free upgrade and restaurant voucher when we tried to redeem a Yelp special and he couldn't do it because we already booked through a website. If you like more of a modern/hipster vibe to your hotels this is the place to stay. Think of a lower budget Ace in Palm Springs or the Hollywood Standard in terms of decoration and detail. If you're more sensitive to noise I would recommend staying on the top level as you will hear people stomping around above you if you are on the ground level. Price to value ratio is excellent, I definitely plan on coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEYHEY661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The skinny:

Parking: plenty of spaces
Decor: retro
Service: friendly
Pool: not heated
Hot tub: broken when we went
Bed: comfy
Bonus: dvds you can borrow, doggies welcome

We came here for one night just to get out of LA. The room is spacious and the bed is comfy. It's not that updated but for one night it was sufficient. The bathroom is kinda small but the water pressure was good and the temp was hot. Unfortunately the pool was not heated and the hot tub was broken but the hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants so that's what we did!
There is a continental breakfast available in the front lounge which is a nice little spot to hang out in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very clean. I like the mid-century theme. The decor is very sleek. Rooms are spacious. Bed is excellent. The management was also very accommodating when we had to cancel at the last minute because my husband fell and broke his rib.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I shopped for clean, convenient and 2 queens --cheap! The hotel far surpassed our expectations. It was a boutique experience at a motel-chain price. The working turntable and classic records made our room a sanctuary. I am not a fan of mid-century, but this place rocks. Hip and warm and fun. Loved it!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank PaulaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Great proximity to downtown, just off main hwy, cute mid-century modern feel, decent rate & staff - just a few things improved could make this spot slammin'. 1) Bathrooms are super outdated. Take out the 80's bathtubs and put in killer 'euro walk-in showers' could be slate or some other gorgeous material - would be better for water consumption and overall updating! 2) Jazz up the free breakfast..how about some local produce? Figs, citrus, olives, etc - I've been to your farmers mkt-I know you have acces to it all! 3) Pool is the temp of the ocean...in Oregon! Maybe invest in a solar blanket to heat water up a bit? Could cause cardiac arrest if jumped into without warning... 4) Offer pool towels? 4) Fix hottub.

This could be a super, affordable destination spot - a little oasis - I want so badly for it to be! Just more attention to detail would make it so!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sionesteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Loved the style. Super quiet on a Sunday night. Nice little walk to town, not far at all. Our room was a king, no balcony or patio, it was nice and not run down like others have posted. The free DVD collection is a nice touch. The pool is very tranquil. Both times we sat out there, there weren't any other guests.

Staff was very accommodating and helpful.

Great value for the area. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KandDinLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
186 reviews
1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
188 reviews
3 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range: £71 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing